We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money & Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Ranked #38 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the stay. It is certainly value for money. Comfortable, clean with friendly and very helpful staff. The location is just fantastic right in the heart of Marienplatz and a 5 minutes walk to the shopping area, main quare and Viktualienmarkt. I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhuwanpurohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkKupfer, Manager at Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your very positive feedback and your recommendation.
We are very happy that you enjoyed staying with us.

We are hoping to see you again.

With regards
Dirk Kupfer
-Assistant General Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,253)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here 3 nights early January. Great location, so close to shops, Marienplatz & trains. Easy 10 minutes walk to main train station or between 2 S bahn stops. Our room on level 6 was a good size, plenty of storage space, good size bathroom. Breakfast was excellent with a good variety of food to choose from - the orange juice machine is great! Staff at reception were helpful. Steakhouse attached not bad for a meal - handy when it was raining, didn't have to walk outside. Price of room was not cheap but compared to other hotels in same location, much better value. Would stay here again as the location and facilities were great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I have stayed here a few times. The rooms are clean, staff is helpful and the location is great. Plenty of mass transportation in the area to get around the city. I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Headed to Munich for a relaxing pre-Xmas weekend, and chose this place as it is very central and close to all the sights.

I travelled in from the airport using the S-Bahn, there are several stations around the hotel so very easy to get to. I'd stayed at the hotel once before during the World Cup in 2006, so finding it wasn't a problem. It's less than a few minutes walk from the metro station.

I arrived very late on Friday night (around 11.30pm) so check-in was very fast, and also very cheery which is quite unusual on the night shift!

I had a room on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel, as the hotel is situated in a quiet side street there is no problem with traffic or extenal noise, even though you're slap bang in the centre of town.

Room itself is an ok size (mine was a single, so maybe a little smaller than a usual double room) with a flat screen tv and free w-fi. The free wi-fi is fine for basic surfing, although there is a speedy version available. Bathroom was also a good size, with a stand up shower and selection of products.

Breakfast buffet is also quite good, a good choice of items means something for everyone. The little German Xmas biscuits on the reception desk were also very nice and I couldn't help but take one every time I walked past!

Recommended, great spot in the city means you can nip back several times a day when you're passing. Friendly staff, nice breakfast and I'm sure I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackheathbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkKupfer, Manager at Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear guest,

we thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
We are very delighted that your stay has been such a positive experience and that you enjoyed the services provided by our team.

And as small note:
Today we speeded up our WiFi to VDSL50. Now you can surf in the internet very fast - for free.

We are looking forward welcoming you again.

With warm regards
Dirk Kupfer
-Assistant General Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The overall general services rating is very Good.
The best I like is the location very near to city center.
The least I like is very less English TV channels.
Also I would suggest to have a higher speed Wi-Fi in rooms.




  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mohamed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkKupfer, Manager at Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted that your stay has been a positive experience and that you enjoyed the services provided by our Team.

Much to our regret we noticed, that it seems that four english speaking TV channels and several other international TV channels are not enough.
But we are sure, that exploring Munich is much more interesting then any TV channel could be.

Regarding our WiFi: We already offering free and fast WiFi to all our guests.
But we are already working to provide even faster Premium WiFi for the future. We will inform you on all our social media channels if we will launch it.

We are looking forward to welcome you in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Dirk Kupfer
-Assistant General Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Had a wonderful short overnight stay in your hotel on Dec 14. The Christmas market was beautiful, cheery, and just warm all over. Your hotel had everything I could ask for. Thanks. I'll be using Mercure for all travel in Germany.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Joji M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirkKupfer, Manager at Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice words and your review.
We want to give the best service for our guests and we still try to make it even better.
And such nice words sweeten our daily work.

We're hoping to see you again.

With regards
Dirk Kupfer
-Assistant General Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank szybru
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DirkKupfer, Manager at Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#20 of 385 in Munich
922 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#8 of 385 in Munich
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
749 reviews
0.4 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
837 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt

Address: Hotterstr. 4, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Munich
#49 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#55 Family Hotel in Munich
#62 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £119 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The non-smoking HOTEL Mercure Munich Altstadt is a fully air-conditioned facility in the heart of the Bavarian capital, just two minute's walk to the famous Marienplatz. All 80 of our suites and rooms have modern furnishings with free Wi-Fi access to the Internet. Drinks from the mini-bar and SKY-Entertainment are free of charge. Your room is also equipped with a safe for your valuables. For your car there are a number of nearby parking garages available (charges apply). Our lobby offers an internet terminal and a shoeshine machine for a polished appearance. House pets are also welcome for a small fee, and for those hectic business days we also offer a laundry service. Ask about costs. Our fax and copy service is of course free of charge. Our hotel rooms was renovated in 2011. In 2014 we redesigned our lobby and built a brand-new breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
Mercure Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing