We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 days in Munich with the lads” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Der Tannenbaum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Der Tannenbaum
Ranked #352 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Essex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5 days in Munich with the lads”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Found this hotel, perfect for us guys, out all day sightseeing...
Coming back to get changed for evening out.
Spent 5 days here, without any problems.
Good location, good rooms, found staff ok, answered any questions we needed to know.
Breakfast basic but good enough.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    22
    9
    7
    10
See reviews for
13
10
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Like most traditional pensions or German hotels, the hotel is really only to sleep and dress, so there aren't a lot of frills, but this was still quite comfy. Free continental breakfast every morning with really good coffee and fresh baked breads. Perfect place to recharge once the construction next door quits. Makes napping midday harder, but who would nap in Munich?!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoscba85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

It is in the Munich's Old Town, near the antique Roman Gate, in two steps from St. Mary's Church and the Town Hall. A big room with a bad and a little bit shabby leather sofa. LSD TV on the wall. 2 windows face the sunny street. A very hearty breakfast with fantastic coffee. There is a summer restaurant close to the hotel, very still and cosy. If you are a tourist for couple of days in Munich-this hotel is for you. Very good service for money.
We had the only inconvenience looking for the key late night-it was at the reception of another hotel in the nearest street, difficult to find at night.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lepilov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed here with two kids in a medium-sized family-friendly room with a comfortable fold-out double bed for the kids. Tannenbaum failed to honor the room and rate we originally reserved, but the room we got was comfortable, clean, and pleasant, and still a pretty good value. The location was convenient to Marienplatz but quiet, and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

I booked 3 rooms through Venere for 2 days and reconfirmed 2 weeks before we left. When we got there they told us that Venere had cancelled all reservations because they owed Der Tannenbaum a lot of money. I had not prepaid the hotel and told her that I would be paying directly to them. Venere never contacted me as she said they must have. They then said it was no problem they had 3 rooms but the cost would be $99 eu a night. We agreed to that and checked in. About 10:30 that night someone called one of our party and told them there had been a mistake and the price was $199 per night. She wanted to call him back and asked for a number. He said he would call in the morning. We never heard from him. The desk had no idea who had called but said there was no problem. Sure enough when we checked out the rate was $199 per night that had been written on the registration form we had signed We did not know that there was a price block but they added the amount after. No arguing would work. So, they didn't honor the price I had from Venere or the price they quoted us. I'm calling Venere but figure this is probably a lost cause because we signed a form that we didn't know was going to be altered.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank rockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed during the Christmas markets the weekend after Thanksgiving.I had read previous reviews so when we arrived I knew that I would check in at one location but the hotel was around the corner. I had booked the room through hotels.de and found a great rate for Christmas market season. I later received and email that the rate was a mistake (only 49 Euros)., but the hotel agreed to honor it. Our room was clean, quiet and the bathroom had a window that opened up and looked onto the rooftops and a nearby church steeple. What a view!

The location is great. Only a few blocks from the Marienplaz. Only bad thing is the lack of parking. You have to find a spot on the streets.

The hotel staff was excelletn. I needed access to a computer and they allowed me to use one of theirs in their office and didnt charge me the normal usage fee. Breakfast was an awsome european breakfast with fresh rolls, cheese, yogurts and coffee. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skubachick4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

We were planning to stay for a weekend, but when Munich airport shutdown we ended up staying for a week. The rooms were clean, well lit, and the beds were comfortable. There was no noticeable noise from the street, apart from what you'd expect in any city. Breakfast was very good! A good location for transport, restaurants, and tourism. Staff understanding of customer service was variable, ranging from minimal plus to excellent. We made sure to talk to the most helpful staff!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pwallace650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Herzog Wilhelm
Hotel Herzog Wilhelm
#341 of 381 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlanta
Hotel Atlanta
#255 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanthushotel
Acanthushotel
#238 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Asam Stadthotel
Asam Stadthotel
#242 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.0 mi away
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Der Tannenbaum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Der Tannenbaum

Property: Hotel Der Tannenbaum
Address: Kreuzstr. 18, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Der Tannenbaum 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our reception you find at our main entrance: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 23 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Der Tannenbaum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Tannenbaum Hotel
Der Tannenbaum Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing