We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid This Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Der Tannenbaum
Ranked #325 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 23 July 2008

This place is associated with another hotel, a basic flophouse. When we arrived, they told us that there had been an 'accident', that our reservation at the Tannenbaum could not be honored because they had overbooked, but we could stay at the other hotel. I left immediately. The lobby smelled bad and looked worse. Could have been a disaster. We switched to another hotel nearby, the Exquisit. A much nicer place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
Thank canyonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Der Tannenbaum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Der Tannenbaum from March 14 through the 18th and the 20th through the 21st. Overall we had a great experience.

Location: The hotel is not as close to Marienplatz as is indicated on the website, though the distance is not terrible. The hotel is just off of Sendlingerstrasse, which is the road that you take to Marienplatz. There are U-bahn stops at both Marienplatz and Karlsplatz. The one at Karlsplatz is slightly closer than Marienplatz. We are from Southern California, and therefore not accustomed to the cold, snow, and rain. The walk did seem like torture at times, but I'm sure that the walk would have been much more pleasant if it were nicer outside. Around the hotel were great shops, bakeries, and eateries. If you are facing the front of the hotel, there is a club attached to the right of the hotel. It is open very late and there are people that congregate outside and cause some noise. This was not bothersome to us at all, but may cause a problem when the windows need to be opened in the summer.

Property: The hotel is basic, but very clean and comfortable. The beds are soft, and the duvets were very warm. The heat worked very well (thank goodness), and the windows opened if it got too hot. The bathroom had a towel warmer which we loved. The room was huge by European standards. There was a full sized bed (which consisted of 2 twins pushed together), two night stands, a desk, and television. There was also ample storage space.

Breakfast: The breakfast was great and the hostesses were very nice. The spread included an espresso maker, juices, coffee, water, tea, meats and cheeses (including fresh mozzarella in water), fresh veggies, fresh fruit, fruit cocktail, yogurt, breads, pretzels, pastries, and a variety of spreads for the breads and pretzels. Breakfast lasts until 10am, but they don't usually replenish the food after about 9:15am.

Service: We arrived at the hotel at about 9:00am. It was too early to check in, but they were kind enough to allow us to check in 2 hours early (at 12). We went to Salzburg for a couple of days and upon returning back to the Tannenbaum, we were upgraded to the "apartment" or "suite", which was huge. It had two bedrooms, each with full beds and tvs, plenty of closet space, and a couch and table. This room was huge, and could comfortably fit four to five guests. The staff were very friendly, and offered us maps of the city and tour information.

Overall the Tannenbaum was perfect for our needs. I would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpcheer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2008

We stayed for a single night for a very reasonable price (82€ for a double).
The room was nice and clean, with a nice bathroom with shower and 6 towels and tv (free and pay-tv) and the whole building has been renovated recently i presume. Breakfast was included and the real big deal is its central position. I go to Munich almost every year and always slept in non-central hotels for a little less money than this. Definetly a great discovery.
The only two negative aspects were the lack of a refrigerator inside the room and the lack of a garage, so you are forced to park in the street or in the underground parking near the hotel (in each case you have to pay something like 20€/24h). Not a big drawback anyway, since this zone is very safe and Munich is one of the safest big cities in the world.
The hotel is located 15 minutes from Marienplatz by foot and 2 minutes from the near underground station.

Important: the check-in is done in the near Herzog-Wilhelm Hotel's reception.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank voivod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2008

At first I was not sure, you had to check in at a hotel around the corner, no biggie. This place was perfect for us. We had our extended family meeting in Munich for the Christmas markets. Hotel was perfect. Location: close to markets and U Bahn stop (you can take a train from the airport to within about two blocks of this hotel with one easy transfer). Breakfast was one of the better ones I had in several years of traveling in the EU. Price was very fair. We will stay there next year again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rmwjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

We arrived at this hotel around 10 pm. The only problem is that you have to check in around the corner at another hotel. The man working the front desk was very nice, and walked us to the McDonald's a few blocks away on his way home that night. We were very lucky to have Peter working that night, otherwise we would have had trouble! The room was nice and spacious (we are a family of 5), and it was located just a few blocks away from the Marienplatz. It is a great hotel!

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank smashley007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

Other than the hot July weather (and no AC) the room was great and worked well for our family of four. Few hotels in Munich are large enough to accept more than three without two rooms, so it worked out economically for us. The location is about 500m from the Marionplatz S-Bahn station so travel was also easy. One night the restaurant below had crowd of laughing/drinking/smoking patrions which was only an issue because we needed the windows open to stay cool. Don't worry about the key situation... just follow the signs on the doors and its no problem. Room quality was good with a tiny show in the bathroom. Great morning breakfasts in a cheery setting.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TomJ-SiliconValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2006

For those arriving by public transport, the hotel is very near to the Sendlinger Tor U-Bahn station. Sendlinger Tor can also be reached by tram from the Hauptbahnhof. Der Tannenbaum does not have its own reception but shares one with the Hotel Herzhog Wilhelm, the entrance to which can be found in Herzhog Wilhelm Strasse. Go to the Herzhog Wilhelm first to register and collect your room key. The room key also opens the front door to Der Tannenbaum; the front door to the hotel can be found on Kreuzstasse, directly behind the eponymous restaurant. On the subject of the restaurant, we took lunch there immediately on our arrival. It's a decent very traditional German restaurant. The hotel is well situated, with most of the central sights within easy walking distance. For those disinclined to walk, the public transport system provides comprehensive cover and is frequent. For opera enthusiasts, both of the opera houses - the National Theater and the Theater am Gartnerplatz - are just a short walk away. The only downside is that the street in which the hotel is situated can be a bit noisy - it seems that small hours revellers use it as a route home.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Freischutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Train
Hotel du Train
#342 of 385 in Munich
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlanta
Hotel Atlanta
#267 of 385 in Munich
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanthushotel
Acanthushotel
#238 of 385 in Munich
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Am Sendlinger Tor
Am Sendlinger Tor
#356 of 385 in Munich
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centro Hotel Mondial
Centro Hotel Mondial
#259 of 385 in Munich
409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Falkenturm
Hotel Falkenturm
#297 of 385 in Munich
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Der Tannenbaum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Der Tannenbaum

Address: Kreuzstr. 18, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £77 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Der Tannenbaum 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our reception you find at our main entrance: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 23 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Der Tannenbaum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Tannenbaum Hotel
Der Tannenbaum Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing