We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underrated!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel
Ranked #54 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2011

It's amazing to me that this hotel/short stay apartment complex is not more highly rated! The location is perfect right in the Alstadt a few blocks from all the action, yet removed enough to make it peaceful and relaxing. We had a garden studio which was beautiful, extremely well appointed and had a balcony overlooking a gorgeous garden area with fountain. The room had a well done, fully appointed kitchenette with breakfast bar, comfy sofa, queen bed with great linens, luxury bath with Molten Brown toiletries, desk, flat screen tv, DVD player, and plenty of storage. You really could stay here several weeks and feel right at home. The courtyard garden really makes this place remarkable! Just lovely and well tended. We counted 5 gardeners working in it at one point during our stay. Self service laundry was a welcome amenity at the tail end of our 2 week tour of Europe and free Internet a real bonus. Staff was very friendly and always helpful. Breakfast is not included, and the offering at their on site restaurant D'Aversa is expensive but had good selection and quality. The hotel is pricey, but really worth it for a comfortable, well located stay in Munich. We really felt right at home. Should be much more highly rated here. Give it a try!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kitty33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed here again for a second time - the last time being July 2010. The property itself and the location are still top class. The room, a garden studio was lovely and spotlessly clean.
Last year the room was cleaned daily and coffee pods etc. replaced. This year cleaning was only carried out on a Tuesday only and there was an extra charge if more than this was required. When I asked for more coffee pods I was told there was a charge so I paid €4 for a pack and then saw the same in the supermarket down the road for €1.29.
Overall it's still a lovely place to stay and the staff are pleasant and helpful but I don't think the service (room cleaning etc. ) is good enough for the cost. It is quite expensive.
I would consider staying here again but would certainly consider alternatives at the same price and standard with better service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We have been regular costumers of the Maximilian every December for the past 3 years. During these cold days in Munich, the Maximilian is like being at home away from home. It is quiet, confortable, clean and conviniently located. The staff is always available and helpful. We never had to worry about anything. The kitchenette in the room is a wonderful plus that gives you flexibility if you are staying for a week or more like us. Supermarket is 3 mins away and the Viktualienmarkt is 5 mins away. It is the perfect spot to explore the city and all what it has to offer walking or using public transportation. True that the rates are on the high side, but you really get value for your money. We will be back next December, as usual!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmmiralles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed here for a week and absolutely loved it . The location is perfect-right near Marienplatz which has the city centre and the old clock tower where the congregation of cultural and social activity happens in Munich. You can also have access to S Bahn, u bahn and tram networks from here.

The rooms, though small, are very well furnished and the kitchen was fully functional with utensils , gas and water heater. Many restaurants and cafes are nearby. The famous Hofbrauhaus is in the next street.We are vegetarian and there were decent options within walking distance.The hotel's restaurant is good for having breakfast but otherwise has limited options though thats not a worry as a host of eating options are all around.

There is a supermarket within 3 minutes walking distance where you could get milk, diapers and groceries for kids.

If you are visiting Munich this place is hard to beat. Though the pricing is on the higher side, it is worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winasht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

As previously stated, the Maximilian is in a perfect location: far enough away from the noise and crowds, but close enough to walk to those areas in 5-10 minutes. It was like a quiet oasis, with french doors opening up into a garden with a fountain. The sound of the birds and the running water was all we could hear. Room was spotless (my husband had to stay in one morning due to a bad back and commented on how long the housekeeping was in there and what a thorough job she did), roomy, with a kitchenette and with robes provided. My only 2 "complaints" (prevented me from giving this 5*'s) would be no computer for guests (but they do allow you to use the receptions computer) and that breakfast is not included (offered, but for a significant rate). Reception person was very helpful in helping me research travel plans to Andechs from Dachau. Everyone always greeted you with a smile. Wonderful, wonderful hotel overall.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LNEBNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Maximilian Hotel Munich is a wonderful quiet hotel with a perfect location. We paid for the room that faced the courtyard that had a private balcony. Great to have outdoor space facing a fountain and pretty rose garden. Rooms are soundproofed, small kitchen area with basic amenities. Beds were comfortable. This hotel is an easy 10 minute walk to the Marienplatz or the Viktualienmarket food market.

Breakfast is NOT included in the rate, although there is a nice restaurant on site. It was too expensive but we had no trouble finding a place every morning to get food at a much cheaper price. Remember - the market is only 10 minutes away by foot!

We traveled with family and booked two rooms - they gave us a slight discount which was very sweet of them. There was no computer for guests, but they did however let me use the one behind the reception desk in the evening.

Overall, we were very happy with the property.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bklynguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maximilian-Munich, Vielen Dank für die gute Bewertung at Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

Dear "Bklynguy",

thank you very much for your reservation at the Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel and the friendly review of your stay. We are glad that your enjoyed you stay with us.
Hopefully, we can welcome you back again soon.

With best wishes from Munich!
Your Maximilian Munich Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

My husband & I & some friends stayed at the Maximilian over Christmas. My luggage was lost for our entire stay & the staff did everything possible to help with my situation, from calling the airline to lending me a phone charger. The customer service was the best I have encountered in Europe or North America. Mary at the front desk was absolutely charming & always ready to cheerfully help with directions, restaurant recommendations, metro instructions or anything else that we needed. Because of the holiday, there was a little wine hour on Christmas Eve complete with mulled wine & a gift for us on Christmas morning. Truly a lovely hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italiaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 385 in Munich
847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#122 of 385 in Munich
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel an der Oper
Hotel an der Oper
#161 of 385 in Munich
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel

Address: Hochbrueckenstrasse 18, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Munich
#19 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#25 Family Hotel in Munich
#30 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#37 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £204 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City tourists and businessmen, in particular, appreciate the first-class service and comforts at MAXIMILIAN MUNICH and its very central location in the heart of Munich. Directly nearby are the Maximilianstrasse, the Bavarian State Opera, the Hofbrauhaus and the Marienplatz. And just a 10-minute walk from the Englischer Garten! Hidden behind our historically listed facade are 54 studios, suites, and luxury suites ranging in size from 32 to 90 m². 41 units are located in the main building and 13 are in the two popular garden houses amid an idyllic rose garden, the heart of this charming and modern apartment hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maximilian Munich Hotel Munich
Maximilian Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing