We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
Ranked #43 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
norfolk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

For sightseeing and shopping the location is ideal. Not pretty on the outside but lovely and clean and tranquil inside and excellent for a 3 star property in a city centre. Reception always helpful and friendly as were the breakfast staff. Lovely breakfast room and perfectly adequate with a small selection of everything you need. Cannot comment on the standard rooms as we had the superior suite on the top floor and it was superb. Huge lounge with sofa bed TV and work desk with telephone, dining area with table and 4 chairs, full kitchen with cooking facilities (no towels or cleaning cloths though) selection of tea and coffee and soft drinks,water and beer in fridge (free) Separate bedroom with 2 double beds and TV and a very nice bathroom with large powerful shower. It was totally quiet and had great views out of the Velux windows. The only minor detail was no long mirror just the bathroom mirror but all in all this was more like an apartment and would be ideal for a family. We found the area lacking in a choice of eateries particularly on Sunday but the steak house attached to the hotel was popular and food was OK. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Suite was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    530
    157
    39
    23
See reviews for
180
414
125
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights over Oktoberfest which is probably why the rates were so high but definitely not worth $350 per night. The location is impeccable, right near Marienplatz and walking distance to subway. A huge breakfast was included which was great and the rooms were large for Europe. But internet was not free and for $350 a night, it should be.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii, Guatemala
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Me and my friend visited this hotel and the rooms are good , the breakfast is great but the most dissapointing thing was that there was no room service , If we wanted coffe , no room service , if we needed extra blankets , NO one could bring it to us upstairs . NO help with our bags , nothing.
That is why I am never comming back , I believe for the price you pay you should get this service.

thanks

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SVWALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureMucAltstadt, General Manager at Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for your comment on rooms and breakfast. We are very happy that you enjoyed these.
Regarding room service: I am very sorry to inform you that it is not standard to provide room service in a 3* Hotel. If room service, baggage service etc. is of high importance for you I would recommend a 4* or 5* Hotel. For your next stay in Munich I can suggest the Novotel City (4*) or Sofitel Bayerpost (5*). But please note that these hotels are more expensive.
Best regards
Laura Leismüller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

It is centrally located, on a quiet side street off the pedestrian zone within minutes of Marienplatz (city hall and major public transportation hub). Properly appointed rooms, all amenities and a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Hotel was nice, great location and a really good breakfast. The front desk was helpful. One of the best breakfasts we had in Europe. I would recommend this hotel because of the location but the price was a little high.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jokamwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Just a few steps fromt he U bahn and S bahn at Marienplatz on a quiet backstreet. Joined to a steak house and walking distance many favourite Munich beer gardens. Very freindlly staff. more of a quiet base to wokr from than a social hub as there is no bar.

Room Tip: All a good - perhaps high rooms get less taxi noise - there is a parking house a cross the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveGas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt

Property: Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
Address: Hotterstr. 4, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#55 Family Hotel in Munich
#62 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The non-smoking HOTEL Mercure Munich Altstadt is a fully air-conditioned facility in the heart of the Bavarian capital, just two minute's walk to the famous Marienplatz. All 80 of our suites and rooms have modern furnishings with free Wi-Fi access to the Internet. Drinks from the mini-bar and SKY-Entertainment are free of charge. Your room is also equipped with a safe for your valuables. For your car there are a number of nearby parking garages available (charges apply). Our lobby offers an internet terminal and a shoeshine machine for a polished appearance. House pets are also welcome for a small fee, and for those hectic business days we also offer a laundry service. Ask about costs. Our fax and copy service is of course free of charge. Our hotel rooms was renovated in 2011. In 2014 we redesigned our lobby and built a brand-new breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
Mercure Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing