We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience!”
Review of Hotel Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #222 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good experience!”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed here three nights during Oktoberfest 2011 so prices were pretty steep but we had a good experience! Our room was newly renovated and everything was very clean. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The neighborhood is a bit skeezy but it is close to the train station and there are some great doner kabab places nearby where you can get a good, cheap meal! We could easily walk to Oktoberfest and the Marienplatz from our room which was a nice bonus as well!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly32678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    122
    56
    19
    13
See reviews for
33
72
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Great location - 1 minute walk from one of the exits of the main train station. Escalator takes you up as well - that means if you've got roll on luggage, can pull on the escalator - which goes 2 ways.

Loved the location as the trains were the local trains as well as the international train station. Easy to move around within Munich & also take the train to other cities. I took the train to Salzburg for a day trip & the proximity to the train station made it so convenient that I didn't need to wake up extra early or arrive super late back at the hotel.

The rooms are clean - request for rooms not facing the road - the first night, I was kept awake as there is a sports bar across the road & there was a football match, so couldn't get any sleep as I'm a light sleeper. Requested to change rooms the next day & thankfully, got a room with no view but it was quiet.

Kettle is provided.

Room Tip: Request for room facing the inside if you want a quiet rest at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasmine_yeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I stayed 2 nights after a business trip and it went well. The neighborhood is a little scuzzy (casinos, strip clubs, train station) but there are also many things open late. I would definitely stay there again if the prices were at the same level as other nearby hotels. Front desk staff was very helpful.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mrosenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The hotel rooms are nice, and it is renovated beautifully comparing to the price.
But, there was no internet in our room. there was simply no signal, only in the hall. this was very important for us and we wanted to change the room. no other room was available.
We then agreed with the person at the from desk that we will be able to surf the internet from the hall without extra charge, but when checking out - we were asked to pay! the desk guy argued with us and was very impatient. that was not pleasant at all.
The rooms are not very clean, beneath the bed there is tons of dust, the window was small, and the cups and coffee was not cleaned and refilled every day.
Location is close to center, but the neighborhood is not so good, not for the sensitive soul.
bottom line - I am not coming back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blink188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

You would not expect this to be such a stylish place from the look of the other seedy establishments near by but we were very pleased with the room and breakfast room.
A stones throw from the train station, metro and trams makes it a great base to go out exploring the city from. The triple was a bit tight so try to go for twins if possible.

There is not much else on offer at this hotel apart from bed and breakfast but it is good deal which leaves money for german beer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MixMasterMoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

This was a great wee place to stay. You couldn't swing a cat in the room but there was a sort of ante-room area split off by a chalet-style beam with table and desk, leading into bathroom. It has a kind of alpine theme with frieze of skiers on the wall. All in all it was pretty modern and comfy if a bit cramped.

We got it on a deal for three nights and it was good value. Flat-screen TV, comfy bed and decent breakfast. All the fittings were new and it was spotlessly clean. It is a stones throw from the railway station and a 5 minute walk into town.

Strangely though, we were awoken during the night by a drunk American who somehow had got onto an adjacent roof amid a thunder storm and couldn't get off. That apart, it was a peaceful and tidy place to spend a few days. As long as the crazy guy is off the roof!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marvellousmarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Well this hotel is never going to win loads of awards, but...it does have a lot going for it. Mainly it's location, literally across the street from the train stations and no more than 5-10 mins walk into the Marienplatz, the city centre.

True that further down the road it is on is the more seedy parts of Munich, but just don't go down there if you're not interested. Simple.

My room was on the third floor and was good. Comfy bed, secure safe and a very nice ensuite, shower was awesome! The Walls are a little on the thin side but didn't bother me too much.

All in all, good quality small hotel situated perfectly to explore the city!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
#166 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#62 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.0 mi away
Drei Loewen Hotel
Drei Loewen Hotel
#103 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#233 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monaco
Hotel Monaco
#167 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#48 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Property: Hotel Helvetia
Address: Schillerstr. 6, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing