We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return after 1.5 years - only positives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel
Ranked #68 of 388 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We (family of 4 with 2 young kids [4 and 2.5 years]) had stayed here 1.5 years ago and - apart from overall being very happy, especially with the location [walking distance to Virtualienmarkt, Horbraeuhaus [if you like] etc.] and the rooms - only issue we had at that time were issues with housekeeping.
Nevertheless due to the previously recognized benefits we returned in December for 5 nights and were very happy wit everything including the flawless service (which inquired every day about our satisfaction and any additional needs).
Would now fully recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to stay such central in a hotel with high quality rooms and service. If we come to Munich again, we will for sure come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ulrich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maximilian-Munich, Hotelmanagerin at Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Ulrich H,
We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travelers on tripadvisor. It was a great pleasure to welcome you and your family at the Maximilian Munich in December.
Thank you for commenting on our location! It is true that we are right in the city center walking distance to the Hofbräuhaus, the Marienplatz and the famous shopping street ‘Maximilianstrasse’ for example.
We are very pleased to hear that we were able to improve on your housekeeping service and we have met your expectations during your last stay.
Dear Ulrich H, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you and your familiy back to the Maximilian Munich any time soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you.
With kindest regards
Eva Kubon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights last week.
Lots of good points: Convenient for tourist sights / Christmas markets - all walkable from hotel. Loads of restaurants nearby. Easy 10 minute walk from train station (from airport) only +/- 11 euros pr person. We had a studio apartment - great to have a kitchenette/facilities esp for sorting our own breakfast. King size bed + pillows were good qulality and comfy! Decor smart and modern. Spotlessly clean. We didn't eat in the hotel as there were so many places nearby to go and try out. Supermarket on Tal for basics.
Only niggle & not the hotels fault - neighbours in adjacent flat were noisy with doors slamming, i think they were having a 'domestic'!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jinny232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We spent 4 nights here as a family which includes our infant (7 months) and toddler (2 years).

I originally booked 2 hotels with suites to accommodate our family. The other hotel was more expensive though very close to the Maximilian. Let me begin by saying that the Maximilian is wonderful in their communication. All emails I sent were responded to very quickly (I believe they would have responded within the hour had it not been for the time difference and that it was the middle of the night in Germany when I sent them).

I needed 2 cribs which they not only offered for free but guaranteed (the other hotel wanted to charge me 25 euro/night per crib!). The cribs were very nice and included crib sheets (the ones we brought from the States would not have fit the longer cribs in Europe) and a small bear in each crib. They were set up when we arrived which has almost never happened to me when I request a crib in the States.

We had a room with a balcony that faced the garden that was recommended by the staff during our email correspondence; they recommended this to be sensitive to our kids needing more quiet. The suite was quite roomy by European standards. Yes, the elevator is small but it is not much smaller than the one in my apartment building when I lived in Europe for 5 years. This is simply the size of the elevators. It did mean we could only get 1 stroller in at a time but, again, that's the norm.

The bathroom was a decent size and, again, typical from my experience in Europe. The kitchen was fully stocked with the following:
Flatware
Silverware
Cooking knives
Cooking utensils
Pots and pans
Glasses of several different sizes and styles
Stove
Microwave/Oven combo
Oven
Drying wrack
Sink
Hotpot (which was great for us for making bottles for the baby)
Toaster
Nespresso machine (with pods that were refilled daily)
Tea bags
Coffee amenities (sugar, cream, etc.)
Mugs
Garbage Bags

The bedroom had a 3-section wardrobe. Each section was big enough for us to fit our large Samsonite bag in. There was also a safe in there.

The bathroom comes with Molton Brown toiletries which are very nice and a higher end brand in London.

The hotel itself is very conveniently located, as other reviewers have stated. Just minutes from the city center, a grocery store, restaurants, Hofbrauhaus, etc. By the way, the bakery on the cobblestone road across from Hofbrauhaus next to the Japanese restaurant and souvenir shops is much better than the one many are recommending here (that you get to by turning right out of the hotel).

The service is also wonderful. The only negative is that the housekeeper came one day when our boys were napping and they would not come back later because we had "refused service." However, after telling them the boys' nap schedule they made sure to clean our room around that time every other day we were there. The hotel staff was also very helpful when our baby needed a doctor they arranged that and asked us almost every time we passed by the front desk after that how he was doing (and one time told me the staff had just been talking about our boy over supper due to their concern).

The breakfast was pricey but not outrageous for a hotel breakfast. The food was good and, like most European food vs. American food, was about freshness and quality versus the absurd, gross quantities we consume in the States (guilty!).

All in all, this was a great hotel, spacious, comfy, conveniently located and with great service.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the courtyard/garden for a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent two nights at Maximilian Munich and it was a wonderful experience. We stayed in one of the apartments which was large and comfortable. We had a balcony which overlooked the rose garden. The staff there were exceptional. Its location is perfect and everything is accessible via foot. We had a car but didnt use it for the 2 days we were there. The restaurant was fabulous, the food delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Munich.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuitcaseStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed there with my Son in early August for 4 days ... the reviews on this hotel are accurate and to the point ... as I have to be in Munich again in mid October, did not hesitate to book for a second stay. Clean cosy hotel, rooms with adequate space (by European standards) and a few minutes walk to the center... area is very safe till late at night....

If you are renting a car, there is a multistory garage opposite the hotel, which adds to the convenience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sherif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is literally 5 min walk for Marienplatz but it is an oasis of calm, charm and peace. The rooms are spacious, decorated tastefully with modern fittings and include a small kitchen space. The room has a small balcony overlooking the garden which has a very peaceful and wonderful fountain bubbling away. The service is excellent and this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at and I have stayed at a lot. It is not the cheapest hotel but it is worth paying for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jfo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Went for weekend stay to see the wonderful city of Munich. The Maximillan was a wonderful suite hotel that made us feel right at home. It was a short walk to many of the must sees....Haufbrauhaus, Glockenspiel, etc. The staff were able to answer any questions we had, and were more than helpful in assisting us with transportation, must sees, etc. Their ability to speak English fluently aided us in our comfort. Would definitely stay again if we visit Munich....

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 388 in Munich
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel an der Oper
Hotel an der Oper
#159 of 388 in Munich
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 388 in Munich
1,073 reviews
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 388 in Munich
2,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#12 of 388 in Munich
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel

Address: Hochbrueckenstr. 18, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Munich
#19 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#25 Family Hotel in Munich
#37 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#37 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £171 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City tourists and businessmen, in particular, appreciate the first-class service and comforts at MAXIMILIAN MUNICH and its very central location in the heart of Munich. Directly nearby are the Maximilianstrasse, the Bavarian State Opera, the Hofbrauhaus and the Marienplatz. And just a 10-minute walk from the Englischer Garten! Hidden behind our historically listed facade are 54 studios, suites, and luxury suites ranging in size from 32 to 90 m². 41 units are located in the main building and 13 are in the two popular garden houses amid an idyllic rose garden, the heart of this charming and modern apartment hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maximilian Munich Hotel Munich
Maximilian Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing