We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant for sushi and cocktails”
Review of Anna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anna Hotel
Ranked #57 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant for sushi and cocktails”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Anna hotel has a nice restaurant just in front of karlsplatz. The setting is nice and the service good. They are famous for sushi in particular. It is a good place for cocktails in the evenings. It is usually crowded during the week ends when it is better to book in advance. Nice place in the city center.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristiano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales & Marekting Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Cristiano B
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and your time in our restaurant. Thanking you for your nice comment; we hope to welcoming you again.
Kindest regards. Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel & restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    267
    81
    20
    13
See reviews for
90
291
45
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Had 3 days in Munich and tried this hotel and ended up in one of the top floor suites. Great sunset views and a nice bar/restaurant downstairs that spills over onto the outdoor mall. A short walk from the train station. Close to the plaza and great buildings (old and new) by foot. They arranged a driver for me to take me to Dachau and every thing they did was very well executed.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzman7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales & Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear jazzman7777
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your observations with the travel community. With pleasure we have read your positive comments about our hotel and restaurant as well as our limousine service and our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the anna hotel in the not too far distance.
Best regards
Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdenoja
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Rude staff ,expensive and the food is very poor.
Noisy.
It is not worthy to spend monee in dinner or breakfast there.
The terrace in summmer is pleasant just for a cup of Coffe.
Before leaving the table the waiter check the tip even when he did not pay any atention to us while having dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AireValdenoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Sales & Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear AireValdenoja,
Thank you for your comments and observations following your recent visit to our anna restaurant & bar and for you taking the time to share your observations with the travel community. We are sorry to read that you were unsatisfied with your visit in our restaurant. If you could kindly inform us more detailed about the reasons why we could not meet your expectations in our culinary selection we might have the chance to improve ourselves in this issue. We would appreciate if you could contact us by phone +49(0) 89 599940 or mail anna@geisel-privathotels.de.
We deeply regret that you got such an impression of our employees. This is definitely not what we are known for as anna hotel and restaurant put great emphasis on warmth, courtesy and professionalism. Unfortunately, you experienced the opposite during your visit. Please be insured that we talked immediately to the concerned departments to make sure that our guest are happy from the first minute until the last minute of their visit.
Therefore we would be more than glad to get a future chance and convince you especially of our friendly and courteous staff.
With best regards
Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel is located close to the Munich train station, and just 10 min walk from Marienplatz. It was a little bit hard to find the main door of the hotel, but you entered the service was super.
Modern and spacious rooms with free wi-fi, and a excelent breakfast. Big shower with tropical rain-shower. Great beds, and very good desk for working with lap top etc.
Karstadt shopping mall just 30 sec walk from the hotel, and a lot of other shopping and dining possibilities in the area.

Room Tip: Look for the main door just after the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napoleon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Sales & Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Napoleon72,
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. We are glad to read your positive comments on our room product, our breakfast and central location. The satisfaction of our guests is our main aim and we all do our very best to provide our guests with the best possible service. We are proud to read that we could satisfy you in this aspect and that you enjoyed our free wireless lan with high speed connection.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the anna hotel in the not too far distant future.
Kindest regards
Julia Sprung and the team of anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Anna, Munich and were looking forward to our stay. We were impressed by the great photos on the website and decided to stay for our one night in Munich on Monday 25th March.

We checked in at the hotel BUT WERE NOT informed of the complete redecoration in the hallways on each floor and outside the bedroom. We were exceptionally tired but unfortunately unable to relax and rest in the room due to the noise of staff and work in the corridors.

No room service is available at the hotel and we were not informed of this upon check in either.
As a sales person working in a 5 star luxury hotel in central London I have high expectations and it is disappointing not to be informed or WARNED of the renovation works taking place or that everytime you would like refreshments you must leave your room and ask in the restaurant.

Unfortunately, the general decor of the bedrooms and the main areas of the hotel look nothing like the website photos and are certainly not as colourful!

The hotel is possibly the noisiest I have stayed in with delivery trucks and vans driving past the hotel and under your 2nd floor bedroom room constantly. Maybe this is down to the central location but there is not getting away from the fact that this hotel is very noisy.

FINALLY, after a terrible nights sleep due to the constant noise we expected to have at least some tranquility and a lie in in the morning. This was not to be the case!

This was completely destroyed by 3 separate visits to the room by housekeeping who did not appear to knock on the door, and just walked in to the room whilst we were asleep and in bed. Quite unbelievable!

The hotel is in a great location but really does not match up to the standards of the other hotels in the same group.

A very disappointing stay for a birthday treat to Munich!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MitchMichMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear MitchMichMoo,
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your observations with the travel community. Your feedback is from utmost importance for us as the satisfaction of our guests is the first priority. Unfortunately there seemed to be some problems during your stay and we really want to apologize for the caused inconveniences especially as you intended to celebrate a specially occasion.
Due to certain circumstances the painting work in the hall way on your floor had to be arranged at short notice therefore we had unfortunately not the possibility to inform you prior your arrival. We deeply regret you have been disturbed by this operation. You are right we do not offer room service in our anna hotel in general, but on the other hand we offer drinks and snacks from the mini bar for only € 1.00 per item. In addition the anna restaurant and bar well known for young, modern and innovative cuisine with Eurasian influence and signature cocktails serves dinner until midnight and the bar is open ended on the weekend. This combination supposed to reflect the concept of our anna hotel as a modern, business design hotel.
We feel sorry that you were disturbed by street and additional noise during the night. As our hotel is in the very heart of Munich this is sometimes not avoidable.
Please allow us to deeply apologize that you have been annoyed by colleagues from housekeeping who apparently entered your room without announcement in the morning. We would like to put emphasize this is certainly not the norm and we can ensure you that we talked to the concerned department to make sure that this annoyance will not happen again.
Thank you for having stayed with us and your valuable comments. We deeply regret that we could not meet your expectations. We would appreciate to get in contact with you personally with good intent to get the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you a memorable stay in the anna hotel. Therefore we kindly ask you to refer to j.sprung@geisel-privathotels.de.
Best regards
Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Just spent 2 nights for business at this brilliant hotel. Its In a great central location near the main station and the S bahn & the U bahn as well as numerous cabs and opposite Kardsat the dept store. The room was lovely, and quiet and I had a great nights sleep both nights. Downstairs is the bar and and restauarant and I had delicous Sushi my first night. All the staff speak excellent English and it was no trouble being a single female guest on business. The breakfasts are included and were delicious. Tons of lovely smoked salmon, fresh fruit, amazing bread. Good Coffee. The Reception staff were helpful, able to recommend a restaurant for the second night, give directions and offered me free bottles of water to take to the airport. everything in the minibar is a euro which I thought was a bargain. Will definitely come back here again!

Room Tip: I always ask for high up room but was on 2nd floor and no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales & Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear TaraH,
thank you for your comments and observations following your recent visit to the anna hotel. We are delighted to read that you do rate the hotel, its service and staff very highly. To enjoy our guests with the best possible service is our first priority and we are glad to hear that we could convinced you with our cordial and helpful service, our room product and the location of our Hotel. We are happy to find out that you relish your visit in our restaurant for dinner and breakfast.
Thank you for having stayed with us; we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Best regards
Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I have stayed at the Anna hotel three times over a period of a year and always had an excellent experience.

The hotel was recommended to me by a Munich local.

It is in easy walking distance to the main shopping district, Lowenbrau hall and metro station to access the airport as well as main station for ICE trains.

The bar downstairs does excellent cocktails and I have always been able to get the staff to recommend a decent bar to move onto next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#16 of 382 in Munich
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#75 of 382 in Munich
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#10 of 382 in Munich
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 382 in Munich
819 reviews
0.6 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 382 in Munich
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#48 of 382 in Munich
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Hotel

Property: Anna Hotel
Address: Schuetzenstr. 1, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Munich
#32 Family Hotel in Munich
#33 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#35 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#50 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Anna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "anna hotel" and its "anna next door" are located in the middle of the city centre of Munich, directly at the famous Karlsplatz/ Stachus. The hotel provides 75 exclusive rooms including the luxury Tower suite on the upper floor. The round balcony on the 6th floor offers a great view over Munich, the Frauenkirche and the magnificent palace of justice. The apartment "anna next door" is unique in the hospitality industry. Its own design is characterized not only by modern furniture as an iPod-Docking station or a flat screen-TV in the restroom but also by a kitchen and a free standing overflow bathtub. The 2 minutes walking distance to the hotel is highly appreciated by the guests. The hotel combines modern design with grace and comfort, which is emphasized by the membership of Lifestylehotels and awarded by the renowned magazine "Architektur & Wohnen" as one of the 100 best Design hotels in Europe. The "anna restaurant", a central hot-spot, is appreciated by the hotel guests and the locals for its modern restaurant concept, the individual service, the euro-asiatic cuisine and for a broad selection of cocktails. Due to its special ambience the "anna restaurant" offers the perfect event location for up to 180 persons ("anna rondell" for up to 30 guests). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing