We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anna Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Anna Hotel
Ranked #63 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

Clean, modern, good location. Rooms a decent size.

Can be a wee bit noise if you are on the side with the trams and the restaurant is OK but nothing to write home about

Very good atmosphere in the bar/ restaurant area in the evenings.

Very good value for the price and better than most in this category.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamGportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    251
    79
    19
    13
See reviews for
82
273
45
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

The Anna Hotel is a perfectly passable 4* city hotel. The location is within 10-15mins of the centre of the old town and is very convenient for the main train station and the metro system. The staff were friendly and efficient and the standard room was clean, sizeable and well appointed. The only glitch in this regard was a broken window blind (it only went up on one side) and the ipod cable to plug into the radio (jack was the wrong size). Neither worth fussing about really. Breakfast was good although you have to discover "by chance" that cooked options are available as there are no menus put out. Hmmm.

One the downside it's not exactly what one might describe as characterful. There's no real reception area and being a public bar and restaurant there's not much by way of private space there either. Only staying one night this wasn't a big deal but I can imagine it being annoying during longer stays. Also mentioned by other reviewers is the noise level. We were on the 5th floor and it was noticeable but not excessive. This is so subjective and depends heavily on your expectations going in - this is, after all, a city center hotel!

On balance this is a great spot for a weekend trip if you're looking for somewhere to use as a base from which to explore the city. I'd go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlimTim72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2009

stayed her for a week on business panorama suite excellent room except for the public balcony where idiots could walk past at midnight. good breakfast and attentive staff.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2009

My husband, young daughter and I recently had a four night stay at the Anna Hotel Munich. I had booked a Tower Room @ EURO 225 per night for the duration of our stay but unfortunately upon arrival and room allocation I had to ask for another room. The Tower Room on Level 1 is indeed without a doubt the noisiest hotel room of that category that I have ever come across. All of the Tower Rooms are located directly above two tram lines and a busy pedestrian subway escalator. The room was definately not sound proof. The room also did not resemble the website photos. Upon my request we were then moved to a lovely suite on the 6th floor for an additional EURO 25 which unfortunately was only available for two of our four night stay, we then had to move rooms once again - all very annoying as we were travelling through Germany for a whole month and really didn't need an additional move. Rollaways are also not usually allowed in the 6th floor suites due to hardwood flooring, so you can't book these suites if you require an extra bed. The staff are helpful, the included breakfast very nice and the free mini-bar a nice touch. However, if you are planning a stay at the Anna make sure you ask for a quiet room or stay in a Tower Room and run the risk of having a sleep deprived holiday!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Standard of room was not as depicted on website.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polyxenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

The hotel is centrally located- just a few steps from the main street and attractions. There are a lot of shops and cafes near the hotel. This is very convenient.
I liked the room, though it was not very big but with modern interior, comfortable huge bed, TV and a large bathroom with a huge window. There is personal climate control in the room and WIFI, but WIFI works very seldom! I was lucky to use it only one day. During other days there was always no connection.
I disliked the breakfast. Cappucino was good, but there was not a wild range of food, no hot snacks, sausages, fried eggs or smth. Every day the same: only ham, cheese, jam, bread and youghurt. I think this is not a sufficient breakfast for a 4 stars hotel and for such a price,
In the evening the hotel restaurant is also open and is very popular among locals. Smoking is forbidden everywhere.
Service is OK, but when i was checking out the receptionists tried to withdraw from my credit card the double sum. They said it was a mistake because they have already taken the payment for the hotel when I was checking in! (But they should freeze it !!)
So be careful with the payment by credit card! (especially if the bank is not european), it took the receptionists half an hour to found their mistake! And only the chief manager helped the receptionists to solve a problem.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria27Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2008

Was there for a weekend in September 08. Booked a so-called "Turmzimmer" which is billed as one of their better rooms somewhere between their standard rooms and their suites.

Location was good, only 5 mins walk from main railway station on a mostly pedestrianised street so no traffic unless you count the annoying street band playing their hearts out on the street on Sat night!

The size of the room was great, the small internal "hallway" useful and the bathroom clean and large. The interior design of the room itself was not in keeping with my expectations though - strange furniture which looked as if it had just been dumped in there; the TV was a tiny portable far more suited to a student bedsit with no movie channels in English. Bed was comfortable but unironed duvet covers didn't look the part.

The main problem with this hotel is that the owners have spent so much time worrying about being boutique and designer that they have taken their focus off the important fundamentals of customer service. The staff at reception were helpful but the waiting on staff in the restaurant and bar were a pretty charmless, unfriendly, unflexible bunch. It took an age to get served (!), menus were never on the table when I sat down and the speed of service after placing an order took SO long. Other reviewers have commented on the quality of the breakfast but I found it to be totally unsatisfatory in quality and in choice for the money I was paying. Really disappointing actually. No soya milk either which, for someone allergic to dairy, was a problem. There was only sparkling water in my mini-bar and no wine at all. As a result, no wine glasses in the room which I had to ask for after I took my unfinished bottle of wine back up to my room.

All in all, I was left feeling that it just wasn't worth the money and I have to say I wouldn't book again. Sorry Anna hotel!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank markedin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2008

We stayed at the Anna hotel last September on our honeymoon, as we visited Oktoberfest. The location is great, right in the middle of it all, and so easy to get on the train and go anywhere you want in Munich.

Breakfast was great, the mini bar in the room is free, and while the room was a bit small, the decor was very modern and simple, and the shower was AMAZING!

Wonderful for the price.

  • Liked — location was great for price
  • Disliked — the tiny 2 person elevator!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey2581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#70 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#22 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#10 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.7 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Hotel

Property: Anna Hotel
Address: Schuetzenstr. 1, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Munich
#32 Family Hotel in Munich
#35 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#36 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#50 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Anna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "anna hotel" and its "anna next door" are located in the middle of the city centre of Munich, directly at the famous Karlsplatz/ Stachus. The hotel provides 75 exclusive rooms including the luxury Tower suite on the upper floor. The round balcony on the 6th floor offers a great view over Munich, the Frauenkirche and the magnificent palace of justice. The apartment "anna next door" is unique in the hospitality industry. Its own design is characterized not only by modern furniture as an iPod-Docking station or a flat screen-TV in the restroom but also by a kitchen and a free standing overflow bathtub. The 2 minutes walking distance to the hotel is highly appreciated by the guests. The hotel combines modern design with grace and comfort, which is emphasized by the membership of Lifestylehotels and awarded by the renowned magazine "Architektur & Wohnen" as one of the 100 best Design hotels in Europe. The "anna restaurant", a central hot-spot, is appreciated by the hotel guests and the locals for its modern restaurant concept, the individual service, the euro-asiatic cuisine and for a broad selection of cocktails. Due to its special ambience the "anna restaurant" offers the perfect event location for up to 180 persons ("anna rondell" for up to 30 guests). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing