We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Ranked #39 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“business trip”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Parking was not available during my stay.
Nearby construction site noise is annoying.
Rooms are nice, reasonably large and very clean.
Breakfast good and consistent.
Overall a pleasant stay and a location that you highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureMucAltstadt, General Manager at Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed staying with us. Regarding the parking we are very sorry that it wasn't available during your stay. But we had a very good reason for closing our garage: our whole hotel was equipped with new matresses and we needed the garage to store them.

Thank you again and best regards
Laura Leismüller, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    558
    161
    41
    23
See reviews for
194
441
132
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This was a standard business hotel - impersonal but everything worked. The location is very central, just a minute's walk from the main shopping street in Munich and a couple of minutes from the underground station.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The Mercure was excellent. We were there for Oktoberfest, paid about 250 Euro a night which is more than I like paying for any hotel but am glad we did. First off, we were in a suite which was literally the entire 7th floor. The one downside, you have to go up stairs from the 6th floor to the 7th floor. But the room was huge with skylights and amazing views of the city, churches, etc. The room had a fridge (which was great for keeping the beer cold), stove, etc so eating in would be an option, although we never did.
Location wise, it was great. The old town is literally one minute walk away. You could walk to the Oktoberfest grounds and train station, but we took subways because of the crowds on the streets.
It was a bit tricky to find from the train station, we took a cab and glad we did.
Breakfast was included in the rate, it was typical buffet style with a good selection of hot and cold foods.
Only thing I didn't like with the hotel, they charged for wireless internet in the room. But that is not atypical of hotels (its a pet peeve I have with all hotels that charge). I would recommend for anyone visiting Munich, especially Oktoberfest.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I always stay at this hotel and every time i have excellent impressions. Vey good location - directly in the center, value for money, good stuff. Very small parking but the staff always advise another possibilities.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergey-Prague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I've stayed at this hotel 4 or 5 different times now and this hotel is is a hidden jewel. It is off on a side street and takes a little effort to find it, but it is perfectly located ~ 1 block from the city center main drag and offers easy walking distance to public transportation and all the sights & attraction in the city center.

Rooms are on the small side by US standards, but normally sized for European hotels. Room comes with amenities like free mini-bar stocked with coke, apple juice and club soda -- perfect after your walks around town. Wi-fi seems much more reliable now and is dirt cheap when compare to other European hotels (3 Euros/day). TV programming is unreliable still -- as they get some of their programming/channels via satellite where clear line of cite is required.

No irons in the rooms, but rooms and well decorated and comfortable, thought small as mentioned earlier. Breakfast buffet is typically included in hotel rate; and the breakfast is very decent. The freshly squeeze OJ (from a mechanical OJ squeezing machine) is a very nice thing in the morning.

Staff is very nice and helpful.

Overall, this is a great value and a great location.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 383 in Munich
856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
721 reviews
0.4 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#11 of 383 in Munich
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt

Property: Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Address: Hotterstr. 4, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#55 Family Hotel in Munich
#62 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The non-smoking HOTEL Mercure Munich Altstadt is a fully air-conditioned facility in the heart of the Bavarian capital, just two minute's walk to the famous Marienplatz. All 80 of our suites and rooms have modern furnishings with free Wi-Fi access to the Internet. Drinks from the mini-bar and SKY-Entertainment are free of charge. Your room is also equipped with a safe for your valuables. For your car there are a number of nearby parking garages available (charges apply). Our lobby offers an internet terminal and a shoeshine machine for a polished appearance. House pets are also welcome for a small fee, and for those hectic business days we also offer a laundry service. Ask about costs. Our fax and copy service is of course free of charge. Our hotel rooms was renovated in 2011. In 2014 we redesigned our lobby and built a brand-new breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
Mercure Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing