We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An extremely friendly staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Prinzregent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Prinzregent
Ranked #34 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“An extremely friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Really a fantastic staff. The hotel itself is also very good even it is not close to Munich downtown.
Meanwhile it takes 20 min only by train to get to the city center and the station is 5 min walking time only.
The breakfast is outstanding with a various selection of local specialities.
Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirillIvanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    85
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
86
6
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Praslin Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed at this great hotel this past weekend and were very happy that we had chose it. Our decision to visit Munich was very last minute. We decided to go away this weekend on Friday night and this was one of the few hotels available at such short notice. We booked a suite as we were travelling with our 3 year old son. Everything was perfect. His bed was a wide sofa bed in the living room and we could have some privacy due to a sliding door between the living area and the bedroom. The bathroom was nice and clean with good toileteries. The bedroom in the suite came with a DVD player which would have been ideal for my son, except we were always out and about. It will be a good plus in Winter!

The hotels underground parking costs 12 Euros, but there were lots of safe places on the street outside the hotel. We parked there for free.

Everyone speaks about the breakfast. They are right, it is tasty. The omelettes are divine, and for the first time ever I enjoyed scrambled eggs in a hotel! I wish I could have some now! They have pastry, bread, smoked fish and fresh sliced vegetables, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, choice of omelettes, fried eggs, scrambled eggs made to order ( with a choice of veggies or bacon/ham), Fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt, jam and honey.They also have a juice bar and wine in addition to the normal tea, coffee and milk selections. They even had tabasco sauce - that made my day!

Dinner was very tasty too but a little bit pricey. Worth every penny though so do give it a try. The staff was exellent. If I remember correctly the lady who served us on Sunday night was Steffi. She was so professional and kind, checking on us unobtrusively and making great suggestions of wine to go with the food. I tried the non-alcoholic "juice-wine" and it was really nice. A very nice concept as many people do not drink alcohol.

One last thing, the hotel is not in the centre of Munich, but it does not need to be. 8 minutes walking takes you to the train station and you get to Marienplatz, Munich city centre in 15 minutes. You do not need to change any trains to get there. We timed it, and we were walking with a child so we took more time than normal. Being outside the city centre has its perks: safe free parking, less crowds and the peace! So don´t let the "distance" turn you away.

All members of staff were genuinely kind and we wish to thank you all for making this weekend so wonderful. We loved Munich and we would like to go back. If we do, we will definitely stay at the Prinz Regent hotel.

The Prado family

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

This hotel is a real gem. All the staff were attentive and ready to help; from the receptionist, through the chamber maids to the restaurant staf. The hotel is special, the room was well equipped (with underfloor heating in the bathroom - a nice touch!) and the fixtures and fittings are in extremely good taste. The breakfast was superb and was only bettered by eating in restaurant one evening - truly excellent food.
My wife and I were on a pre-Christmas break to see the famous Munich Christmas Markets but didn't want to stay in a busy city hotel. We wanted a comfortable, peaceful hotel in which to relax and we got it! And the hotel is less than 5mins from an S-Bahn station (line S2) - you are in the city in ~15 mins. We will be back (and I've not even mentioned the Spa!)

Room Tip: whether on business or pleasure go for a suite - bags of room to spread out and relax (or work in co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

If you're looking for a good hotel near the ICM Messe convention center in Munich, this one is really good. Its definitely on the outskirts of Munich with not a ton to do in the area so I wouldn't recommend it for visiting Munich unless you're just stopping through.

Location: quiet area on east edge of Munich, 10 min. walk to the convention center, 15 to a fairly big shopping mall with some food. 5-10 min. walk to the Riem S-bahn train station. About 25 min. by S-bahn to Marienplatz (Munich center). About 30 min. from Munich airport by taxi.

Hotel: typical small German hotel, nice decorations and very friendly staff. I guess they all speak English, but since I can speak some German, I typically spoke in German. Restaurant in the hotel.

Breakfast: Great! Really good breads, smoked salmon, yogurts, eggs, fruits, meats and cheeses. You can also order some made to order things like omelets.

Room: decent size, bed is a bit hard for my taste, but I slept well so maybe I subconsciously like harder beds than I would guess. Clean, well decorated and SUPER quiet (just be sure to close the rolling shutters). TV is just a regular CRT, but lots of channels.

Bathroom: typical small bathroom with small shower only, but very clean and bright and everything in good condition.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HiHoHiHoRDU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here on the second leg of our honeymoon and we thought that of the six hotels we stayed at during the entire trip, this one was one of the best.
The room was great with a large bed and a great bathroom. The hotel staff was very helpful in helping us find our way downtown and to locations all over Munich. They also have a great breakfast buffet and their restaurant was very nice as well.
Despite how far away this hotel is from downtown Munich, we will only stay here any time we come back to Munich. This was a great hotel and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed at the Prinzregent for one night during a tour of Bavaria in August 2011 and our overall impression was very favourable
Liked
1. The Hotel is modern, elegant and clean with a Bavarian style interior
2. The Rooms, Reception Area & Dining Area are all very well presented
3. The Hotel has a lovely Garden Area for eating and drinking
4. All the staff are friendly and helpful
5. There are nearby train links to Munich (approx 3 mins walk away to the train station and 6 stops to Munich)
6. If you "go around the block" at the back of the hotel you will find a lovely area with Church, Italian Restuarant and a few Bavarian style houses
7. The Breakfast Buffet was exceptional with a wide variety of choices from cereals, cold meats, various cheeses, biscuits, cakes and pastry to hot food such as sausages, bacon & egg
Disliked
1. There is not much to do of an evening. There is only an Italian and Greek Restuarant near the hotel and a cafe opposite and the hotel does not provide any evening entertainment thou there is a bar and the garden area is open of an evening. As we were only here for one night it didn't really bother us too much.
2. The Restuarant prices were slightly expensive. We had a meal consisting of lamb, pototaoes and veg that came to just over 20 Euros. Whilst the lamb and accompaning sauce was very nice, the potatoes and veg were very under cooked
3. We could only find one channel on the TV in our room that was in English (CNN)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RUUDBOY09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We only stayed there for one night on our way from Rothenburg to Fussen, but the hotel was great. Very convenient, comfortable rooms, nice bar and very good food at the restaurant/bar. We rolled in in the late afternoon after a long day and had a blast at the bar. Didn't seem much of Munich, but we very much enjoyed our night at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalibuTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
7.9 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
7.1 mi away
angelo by Vienna House Munich Westpark
6.6 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
K+K Hotel am Harras
K+K Hotel am Harras
#21 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen Messe
Novotel Munchen Messe
#56 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Brack
Hotel Brack
#47 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prinzregent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prinzregent

Property: Hotel Prinzregent
Address: Riemer Str. 350, 81829 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Prinzregent 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Prinzregent is a four-star-superior hotel with a high modern standard of comfort, combined with the charm and the personality and tradition of a family-run house: your lovely home in Munich. The hotel provides exclusively furnished 91 country-style rooms (single / comfort single room, double room, junior suite, suite, studios, family room and special equipped woman rooms) with soundproofed windows, air conditioning and free Wi-Fi. The hotel is located only 10 minutes from the city center of Munich) by car or S-Bahn (city rail). The hotel is in walking distance to the Messe exhibition grounds. The Restaurant Prinzregent offers Bavarian cuisine and mediterranean specialities, recommended by prestigious guides. You can also look forward to the cosy 'Kaminstüberl' lounge, the beer garden with its old chestnut trees, and the terrace in the inner courtyard and the Prinzregent Bar. Guests can relax in the spacious wellness area, featuring a Finnish sauna, bio sauna, steam bath, and chill-out room. There is also a well-equipped fitness room. This hotel is a eco friendly and carbon neutral hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Prinzregent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing