We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel
Ranked #50 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We have stayed here about 5 times over the years. The locations is perfect. The price is very good given the level of the rooms and service. The City View Suites are very comfortable for an extended stay. The staff is helpful and very friendly. There is a very pleasent garden/courtyard in the center. So you can relax in some peace and quiet but you are only a 5 minute walk from the Maximilianstrasse, the Marienplatz or the Opera. The restaurant Gandl in St Annastrasse is a 10 minute walk and is great.

Not sure why I would stay anywhere else.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank pdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

I have stayed here for 9 nights, with my wife, son and Daughter. The location was just perfect for us, tucked nicely away from the busy main streets yet a 2-5 minute walk to the most popular attractions, like the Maximilian high street and the popular Marien Platz, surrounded by all the facilities you will ever need in this beautiful city.

We usually stay at either the Mandarine Oriental or the Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski, but this time we decided to look for an apartment to rent specially since we were planning to travel with our baby son. The room we booked, The Family Maisonette, felt small and cramped mainly due to the roof cutting into the room. Nonetheless the layout was good, so was the bathroom and the facilities in the room. The decor was not bad as well.

However the most important factor that gave this an easy 5 star was the hotel's relentless service and assistance. The staff were always looking forward to help me with the many inquiries I had and give me a few sight seeing advices. They always went the extra mile to make our stay as memorable as possible.

The free internet service was pretty fast! The staff were kind enough to give us additional username/passwords for the various devices we had.

The hotel does provide car parking but if your car is big (which was the case for me) you would have to park your car in the parking building just in front of the apartment building, for a nominal overnight parking fee.

Overall, a lovely stay, I just wish we picked better rooms. I would definitely visit this place again when traveling with my kids.

Room Tip: Should you travel with your family I would strongly recommend taking the rooms overlooking the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I traveled with my wife and 2 kids. Very friendly staff and nice location. Very peaceful and yet 3min walk from the street.
Gym is average with basic machines.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit9801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Rating:
No, you won't ge the sleek elegance of the Mandarin Oriental. Or the opulence of the Four Seasons for that matter. The rooms are in fact decorated in a rather simple and basic way.
But, they are spotless, comfortable, quiet, in a great location and run by a lovely crew so it adds up to a 4 for me.

Location:
Very conveniently located like 2 mins from the world class shopping of Maximilian Strasse and like 5 mins away from Marien Platz which is a major subway hub

Hotel:
Small, cozy and in a great spot

Room:
We had a 2 bedroom suite which was spacious and with a good layout. Good storage possibilities. The water pressure and temperature is def above average. We loved that the room was so quiet! And we didn't even have a room facing the lovely garden.... Was also nice that it was possible to make it very dark at night!

Staff:
So sweet, friendly and mega helpful!!! Couldn't have asked for better! There's nothing that they won't try to help you with if you ask!

Internet:
Fast, when it wasn't cutting off. Had to log back on every time after closing the IPad, laptop and phone which was slightly annoying.

Food:
Only had breakfast there. It's a very small, but perfectly nice, selection. They have a wonderful glassed in room where we loved to sit and have our breakfast every morning

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asta72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

the hotel lies exactly in between the two main vital roads of munich; maximillian and marient platz.
Other than the location, everything else is less than the expected standards from a 4 stars hotel. The level of cleaness is poor (towels were smelly and dirty), and the garden is tiny.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank whiteswan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We travelled with our son who is 18 months old and chose Maximilian because we needed a kitchenette and a sitting room wnere we could be while our son was sleeping.
I liked everything in this hotel: the location, the helpful and attentive staff, the apartment which was not only very comfortable, but also quite stylish.
The hotel is central but very quiet so neither of us had any trouble sleeping, even on the New Year's night. So if you are looking for a nice place to spend your vacation with children, do not hesitate!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katya_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This was our first visit to Munich (Berlin is our usual pre-Christmas choice) so we weren't too sure quite what to expect.

Despite less than helpful signs at Isartor station we found the Maximilian very easily. Efficient friendly check-in in perfect English. We were early so registered and left our bags to explore. On our return we were shown to the room, our bags already moved there.

Very comfortable room, really well equipped little kitchen with toaster, microwave/grill, kettle, hob and all the crockery, cutlery and glasses. And a table or buffet bar to eat at. A superb facility in a city where eating out can be very pricey! All very clean and the daily clean was very good.

The bed was firm but very comfortable and - though not a fan of showers in baths - the cubicle at the end was a good compromise. Nice fluffy towels! The only 'fault' is that you can't open the curtains without being observed, but as we chose a ground floor room we knew this would be the case.

English TV was very limited but there is a DVD player and the free wi-fi proved capable of serving up iPlayer just fine!The only equipment we found less useful was the coffee maker - fiddly and the coffee was very weak. Easily resolved with a kettle and some instant coffee...

Smooth checkout and our bags were looked after which we did a final burst of site seeing. Overall we were delighted and would strongly recommend the Maximillan for staff, facilities and location (2 mins to Hofbrauhaus, 4 mins to Marienplatz / Food market, loads of local restaurants and shops). Yes, it may be a little expensive but we think that the overall value is very good indeed. We look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor if you have to fling open the curtains first thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thompsons-Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 385 in Munich
846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#119 of 385 in Munich
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel an der Oper
Hotel an der Oper
#159 of 385 in Munich
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel

Address: Hochbrueckenstrasse 18, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Munich
#19 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#25 Family Hotel in Munich
#29 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#37 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £202 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City tourists and businessmen, in particular, appreciate the first-class service and comforts at MAXIMILIAN MUNICH and its very central location in the heart of Munich. Directly nearby are the Maximilianstrasse, the Bavarian State Opera, the Hofbrauhaus and the Marienplatz. And just a 10-minute walk from the Englischer Garten! Hidden behind our historically listed facade are 54 studios, suites, and luxury suites ranging in size from 32 to 90 m². 41 units are located in the main building and 13 are in the two popular garden houses amid an idyllic rose garden, the heart of this charming and modern apartment hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maximilian Munich Hotel Munich
Maximilian Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing