We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet in the heart of Munich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel
Ranked #85 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet in the heart of Munich”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The location was perfect to get around the heart of Munich and surprisingly quiet. We were a short walk to many restaurants and Marienplatz. Our studio apt. was and excellent size, clean and modern. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maximilian-Munich, Geschäftsführer at Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Allan G,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback with other travelers on Tripadvisor. It was our great pleasure to have you staying with us this past June.
It is true; Maximilian Munich is located right in the heart of Munich’s old town, only walking distance to the Marienplatz, the Hofbräuhaus and the Maximilianstrasse.
It is our great pleasure to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and we sincerely hope to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Munich.
With kindest regards
Eva Kubon
-Hotelmanager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    86
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
81
96
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed at the maximilian Munich for 2 nights. had booked a suite which includes a kitchinette and facilities to do tea and coffee.
very nice helpful staff.
very charming garden, which unfortunately and due to unknown reasons, stayed empty. I'd wished to meet other people.
Calm location in the centre of Munich, a hidden place, walking distance to Marienplatz, hofbrauhaus, Maximilianstrasse.

Breakfast not included (even not so good), room around euro 250 per night

Room Tip: rooms with a view to the charming garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maximilian-Munich, Geschäftsführer at Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear marie j,
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. It was our great pleasure to have you staying with us for a weekend this past June.
It is true, Maximilian Munich is located right in the heart of Munich’s old town, only walking distance to the Marienplatz, the Hofbräuhaus and the opera.
It is our great pleasure to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and we sincerely hope to welcome you back at the Maximilian Munich whenever your travels bring you to Munich. With kindest regards
Eva Kubon
-Hotelmanager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed at the Maximilian in Munich for three months when I relocated to Munich. You can rent it for short and long term. Simply awesome location, great staff and service, nice rooms. If you want center of Munich then it doesn't get better than Maximilian.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranjit1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maximilian-Munich, Geschäftsführer at Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Ranjit 1009,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback with other travelers on Tripadvisor. It was our great pleasure to have you staying with us for three months.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and hope to see you in our restaurant some time, if you are around.
With kindest regards
Eva Kubon
-Hotelmanager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel was recommended to us by a friend who lives and works in Munich, and in turn, I would recommend it too. It is very central, just a few minutes walk from the Marienplatz. We were there on holiday but it would also be an ideal base if you were on business. Our little apartment had a sitting room/kitchenette with a breakfast bar and a table/desk, a double bedroom with a balcony overlooking the pretty courtyard garden and a good shower room. It was very clean, comfortable and well designed, the wifi worked well and it was surprisingly quiet for a city centre location. The reception staff were very good and the breakfast was excellent. We must have got up earlier than the monoglot reviewer who found the breakfast meagre (German for omelette is das Omelett so how did that go wrong one wonders?). We found lots of everything to eat including a delicious oatmeal mix with fruit and nuts in it that set us up beautifully for the day. The breakfast was an extra 18€, but this was only around 5% of the total bill, there was a lot of choice and it would certainly cost more in a comparable London hotel. Overall, it seemed quite good value for a room of this standard in a city like Munich, even allowing for the strength of the GBP just now.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maximilian-Munich, Geschäftsführer at Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear CGUk,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback with other travelers on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us.
Maximilian Munich is situated right in the heart of Munich’s old town. With its unique rose garden we are able to offer quiet accommodation to our guests choosing a room with a garden view, like you did.
I was extremely happy to learn, that you enjoyed our breakfast so much!
We hope to welcome you again at the Maximilian Munich next time your travels bring you to Munich. In the meantime, I remain
With kindest regards
Eva Kubon
-Hotelmanager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our stay in this hotel was very nice, but it was only hampered by the extremely poor breakfast service throughout our stay (of which later).

The reservation and check-in processes were very easy, and we were escorted to our room on the top (4th) floor. It included a small kitchen area (with a full & complete set of pots and pans and cutlery if you decide to cook in) and a balcony overlooking the inner courtyard - overall a size of a small city apartment (~25m3). They have also larger rooms but this was very ample for us, two persons. (perhaps a bit more storage space for luggage needed tough; only one cupboard..)

Everything in the room was in tip-top shape, it seems to have been recently renowated/built since the overall room design is rather clean and modern and everything worked without problems. Except for the in-room air conditioning which I heard was out of service from the entire hotel during our entire 4 day stay (totally out of whack, lowest temp I could select was 25C and it did not blow in really any air). Not a big problem this time since outside temperatures didn't reach more than about 23C in the day and we could open the windows, but if it would have been the middle of the summer it would have caused huge problems in our top storey "loft" room/apartment...

Location of the hotel is extremely central, everything within walking distance. This also means that the price is quite steep but that's rather expected for every hotel in the immediate city center. But compared to the room size and amenities it was not "that bad" after all.

Despite of the central location the room was very quiet. With window open you can hear some distant noise but no matter if your room is facing the street or yard they all should be quiet, as the street facing the hotel is a very small one too. Our room was actually right next to the elevator but that really didn't create any noticeable noise either as there are so few rooms in one floor. Cleaning service worked as one would expect and they'd also refill the coffee maker's pods every day.

The hotel has also a dedicated spa area which in any hotel is always a bit over-advertised. But we still had nice moments there with a bit of sauna on two occasions (just let the reception know beforehand and they'll warm everything up just for you, no extra charge). There were also other gizmos like a special shower but it totally lacked any usage instructions so I didn't bother with that. A jacuzzi could have been nice (there would be space for it too), but can't have everything..

Free Wifi was fast, but it had occasional conncetion problems and repeated prompts to enter the username/password combination. But overall worked as required / expected.

If you arrive by car, like we did, the hotel does offer a small parking garage, 21 eur per day which is rather expensive perhaps, but the next-door public car park isn't any cheaper. The only restriction is that the car cannot be larger than a normal family estate (5m*1.5m) since it's a strange two-story duplex parking system. Be also aware that if you get a "bad" spot you may have a difficult time in getting out of the car due to the system's hydraulic actuators being in the way on some spots. But what I recon is that usually there are free spaces to choose from, just don't try to fit your Hummer here...

The staff and service on the front desk were also helpful and polite, but now we come to the bad part - breakfast. The breakfast service is optional and expensive - a whopping 18 euros per person per day! That by any standards is too much for a normal hotel breakfast so I was naturally expecting something "more" than standard buffet = good choice of foods with an extremely good personal service (knowing what the price range of this hotel is, and based on my previous experiences). None of this happened. Food was good with rather many choices, when it happened to be available, but service level was extremely poor.

So, arrived to breakfast on the first morning around 10am, 30 mins before the service ends, just to find out that >50% of the items available are gone and haven't been refilled. During the stay they weren't mostly filled at all. Asked for an omelette, the waiter who barely spoke ANY English at all (!!) misunderstood me first; after a while I got it through to him but yet it still a simple omelette took more than 15 minutes to arrive (and at that point there were no other customers left, and I was actually just about to leave too as I though they had forgotten it)!

Second morning, arrived at 9 am - same thing; nearly everything meaningful is empty. Took some cerial - found out there was no milk - asked for milk, which arrived in 10 minutes, then to find out there are no spoons left, while others found out there were no plates left. Asked for some more scrambled eggs / bacon to be filled, it took 20 minutes (I had already waited a bit before even asking). Other guests asked for more youghurt, it took more than 10 minutes to refill the bowls, and after it was filled there was no scoop to get it. And so on, and so on - the same total amateurish style was repeated on many things (= guests had to "complain" to get more of something all the time, staff was incapable of keeping the items stocked by themselves). Just unbelievable, considering that the breakfast area has only around 10 tables and it wasn't even nearly full at that time (what if it would have been packed?). The guy waiting the tables (only one waiter .. who still didn't speak English) was just running back and forth all the time without ANY understanding on how to make the service efficiently - he runs one cup of coffee to one table, then one croissant to another etc. Overall ~50 minutes spent on breakfast, of which around 10-15 minutes eating and rest waiting for something to show up, haven't really seen such inefficient display ever before.

Third morning, didn't bother to show up. On fourth morning at 7am (due to early departure) everything was in place and all items were available, since we were the first ones there. But noticed that the items available are in ridiculously small plates/bowls - you have like 5 slices of pineapple, 5 slices of ham available and so forth - so no wonder everything is always out if a bit more than 2 people happen to come in at once. (yesyes, one can argue that the hotel was nearly full and/or number of quests was unexpected but the breakfast area wasn't full on any morning, and those aren't anyway valid reasons for this by any means)

Naturally you can cook your own breakfast (there are many shops around to buy food), but for a few days stay I really don't wish to bother. (I was actually inclined to give only 3 stars to this review but after I informed of by frustrations of the very poor breakfast service to the staff they compensated it a bit, so 4* it'll be.)

So all in all, a good hotel to stay in, and will be pleased to stay here again, but with these prices and service I would recommend everyone to stay out of the breakfast service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPu-FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maximilian-Munich, General Manager at Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear SPu-FI,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share this detailed review with other travelers on Tripadvisor.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay overall and thank you for your constructive criticism concerning our breakfast service.
Our studio apartments facing the garden have a size of 33 m² offering a balcony. It is true, that we renovated all our rooms in the beginning of the year. We are happy to read that everything in the apartment was working properly and that you enjoyed the comfort. The air-conditioning was not working during your stay, because during annual check-up they found out that a part needed to be replaced. It was ordered immediately, however, took some time to be delivered. Usually at this time of the year, we do not need air-conditioning – however, spring came a month early!
Thank you for mentioning the central location! Maximilian Munich is located right in the heart of the old town, only steps away from the Hofbräuhaus, Marienplatz and the opera! And yes, it is very quiet especially in our rooms facing the garden.
It is nice to read that you enjoyed our Wellness Area as well. Thank you for your comment on the missing instructions – we now have a display explaining the different Options there.
We would like to apologize for all the inconveniences you encountered during breakfast. Due to vacation and illness, we were very short staffed these days. We simply did not manage well and preparations were lacking. We do assure you, that changes have been made and procedures are implemented – so hopefully this situation will never ever occur again.
Dear Spu-Fl, it would be our pleasure to welcoming you again at the Maximilian Munich. Thank you again for your feedback!
With kindest regards
Eva Kubon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Expensive hotel although worth it for the central location. The room was large with a separate kitchenette/dining area. It was a Garden Suite and was incredibly quiet and peaceful considering the hotels location, even with the doors to the balcony open! We were within walking distance of the city centre, Hofbrauhaus, Marienplatz, shops and restaurants. I have to compliment the staff as they couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. Will definitely stay in this hotel the next time I am in Munich.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexKeogh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maximilian-Munich, Hotelmanager at Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Mr. AlexKeogh81,
Thank you so much for sharing your positive comments on tripadvisor!
We are very pleased to offer our guests quiet rooms right in the center of Munich's old town. It is with great pleasure that I share your compliments with our staff - it means a very high motivation for all of us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Maximilian Munich!
In the meantime, we remain,
with kindest regards! Eva Kubon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I'm extremely satisfied with this hotel. Location is perfect! Stuff was very nice. I came to the hotel very early in the morning, left my luggage and went for a walk. But at 1 p m I came back absolutely exhausted. So check in was available at 3 p m but staff was so friendly that they let me stay in SPA, just alone. They brought me nice herbal tea. I spent there 2 hours with great pleasure! Then I've got my room. It was very nice. Lovely view, balcony, coffee machine, tea, small kitchen and bedroom on the upper floor! Bathroom was very clean and new. Cosmetic is Molten Brown :)
It was was very quiet and comfortable to sleep at night. Breakfast was good. No problem with umbrellas in case of the rain. One more time I'd like to thank the staff! Next time in Munich I'll stop here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avg_elen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maximilian-Munich, Hotelmanagerin at Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Avg_elen,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful comment with other travelers on tripadvisor. We are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed the comfort of your room including the guest amenities and that you appreciated our staff and service. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again to the Maximilian Munich in the near future.
With kindest regards,
Eva Kubon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#104 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.1 mi away
Hotel an der Oper
Hotel an der Oper
#176 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel

Property: Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel
Address: Hochbrueckenstrasse 18, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Munich
#19 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#25 Family Hotel in Munich
#37 Business Hotel in Munich
#49 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City tourists and businessmen, in particular, appreciate the first-class service and comforts at MAXIMILIAN MUNICH and its very central location in the heart of Munich. Directly nearby are the Maximilianstrasse, the Bavarian State Opera, the Hofbrauhaus and the Marienplatz. And just a 10-minute walk from the Englischer Garten! Hidden behind our historically listed facade are 54 studios, suites, and luxury suites ranging in size from 32 to 90 m². 41 units are located in the main building and 13 are in the two popular garden houses amid an idyllic rose garden, the heart of this charming and modern apartment hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maximilian Munich Apartments & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maximilian Munich Hotel Munich
Maximilian Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing