We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, super friendly service personell, surroundings not so romantic”
Review of Hotel Insel Muehle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Insel Muehle
Ranked #221 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great rooms, super friendly service personell, surroundings not so romantic”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a little gem hotel in Munich. We had a huge room (#310) over two stories under roof; despite the very busy street the hotel is located on, the room was fairly quiet. There is a wooded area behind the hotel, so all the noise is coming from the busy street in front of the hotel - I would asked to be placed in a room that faces the back. Nice, bavarian style (wood panels everywhere) common areas and restaurants/bar. We loved watching the world cup there. Not the fault of the hotel, but the road getting there has gas stations, parked trailers, penny stores and alike, so the romantic part doesn't start until you enter the lobby. The staff is very friendly and professional and tries everything to make your stay memorable.

Room Tip: To the back of the hotel, facing the woods (street very busy up front)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvonruex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    35
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
14
27
6
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Spent two days in this hotel as part of a business trip and must say was impressed.
The hotel itself is very traditional and although parts of it are older they have managed to retain a high level of quality and comfort in a classic setting.
Rooms are spacious and very clean, warm and limited noise from the local roads, Bathrooms are clean and tidy if not luxurious. Everything is built and finished in a traditional manner, no stainless steel and glass everywhere.
Bar and restaurant were very welcoming, reception and restaurant staff were professional and friendly.
Unique : The hotel is built alongside a small river and the bar area is built over a part of the river, if you wish you can sit in the corner of the bar and watch the water run through the glass floor as you drink the quality local brew.

There is a very large and well equipped beer garden and I am informed that in the summer months (when not raining) this is the place to be and there are occasional outside grills to add to the experience. (I could see how this would be impressive through the rain I was experiencing).

Overall would recommend for both business and couples.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puebla, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I just came back from being in Munich from a business trip and the suggested Hotel from our partners was the Insel Mühle, the location is very convenient, good connections to the Autobahn, the rooms are very big and comfortable and was very clean. We had our business dinner at their restaurant and service and food were very good.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marcos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is my third stay at the Insel Muhle and it has always been a great experience. The hotel is in a historical building in a quiet residential area in Munich. You have easy access to the autobahn and can get to the airport by car around 20 minutes with free parking. This is normally my go to hotel prior to flying out of Munich airport after a business trip in Bavaria. You can also get into central Munich by train or car easily without the high price of a hotel downtown. Hospitality of the staff is warm and caring. Occasionally the owner's dog will wonder around and check if the guests are having a good time. The rooms are large and romantic with a Bavarian charm. Often they will upgrade you to a better room if one is available and especially if you book directly with them. The prices are more than reasonable for Munich area. During summer there is a beer garden across the stream where families bring their children to hang out enjoy a few pints/litres and some barbeque. There are also some really nice Italian restaurants in the area and hotel restaurant if you are up for some authentic German food.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmuseBouches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We spent 2 nights at Insel Mühhle and had a very good experience. It's far away from the center (25 min) but the hotel is outstanding. The idea of the hotel's design is great. We had lunch at the hotel's restaurant which was a good choice. Excellent kitchen!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorka333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel is outside Munich. Location is appropriate for business in the area but I would not stay there for a touristic visit to Munich. It is the typical German average hotel outside the large cities. Large room with not much character. Sufficiently furnished. Comfortable bed. Room was quiet as it was oriented away from the road. Large bathroom, minimalist. Breakfast conventional German. Staff correct.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huyggens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inselmuhle, Manager at Hotel Insel Muehle, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for your comment. Though we are not located in the very center, our hotel is within city limits and thus in Munich. Calling us a typical German average hotel actually hurts a little bit, our house was built in 1445 close to a preserved area and we actually always get compliments on our uniqueness. We have many leisure guests from all around the world and thus far from beeing an average business hotel. Kind regards, Insel Mühle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stayed for one night during the beer fest and had very poor service. Rooms were dirty and the beer garden we were promised was shut. Found a dead mouse where our toddler was crawling about in the room.The receptionist was uninterested and was unhappy to come and get the dead mouse. A curt apology was given. It was the most expensive hotel we stayed in on our holiday touring Germany and was the worst by far and does not merit the four stars.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank alanjmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Weichandhof
Hotel Weichandhof
#145 of 382 in Munich
77 reviews
1.2 mi away
Prinz Myshkin Parkhotel
Prinz Myshkin Parkhotel
#290 of 382 in Munich
45 reviews
1.7 mi away
WESTSIDE Hotel
WESTSIDE Hotel
#171 of 382 in Munich
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Blutenburg
Hotel Blutenburg
#282 of 382 in Munich
16 reviews
10.7 mi away
Arthotel ANA
Arthotel ANA
#185 of 382 in Munich
77 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Schleuse
Hotel Schleuse
#237 of 382 in Munich
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Insel Muehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Insel Muehle

Property: Hotel Insel Muehle
Address: Von-Kahr-Str. 87, 80999 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Munich
#87 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Insel Muehle 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Insel Muehle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing