We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oktoberfest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Der Tannenbaum
Ranked #354 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oktoberfest”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Positive: Good location

Negative: No free wifi (MyCloud Wifi not to stable and 9.95EUR/day ). The parking is far away and costs expensive (20.00EUR/day), and no place to park for some minutes to unload/load a luggage. Rooms/bathrooms are very small, not perfectly clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Csaba C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    22
    9
    7
    10
See reviews for
13
10
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here last August and had booked in for five nights. We arrived late at night about 11.30 as soon as we pulled up in the taxi and saw the bad area I wanted the taxi driver to keep driving.. The hotel staff where non existent. The reception and the lift put me in mind of some cheap horror /porn flick. Our room (and the whole place ) was dirty, run down and shabby. Had it not been for the late hour we would have left immeadiately. Breakfast was surprisingly good. We left straight after breakfast after no sleep thanks to the singing and fighting drunks/tramps on the little patch of grass just outside. We did not go back!!!!! Avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Essex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Found this hotel, perfect for us guys, out all day sightseeing...
Coming back to get changed for evening out.
Spent 5 days here, without any problems.
Good location, good rooms, found staff ok, answered any questions we needed to know.
Breakfast basic but good enough.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Like most traditional pensions or German hotels, the hotel is really only to sleep and dress, so there aren't a lot of frills, but this was still quite comfy. Free continental breakfast every morning with really good coffee and fresh baked breads. Perfect place to recharge once the construction next door quits. Makes napping midday harder, but who would nap in Munich?!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoscba85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2010

It is in the Munich's Old Town, near the antique Roman Gate, in two steps from St. Mary's Church and the Town Hall. A big room with a bad and a little bit shabby leather sofa. LSD TV on the wall. 2 windows face the sunny street. A very hearty breakfast with fantastic coffee. There is a summer restaurant close to the hotel, very still and cosy. If you are a tourist for couple of days in Munich-this hotel is for you. Very good service for money.
We had the only inconvenience looking for the key late night-it was at the reception of another hotel in the nearest street, difficult to find at night.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lepilov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed here with two kids in a medium-sized family-friendly room with a comfortable fold-out double bed for the kids. Tannenbaum failed to honor the room and rate we originally reserved, but the room we got was comfortable, clean, and pleasant, and still a pretty good value. The location was convenient to Marienplatz but quiet, and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

I booked 3 rooms through Venere for 2 days and reconfirmed 2 weeks before we left. When we got there they told us that Venere had cancelled all reservations because they owed Der Tannenbaum a lot of money. I had not prepaid the hotel and told her that I would be paying directly to them. Venere never contacted me as she said they must have. They then said it was no problem they had 3 rooms but the cost would be $99 eu a night. We agreed to that and checked in. About 10:30 that night someone called one of our party and told them there had been a mistake and the price was $199 per night. She wanted to call him back and asked for a number. He said he would call in the morning. We never heard from him. The desk had no idea who had called but said there was no problem. Sure enough when we checked out the rate was $199 per night that had been written on the registration form we had signed We did not know that there was a price block but they added the amount after. No arguing would work. So, they didn't honor the price I had from Venere or the price they quoted us. I'm calling Venere but figure this is probably a lost cause because we signed a form that we didn't know was going to be altered.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank rockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Train
Hotel du Train
#344 of 383 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlanta
Hotel Atlanta
#276 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanthushotel
Acanthushotel
#240 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Asam Stadthotel
Asam Stadthotel
#229 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#47 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Der Tannenbaum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Der Tannenbaum

Property: Hotel Der Tannenbaum
Address: Kreuzstr. 18, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #354 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Der Tannenbaum 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our reception you find at our main entrance: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 23 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Der Tannenbaum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Tannenbaum Hotel
Der Tannenbaum Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing