We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit underwhelming. The entrance system needs sorting out.”

Bavarian Film Studio
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.76*
and up
Munich City and Bavaria Film Studio Tour
Ranked #38 of 117 Tours in Munich
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Bavaria Filmstadt – the world of motion pictures and television. Enjoy a guided tour through original sets and gain insight into the best kept secrets of film making. Experience a spectacular ride in our 4D motion simulation theatre. Discover our new and exciting indoor film fun world and museum – Bullyversum – for true immersive shows, facts, action and games for all ages. Spend a spectacular and memorable couple of hours at one of Europe’s largest and most historic motion picture and television facilities. English guided tours for individuals in the maiseason.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Manchester
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A bit underwhelming. The entrance system needs sorting out.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Instead of just paying one simple entrance fee, there are various main attractions that you can pay for: Film City Tour, 4D Experience, Bully Versum or a shorter programme 90 minute Film City Guide. Whilst they offer tours in English, the leaflets and pricing information whilst you queue are all in German. Consequently, instead of working out what you want to buy whilst queuing, all the various permutations have to be explained by the patient staff in the ticket booths which takes far too long. The queues therefore move really slowly, there is no cover, so on a wet day last week, we spent an hour in the rain waiting to pay. The management really need to look at this and streamline the process.
For what it is, this attraction is over priced.
The 4D experience is really good fun and going through the U-Boat set used to film Das Boot was a real treat. My children, now in their twenties, enjoyed the Neverending Story set as this was a film from their youth. The rest of the sets seem a bit tired and small children may well get bored. We didn't pay for Bully Versum, which I think is more for small children. All in all, disappointing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BavariaFilmstadt, Marketing at Bavarian Film Studio, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hello Robert,

thank you very much for the attached assessment. We really appreciate your suggestions to offer the product description and the prices in English language and we are very sorry to hear that the visit at the Bavaria Filmstudios could not reach your expectation.

Yours sincerely,
Bavaria Filmstadt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    78
    55
    22
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Landshut, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Become an actor an have fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

As preparation of the visit you should watch "The Neverending Story", "Das Boot" and "(T)Raumschiff Surprise - Periode 1", otherwise you are lost during the visit and it would be boring for children.
During the visit be proactive and try to play all things offered. For couch potatoes it could be a bit boring. We had the chance to become actors in the short version of "(T)Raumschiff Surprise - Periode 1". It was fun and at the end we could buy a professional cut short movie burned on a DVD in a nice wrapping. This was the first time ever that I bought such an offer and it is really a nice gift.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Werner237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BavariaFilmstadt, Marketing at Bavarian Film Studio, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Werner,

thanks a lot for your positive feedback. We are exited that you had a great day with us. Until next time at the Bavaria Filmstadt. Looking forward to see you

Best
Bavaria Filmstadt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good place for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We took an English speaking tour, which starts at 1pm. Be certain to come then as I think its the only one during the day. Whilst the sets we visited were from German productions we still found them varied and interesting for both adults and younger children. The guide was good and ensured that people on the tour participated. We didn't visit other parts of the studio as we found the tour was enough for our children.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EasternTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BavariaFilmstadt, Marketing at Bavarian Film Studio, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you - Yours sincerely, Bavaria Filmstadt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Interesting for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

There is quite a lot to see here. The town where they film, there is a viking village and a submarine to go in to which is very cool. The 3D theatre at he beginning is excellent and will beat many of those similar at fairgrounds. Best to go wrapped up if going in winter as it much of it is outside and can be cold. Can be quite expensive to get in to, but a good day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RaeRae99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BavariaFilmstadt, Marketing at Bavarian Film Studio, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for this nice feedback :)
Yours sincerely,
Bavaria Filmstadt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A very nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We (family of 4 with 2 kids: 2.5 and 4 years) went to Bavaria studios during our recent tour to Germany. As we did not know exactly our way, took a taxi and the driver was not certain where to go. I guess because of the cool and humid weather there were only a handful visitors - our tour was 7 heads including ourselves and very interesting for all age groups. Especially riding on the dragon from the "Neverending Story" was great for our kids. Being able to walk through the original model of "Das Boot" gave a real feel of the claustrophobia which soldiers must have experienced.
The tour is very well done and (also because we were so few) very interactive.
Due to the young age of our kids we could not do the 4D.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ulrich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BavariaFilmstadt, Marketing at Bavarian Film Studio, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Ulrich,

thank you for your positiv response. We are exited that you had a great day with us. Until next time at the Bavaria Filmstadt. Looking forward to see you.
Best
Bavaria Filmstadt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bavarian Film Studio also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Bavarian Film Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing