We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but noisy”
Review of Anna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anna Hotel
Ranked #49 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 July 2013

If you're looking for a stylish spot to lay your head while exploring central Munich, and don't mind that you won't sleep before 2 am and will be woken at about 8.30, then this place will be ideal. A few minutes' walk from the Hauptbahnhof, it is easily reached via public transport from Munich Airport.
My daughter - 14 - and I spent 3 nights here in April 2013. Our room was stylishly decorated, but not very large, and the decor was looking a little tired. The bathroom was dead cool but the floor and furniture - all very hardwood styled - was in need of sanding and polishing. The bed was very comfortable however and the TV worked OK. But outside below our window - we were on the 4th floor - the trams went by till late at night and the warmth of the room dictated that we needed the windows open till quite late, so it felt a bit like resting in a train station. I gather there are rooms on the other side of the hotel that are much quieter so make sure you get one of those if you stay here.
The public areas of the hotel were cramped - no expansive welcoming lobby, just a bit of a gloomy, if high ceilinged and trendily done up corridor, leading to the bar one way and the elevators the other. The bar was doubtless a good place to see and be seen at night. Even at 8 in the morning, the sound system was woofing and tweeting away to some trendy beat, which my daughter enjoyed a lot more than I did. Breakfast was included in our rate, but you had to pay extra for a glass of freshly squeezed juice - around 4 euros, which I found rather mean of them as the room wasn't cheap.
The reception staff were charming and very friendly, and spoke good English. Those working in the breakfast bar put style before content, though, and stood around looking statuesque rather than smily and forthcoming with service.

Room Tip: Ensure you book the quieter side - the ones without the tramline. I think Bayerstrasse is the safe s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kikirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales & Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear kikirt,
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. With pleasure we read your positive comment especially on our staff and our location. On the other hand we regret we could not meet your expectations on our property entirely. In addition we would like to apologize that you have been disturbed by street noise and any inconvenience this may caused. As our hotel is situated in the very heart of Munich this is sometimes not avoidable. You may ask for rooms facing the other direction of the hotel (Schützenstraße) which are more quite for your next stay. Thank you again for your valuable comment. We would be happy to welcome you again to the anna hotel soon.
Kindest regards Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

Excellent hotel with style right across from the Old Town in Munich. It's literally steps from a major subway station, and just down the street from the main train station. Ask for a quieter room away from the subway entrance, and the noise from the street will not be an issue. The beds are very comfortable, the bathroom is lovely (spacious shower with strong water pressure), and the ceilings are high. The staff is kind, helpful and professional. There is a very good breakfast buffet, the best part of which is Super Waiter Adrian Novak: his charm, wit and excellent service made our stay an absolute delight!

Room Tip: Rooms on the pedestrian mall side are quieter than those facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicBCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear VicBCTraveller,
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel with its location, with our design and rooms. We thank you especially for the nice comment on our staff.
We hope to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards. Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We travelled from the airport by train and were delivered to the door of the hotel - after a long flight what could be better.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Check in was a breeze.

The room was small but has everything in it, really comfortable bed. The toiletries were a bit scarce. This wouldn't have been an issue if our luggage had not arrived until about he time we checked out! The bathroom is excellent - great shower.

We had breakfast in the hotel. Really good selection, try the Lassi instead of the juice.

We had read about the hotel being noisy because of the bar downstairs. We had a first floor room directly above the bar and hardy noticed it at all. The convenience of a great bar downstairs far out ways a little noise.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank browney237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear browney237
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel with its location, with our rooms, and our breakfast. We thank you especially for the nice comment on our staff.
Hopeing to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards. Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the sushi, hands down. I was traveling on business alone and felt perfectly comfortable in the restaurant despite it buzzing with people. Had two terrific meals with sashimi, nigiri and rolls. It is a nice change from the heavier German food.

Rooms are small and could have been cleaner (dead bug in the bathroom). My room was facing the street on the first level and it was noisy. Excellent, walkable distance to the main shopping drag.

The receptionist struggled to understand my English, which surprised me for Germany but overall the service was fine.

Hairdresser next door teased my hair into a Dallas/Dynasty like helmet. If that is your thing and it is definitely mine (they do not speak a word of English and I have no German), my hair lasted three days! Also, absolutely fabulous wine store just in front.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariacallasmaria74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales & Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear mariacallasmaria74,
We are glad to learn that you relish your time in our restaurant and your stay at our hotel. The more we regret you were disturbed by street noise in your room and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience. As our hotel is in the very heart of Munich this is sometimes not avoidable. You may ask for rooms facing the other direction of the hotel on a higher floor for your next stay. Spotless cleanliness of our rooms is our highest priority. Therefore we apologize that our service has not been executed accurately this time.
Looking forward to your next visit in our hotel.
Best regards Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Anna hotel has a nice restaurant just in front of karlsplatz. The setting is nice and the service good. They are famous for sushi in particular. It is a good place for cocktails in the evenings. It is usually crowded during the week ends when it is better to book in advance. Nice place in the city center.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristiano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales & Marekting Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Cristiano B
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and your time in our restaurant. Thanking you for your nice comment; we hope to welcoming you again.
Kindest regards. Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel & restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Had 3 days in Munich and tried this hotel and ended up in one of the top floor suites. Great sunset views and a nice bar/restaurant downstairs that spills over onto the outdoor mall. A short walk from the train station. Close to the plaza and great buildings (old and new) by foot. They arranged a driver for me to take me to Dachau and every thing they did was very well executed.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzman7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales & Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear jazzman7777
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your observations with the travel community. With pleasure we have read your positive comments about our hotel and restaurant as well as our limousine service and our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the anna hotel in the not too far distance.
Best regards
Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Rude staff ,expensive and the food is very poor.
Noisy.
It is not worthy to spend monee in dinner or breakfast there.
The terrace in summmer is pleasant just for a cup of Coffe.
Before leaving the table the waiter check the tip even when he did not pay any atention to us while having dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AireValdenoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Sales & Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Dear AireValdenoja,
Thank you for your comments and observations following your recent visit to our anna restaurant & bar and for you taking the time to share your observations with the travel community. We are sorry to read that you were unsatisfied with your visit in our restaurant. If you could kindly inform us more detailed about the reasons why we could not meet your expectations in our culinary selection we might have the chance to improve ourselves in this issue. We would appreciate if you could contact us by phone +49(0) 89 599940 or mail anna@geisel-privathotels.de.
We deeply regret that you got such an impression of our employees. This is definitely not what we are known for as anna hotel and restaurant put great emphasis on warmth, courtesy and professionalism. Unfortunately, you experienced the opposite during your visit. Please be insured that we talked immediately to the concerned departments to make sure that our guest are happy from the first minute until the last minute of their visit.
Therefore we would be more than glad to get a future chance and convince you especially of our friendly and courteous staff.
With best regards
Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#21 of 385 in Munich
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#80 of 385 in Munich
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#41 of 385 in Munich
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Hotel

Address: Schuetzenstr. 1, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Munich
#27 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#32 Family Hotel in Munich
#35 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#50 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £125 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "anna hotel" and its "anna next door" are located in the middle of the city centre of Munich, directly at the famous Karlsplatz/ Stachus. The hotel provides 75 exclusive rooms including the luxury Tower suite on the upper floor. The round balcony on the 6th floor offers a great view over Munich, the Frauenkirche and the magnificent palace of justice. The apartment "anna next door" is unique in the hospitality industry. Its own design is characterized not only by modern furniture as an iPod-Docking station or a flat screen-TV in the restroom but also by a kitchen and a free standing overflow bathtub. The 2 minutes walking distance to the hotel is highly appreciated by the guests. The hotel combines modern design with grace and comfort, which is emphasized by the membership of Lifestylehotels and awarded by the renowned magazine "Architektur & Wohnen" as one of the 100 best Design hotels in Europe. The "anna restaurant", a central hot-spot, is appreciated by the hotel guests and the locals for its modern restaurant concept, the individual service, the euro-asiatic cuisine and for a broad selection of cocktails. Due to its special ambience the "anna restaurant" offers the perfect event location for up to 180 persons ("anna rondell" for up to 30 guests). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing