We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bavarian National Museum (Bayerisches Nationalmuseum)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.59*
and up
Munich City Tour including Allianz Arena Ground Visits
Ranked #57 of 326 things to do in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth going”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

If you only have short stay in Munich, there are many other more interesting places to go than this muzeum.

There were no English translation. Couldn't understand it at all. It was so quiet in there. I only saw another 2 visitors during my visit with another friend.

Overall the displays were not very interesting to me.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kui5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    64
    17
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rijeka, Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bavarian way of life”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Big, well organized museum that is not reaching it's potential. There aren't much english signs so if you don't get the audiotour you will be lost. Other than that, it is a good way to learn something about bavarian history

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LukaPajic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A secret gem”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was my favorite museum in Munich. It has a wealth of beautiful, hand-crafted Bavarian art. If you enjoy seeing exquisite examples of woodworking, porcelain, silver, bronzes, glass, interiors from old Bavarian homes, etc, this is the museum for you. The collection of furniture with amazing marketry and inlays was phenomenal. I'm a huge art nouveau buff and just adored the glass collection. Yes, other reviewers are correct that there isn't an audio guide option. This did not bother me at all. The Bayerisches Nationalmuseum has lovely artifacts for you to visit and appreciate for their own merit. I spent half a day appreciating the many treasures and I speak almost zero German. Did that affect my visit? Absolutely not. Some of the larger displays had English translations, but the German write-ups clearly show the date and provenance of a piece. Plus, the guards were friendly and happy to answer questions in English. What was sad about my visit was I was probably one of 10 other guests throughout the morning. Yes, it was cool to feel like I had this entire palace of art to myself. But it is sad that this tremendous collection is not being seen by many people. It is clear they suffer from a lack of marketing.

Please give this museum a chance if you are in Munich. No, it doesn't have any old or new master painters, but it does have a wealth of very talented Bavarian artisans who created gorgeous pieces of art worth your time. The museum also has a very lovely restaurant with beautiful garden seating and a modern interior dining area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank metrochica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrea Green, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
551 reviews
260 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Bored ridged”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Perhaps its the lack of marketing or the lack of atmosphere , obvious english translation or something else .Attended with a colleague and we didnt make it half way round - flat , dull ,....

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great exhibits but missing English”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The museum was a great place to visit with so many exhibits that it could take a week to go through them all in detail. The only issue from a traveler perspective is that very, very few exhibits had English descriptions. This made it somewhat cumbersome when trying to determine what the newer technology displays were pointing out. But overall a fascinating place to visit as well as get a different perspective on world events than your own.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SEKY214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bavarian National Museum (Bayerisches Nationalmuseum) also viewed

 

Been to Bavarian National Museum (Bayerisches Nationalmuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing