We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anna Hotel
Ranked #59 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We enjoyed our 5 nights at the Anna hotel in a Panorama suite. The room was on the 5th floor, good views of the rooftops, with a small terrace. The room was large, with 2 reclining chairs and a desk. Loved the shower with its coloured lights and the TV set into the bathroom mirror, and great toiletries. There was plenty of closet hanging space, with robes and slippers provided, but no drawers, which I thought a bit odd. The bed was very comfortable, excellent linen, towels regularly replaced. The breakfast was very good, well presented, with eggs cooked to order. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our only problem was the fact that the afternoon sun baked into our room which had floor to ceiling windows on two sides and made the room feel like a sauna. The air conditioning could not cope and nor could we. The staff attempted to lower the room temperature but no luck. They were concerned, however, and helpful, and really did try their best. I suppose most guests are out all day and do not notice this but because the hotel is very central, we often popped back in the afternoons to refresh.
We loved the food hall at Karlplatz right next to the hotel, having Karstadt dept store opposite, and sitting at the outdoor tables of the hotel watching people go by. The location was amazing. From the Karlplatz subway there is a direct train to the airport..

Room Tip: Room 003 is too hot in the afternoon. Choose a Panorama suite on the other side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thalia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Thalia8,
How nice! We are honored and want to personally thank you for your efforts and your kind words especially on our staff. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel with the style as well as decoration of our rooms, location and breakfast selection. Please accept our apology for the incorrect working air conditioning. We will discuss this issue with our maintenance department to repair this problem for the future. The next time you are in town we look forward to seeing you again. Best regards Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    251
    79
    19
    13
See reviews for
82
273
45
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Literally in front of the Karlsplatz stop on the Sbahn (as long as you take the right exit). Just across the ring from the Karlstor gate to a big shopping boulevard and the Marienplatz and everything that's in Old Town. 15 minutes walk from the art museums. We never took any public transportation or taxis...just walked everywhere. We had a terrace room with a view of the city building tops (tho the parking garage next door does feature prominently and the evergreens separating the terrace areas were brown and dead). In spite of those small drawbacks, it was superbly pleasant to sit outside with a glass of wine, going over the day's adventures. No street noise, but we were on 6th floor. Hip, minimally decorated room, great bed, fun colored light shower, rainforest shower head. Best breakfast buffet of the trip, with eggs cooked to order. Then, when came time to take the train to Vienna, the Ubahn is also just a few blocks away. Service was friendly, with perfect English...but this is a big hotel, so they're not particularly chatty or warm. But we weren't looking for a B&B vibe, so we were good with that. My husband and I liked this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 2, on the sixth floor with a terrace. Pretty, though there's a parking garage next d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChristyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear ChristyC,
It was entirely our pleasure having you and your husband as guest. Good that we were able to inspire you with our popular breakfast buffet and our design as well as facilities of our rooms. It is lovely to hear that you take the possibility to go for a walk instead of using the public transportation during your stay. We understand this feature as a great opportunity to get to know a city. We are happy to seeing you both again soon in our anna hotel. Best regards Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Perfect location to all of the walkable sites of Munich and situated immediately adjacent to the S Bahn and U Bahn for traveling longer distances, including the airport. The room was very nice, clean and well appointed, staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was quite good. The evening crowd at the outdoor restaurant was a little questionable, but we just avoided it. This is not a luxury hotel, but if you want convenient and comfortable, look no further.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank friscobased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Friscobased,
thank you very much for your review following your recent stay. With pleasure we found out that you have been satisfied with your residence in our hotel with our staff, rooms, location and breakfast. We hope to welcoming you again soon. Best regards. Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Anna Hotel in Munich is designed and operated to ensure its guests have an enjoyable stay in the very walkable city of Munich. The location is great if using trains and the subway, but its important to get you bearings right to ensure you find it quickly - I accidentally left the Hauptbahnhof by a side entrance and walked several hundred metres in the wrong direction before re-tracing my steps through the "wrong" part of town.
The reception is friendly, warm and efficient, making you feel very welcome. The room was well equipped, clean and up to date.
The bed for me is critical and it was just right with a firm mattress making for a great night's sleep.
Breakfast was great, plentiful, tasty and served by friendly staff eager to get your day off to a great start.
Oh, the bar and bar service had a buzz that made a solo traveller feel great.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are quirky (nice and fun) but odd in shape and you should potentially ask about th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dudeskewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Dudeskewl,
Thank you for letting us know that you relish your stay with us. We are very proud to hear that our staff did all to make your time with us most enjoyable and that you have been satisfied with our location, rooms and breakfast. The next time you are in town we look forward to seeing you again in our hotel. Warmest regards Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

A previous reviewer sums it up well: perfectly comfortable. We stayed for two nights. Pro: friendly service and a clean room. Cons: an area of Munich just outside the alt-stadt, and overflowing with tourists. The hotel is hard to find, and we drove in circles before jumping out of the car and asking for the entrance. The area, as others have noted, is LOUD and while the windows are excellent, they need to be permanently closed to avoid a massive amount of street noise and drunks yelling all night. For American tourists- this area is similar to Times Square in NY. If that's your type of area in NY, you'll be happy here. If you want a more tranquil or reflective setting look elsewhere. The owners do win the award for greatest website photo/ real experience disparity.

In terms of decor and service: this is no luxury hotel, and the rooms are sparse but comfortable and clean. I was surprised that the 330 Euros we paid didn't purchase more for the money. Breakfast was very nice, served in the bar area. The halls are very dim and are illuminated with black light.

This hotel's not really our bag, but many other people would find this hotel just fine. Not sure that the cost/delivery is all there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gate95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Gate95,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our service and breakfast. You are right that for arrival by car the entrance of our hotel is not that easy to find as it is located in a pedestrian precinct. We recommend in our written confirmation to enter "Bayerstrasse 1" as destination address into the navigation system so you will be guided to our garage which is directly next to our hotel. Due to our central position (as you mentioned in your comment) noise from outside is sometimes not avoidable. However most of our guests really enjoy being downtown and able to walk to the main sights and shopping area. We regret if we did not meet entirely your expectation on our hotel. Though we hope to welcoming you again in the future. Best regards Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

From the Hauptbahnhof walk down through the underpass to the pedestrianised Schutzenstrasse and the hotel entrance is fifty metres down the street to your right.
Reception is friendly, there is a very large Bar. Your electronic key will access the lift which will whisk you to your well-appointed room quick-smart.
Going into town ? Dive into the underpass to the south of the hotel and you emerge on the pedestrianised Neuhauserstrasse which takes you straight to the hot and happening Marienplatz, the city's main square.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butlerhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia S, Assistant Director of Sales at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Butlerhenderson,
thank you very much for your comments and observations following your recent visit to the anna hotel.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could satisfy and convince on our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best regards
Anna-Maria Kaiser and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed for five nights. Arrived in torrential rain and had trouble locating the hotel as it was not very obvious from outside. The room we were given was rather sparse. I was surprised at lack of space for clothing, no drawers at all, just six hangers for the two of us. Had to keep almost everything in the bottom of the half length wardrobe.
The waiter at breakfast was lovely, always welcomed us by name and took time to ask about our day.
We only ate at the hotel one evening as my daughter wanted to try the sushi, which was an experience, but not one I wanted to repeat as it was just too much fish. The bar was buzzing and it was difficult to order a drink.
Throughout our stay when going through reception we were never acknowledged, until we were booking out. Then a smiling receptionist offered a bottle of water to take with us (must be the money talking !)
Hotel was okay, nothing special but a good location to see the sights and access the trains.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBeamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socialex, Assistant Director of Sales at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear LondonBeamer,

we would like to thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with your daughter at out anna hotel. We regret that we could not meet your expectations on our property entirely.
Please note that the water offered at check out is a complimentary present from the hotel which does of course not excuse that you were never acknowledged before.
Thank you for having stayed with us and your valuable comments; we would be more than happy to get the chance to welcoming you and your daughter back in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards

Anna-Maria Kaiser and the Team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#21 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#68 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#10 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#36 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Hotel

Property: Anna Hotel
Address: Schuetzenstr. 1, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Munich
#32 Family Hotel in Munich
#35 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#35 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#50 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Anna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "anna hotel" and its "anna next door" are located in the middle of the city centre of Munich, directly at the famous Karlsplatz/ Stachus. The hotel provides 75 exclusive rooms including the luxury Tower suite on the upper floor. The round balcony on the 6th floor offers a great view over Munich, the Frauenkirche and the magnificent palace of justice. The apartment "anna next door" is unique in the hospitality industry. Its own design is characterized not only by modern furniture as an iPod-Docking station or a flat screen-TV in the restroom but also by a kitchen and a free standing overflow bathtub. The 2 minutes walking distance to the hotel is highly appreciated by the guests. The hotel combines modern design with grace and comfort, which is emphasized by the membership of Lifestylehotels and awarded by the renowned magazine "Architektur & Wohnen" as one of the 100 best Design hotels in Europe. The "anna restaurant", a central hot-spot, is appreciated by the hotel guests and the locals for its modern restaurant concept, the individual service, the euro-asiatic cuisine and for a broad selection of cocktails. Due to its special ambience the "anna restaurant" offers the perfect event location for up to 180 persons ("anna rondell" for up to 30 guests). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing