We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low budget, not far from the centre and good if travelling with a dog!”
Review of Hotel Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #209 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Low budget, not far from the centre and good if travelling with a dog!”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a few times now and can honestly say that it serves the purpose very well indeed and is great for the price. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable as well as being spacious and have clean and very practical en-suites. The hotel is not carpeted but has a good quality rubber flooring which I didn't like at first but now see the hygienic values in this as it is washable. The breakfast room overlooks the busy street below, albeit not the best of views as this hotel is not located in the most upmarket part of town, but it was interesting. Breakfast is an assortment of continental affair - salamis, hams, cheeses and hot sausages and eggs cooked in several ways with a selection of various breads. All very nice and we returned to the buffet many times. Parking is available nearby and is discounted through the hotel, but at the busiest times (we were there one time for the Christmas markets) it can be full and we had to park further away. The hotel is lovely and warm in the winter and cool in the summer and we are always greeted warmly by the very helpful staff. Its easy to reach the main part of Munich by walking, takes about 20 minutes but there are also many tram lines nearby going all over as this hotel is very close to the railway station - but you can't hear any noise at all so don't be put off.

Room Tip: Easy to walk to from the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrawbsandtheMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    122
    57
    19
    13
See reviews for
34
72
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The Helvetia is less than 3 blocks from main train station, 2 blocks from Hop On Hop Off bus stop. The room was great, wood floors, crisp, clean linens, great hot shower, large closet, in room coffee service. The hotel looks new or very recently renovated. Free use of a computer found on 2nd floor. Breakfast (9.50 euro) was well worth the convenience plus the choices were the best: bacon, eggs, rolls, pastries, cereals, fruits, and about the best cup of coffee ever. The breakfast lady is super nice. All the front desk folks speak wonderful English and are so nice about helping with directions and restaurants. We were 2 train stops from Marienplatz and once there, your stop is right in front of those famous clocks who perform at 11am, 12noon, and 5pm. Around the corner is an Apple store if you want free WiFil. No problems with the hotel neighborhood though we kept to the left and didn't venture down the other direction. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room faced an interior courtyard so no noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAWWCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

STAY PERIOD - ( 05 - 08/08/2012)

It can be said that this hotel is valued for money, the room size and toilet is small, but clean at the average level, no bad smell in room. This hotel is located very closed to the railway station,really just 5-minute walk direct from station, good for tourists who need to travel mostly by train. If anyone had booked rooms without breakfast, don't worry because you can find some place for breakfast in railway station, and price is ok. Here in this hotel, there are some amenities in room and toilet provided for guests' comfort and convenience, such as bottle of soap (that can be refilled if requested), water boiler, in-room coffee & tea and safety-box (but so pity that there is no refrigerators in room). For more pleasure that you cannot find so often in European hotels, it is that 2 bottles of water will be provided every day for guests free of charge, that 's the very nice hospitality of this hotel because you may not find in some other 5-star hotels in Europe. All in all this hotel is worthwhile for budget tourists or the ones who have spent most time on hop-on / hop-off tour. It is also safe even you walk back late in the night. One more thing that I would like to suggest, the hotel location is not far from the day-trip bus stop. I mean the gray line day-trip program, and its tourist bus stop is opposite the railway station. If anyone go to this bus stop, you can buy day trips to cities near Munich at reasonable prices with guide (also can speak English). There are about 6 - 7 day trips for your choices, and you can make decision there and buy,( for sure and safe please check online its website of grayline and make booking online) I think it is another way of day-trip choices that you can reach other cities easily and at good prices, then back to your station in Munich.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yimyaem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The hotel is located across the road from the main train station. We caught the train from the airport which was really easy - the train takes about 40 minutes. The staff at the hotel were friendly. Our room was exactly the same as the photographs of the double room on the website - basic, but clean. Our room overlooked the main road (I think most of them do) and it is a "lively" area to say the least - there is a strip club and a sports bar across the road and a number of other similar clubs down the road. I must say, we felt perfectly safe walking around late at night.

The Marienplatz is a good 10 minute walk from the hotel, but past shops etc so a nice walk. We went when the Christmas Markets were on and can not recommend going at this time of year enough. A great atmosphere and you can pick up lots of authentic Christmas presents and cute decorations.

There are plenty of places to eat out, but you are best sampling the beer halls. We ate on the Christmas Markets a few times so we could try the different local foods. We didnt eat around the hotel and usually made our way into the centre of Munich in the evening for our meal and drinks.

If you want a cheap hotel in the centre of Munich then you could do worse. You get what you pay for and the proximity to the city centre more than made up for it

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

A very nice hotel close to the train station. The staff was very helpful, especially the young woman at the front desk at night, with restaurant recommendations and suggestions for things to see. Center of the city was a short walk and trams out front go everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The location of the hotel is near to the main train station with an underground tunnel reaching almost the hotel entrance (maybe 3 units away). It come with all the basic need of a hotel. The room look and give a comfortable feel then the main lobby area. However, it does not mean that the hotel resp is not good. They provide good service. The room is moderately big and so is the toilet. The room also come with television and safe deposit box (if you need either of this or both). The hotel is equip with elevator. It also allow free storage of your luggage. We have a good night rest and have not notice any noise. The Main Railway Station is just a tunnel away. There is also a supermarket within the railway station if I rem correctly. Wifi is chargeable for this hotel on a per 24 hours basis. The only thing dislike is that the tap and the basin is very close meaning every time you wash your hand, you will sure to touch the basin wall. There should be a wider gap between the tap and basin wall.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Anyone from NYC will know what I mean when I say that this hotel is located in an area very similar to Hell's Kitchen. Numerous hotels with the sporadic strip club and cheap steakhouse. But what can I say? I wanted someplace close to Hauptbahnhof and walkable to city center at a reasonable price. Helvetia fit the bill handsomely. Great little place for the traveler on a budget.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dlvassallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
#164 of 383 in Munich
302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monaco
Hotel Monaco
#179 of 383 in Munich
491 reviews
0.0 mi away
Drei Loewen Hotel
Drei Loewen Hotel
#102 of 383 in Munich
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#63 of 383 in Munich
783 reviews
0.0 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#120 of 383 in Munich
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meier City Munich
Hotel Meier City Munich
#159 of 383 in Munich
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Property: Hotel Helvetia
Address: Schillerstr. 6, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing