We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best museums in Munich”

Bavarian National Museum (Bayerisches Nationalmuseum)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.87*
and up
Munich City Tour including Allianz Arena Ground Visits
Ranked #54 of 312 things to do in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“one of the best museums in Munich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

It is the second to Deutsches Museum that I enjoyed the most in Munich. Even though it was a Sunday when the fee is only 1euro, there were very little visitors.

It has a sizable collection of huge nativity scenes, furniture, instruments, porcelains (chess and backgammons were particularly interesting), toys, wall carpets, parts of churches, ivory, armory, etc.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank sirine313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    62
    16
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“You must get the 'audio tour'.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Well.....it just happened to be a rainy Sunday so the fee was just one Euro. The BEST one Euro I ever spent. I sketched and took notes for seven hours and was alone most of the time. Such fabulous eclectic collections and the 600 piece elaborate silver dinner service nearly made me cry! The huge Blackamoor head (chalice) that was found in a field a few years back was worth the admission price alone. Then, the Nativity scenes that expanded on the subject up to over a hundred figures nearly in one alone made me drool! Do NOT miss this museum!!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank kaningryta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Make sure you know what you're getting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

The fact that I went on a Sunday and the museum entrance only cost €1 made it slightly easier to swallow.

We had read reviews and were prepared for the lack of English translations, so bought an audio guide to help guide us through the maze.

Unfortunately the exhibits were just not for me. Whilst the upstairs concentrates on art and relics from Bavaria, the Munich residenz and Pinakothek down the road expose the fact that for most of the past millenium, Bavaria has not been the best site of production.

Ultimately, there are only so many nativity scenes you want to see. At points exhibition cabinets seem to be just storage for icons which would do better in underground vaults and never exposed to the public (although this does feel like where you are in the 'Krippen' area).

This comes a long, long way down the list of my things to see in Munich.

Helpful?
4 Thank OllieC290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Such a treasure trove of so many different items. There was beautiful furniture, great religious art objects dating to the 1400's, clothing , pottery and porcelien.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaT190454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“€1 entry Sundays!! Great rainy day activity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Try to go on Sunday as it is much better value. Be sure to get the audio tour as none of the signage is translated to other languages (English included).

Pretty standard museum type stuff, but for €1 it's a good couple of hours.

Helpful?
1 Thank HeathV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bavarian National Museum (Bayerisches Nationalmuseum) also viewed

 

Been to Bavarian National Museum (Bayerisches Nationalmuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing