We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beer tour- we had a wicked night”
Review of Euro Youth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Euro Youth Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here with my two friends, two other girls, all aged 19.
The hostel isn't in the nicest of areas but its in walking distance to Munich center.
The rooms are pretty average hostel rooms but they are clean and tidy and the toilets are fine, no complaints.
If you go, MAKE SURE you go on the beer tour that they offer! I'm not sure whether it was just because we had a great group, but it was one of the best nights of our lives!!! If you get a good fun group then it's seriously the best.
The tour guides are lovely and take you to a few beer halls/bars and give you some info about the history and then just let you have a great time!
You can then go back to the bar and drink the night away with the staff and other travelers. The good thing is that Wombats hostel is next door so there's double the amount of people to meet and have a great night with.
We ended our night in a crazy German club (cant remember the name) and running through the fountain in our bikinis at 3 in the morning with our new found friends.
Take my advise and go because we had a night we'll never forget and made memories and friends for life!

Room Tip: As a young girl, I'd steer clear of sharing dorms with guys, you'll just feel more comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Hostel is located in 5 min walking distance from main train station and it's close to some of the city attractions too. All of the staff were really friendly and ready to help. there's a nice bar inside the hostel which is a great place to have a drink and meet others especially after 10 it gets crowded. There were enough couches and seats in lobby to sit or relax especially you are gonna need this place before your check in and after your check out. There is electricity socket and computers with internet to use for free and a big screen to watch football for World Cup. There is a luggage room and lockers but lockers are not in the rooms. room was really clean and comfortable and the bathroom was also seem to be in good condition.There are big lockers type things inside the room too but you need have your own locks for them. Wifi was working properly inside the rooms too. you can get breakfast for 5 euros but it totally worth it because you can find a big buffet with everything and the good thing is breakfast is served till 11 so you have enough time. It seemed to be a perfect hostel, very pleasant experience for me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner as we travelled around Germany and can definitely say it was one of the top hostels we've stayed in.

Central location can't be beaten! So close to shops and restaurants with a nice fountain area where we sat and had a takeaway dinner one night. Nice feel to the area, day or night, with good transport links (not that we used the underground, we walked everywhere as it's so easy to do.)

Hostel staff were very friendly, room was nice and clean, however shower room where the toilet was really badly smelt of wee, (and not from us!.. It looked like the toilet hadn't been cleaned before we arrived) hence why I rate it 4/5. Bar that, room was clean, sheets and bedding were nice and very comfy after a long day of sight seeing.

We stayed during the opening of the World Cup, so the atmosphere in the hostel was brilliant, with the different games being shown each night on a big screen. Happy hour = €2 drinks until 9pm which you can't go wrong at!

Overall, would definitely recommend staying here :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our room was given away the first night we were supposed to stay because we didn't read the terms and conditions that we had to be there by 9pm or have already paid for the room in full... However, the staff was helpful in trying to find us another place and gave us free drinks. I'd been coming from smaller hostels, so Euro Youth Hotel seemed a little too commercialized for me. However, it was very well kept, had a fun bar and clean, comfortable rooms. Not a bad place to stay, but make sure you read what you've signed up for!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas L, Manager at Euro Youth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi Laura,
Sorry about this situation. It is clearly stated in our terms & conditions that if guests do not arrive by 4pm the bill for the first night will be charged to their credit-card. It seems that the credit-card which your group left did not work, so we sent an email and tried to call but could not contact you. Unfortunately we cannot leave reservations like this in the system as it is quite often the case that guests do not arrive, and then we are not able to recover the money for the beds. Glad you like the hostel though, and hopefully you will make it back to Munich again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I am completely satisfied with this place. For me, it is on par with the standard provided by the generator hostels. The whole building is really neat and clean. All the beds have got a socket and lamp and you get a veil for your own privacy. WiFi is fast enough without lagging. The 4.9 euro all you can eat breakfast is freaking amazing. You can't get a better breakfast in Munich at such price.

The bar section of the hostel has got a nice atmosphere going. I am not a beer chugger myself but I can sure see people having so much fun during and well over the happy hour. I was staying in the first floor and the noise was well isolated from the dorm room which is considerate to other people.

All in all, a great hostel it is.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Bar is jumping (happy hour does no harm)

Room is neat clean and spacious. I have no idea how many languages they speak on reception but English is perfect and helpful is to understate..

And a bonus is the WiFi does not need me to hold my mobile above my head at an angle of 43.25 degrees.

I spent twice the price in Luxemburg which was a nice enough place (if you discount Mr Grumpy on reception) but if you are travelling - this place works.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice staff, clean facilities, five minutes away from HBF (yay!). The room was swelteringly hot on the fifth floor and although the staff provide a fan, it just didn't help. The World Cup is also on and you can hear the extremely loud noise from several bars downstairs until the wee hours. This isn't the hostel's fault obviously, but it's something to think about if you are a noise sensitive traveler.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas L, Manager at Euro Youth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi Cara,
Thanks for taking the time to review us. Sorry about the heat in the rooms, we have had a ridiculously hot couple of weeks here in Munich. Hopefully you got some sunbathing and swimming in the river done while you were here though.
The World Cup games do make it a little loud in the bar, especially this year because of the time-difference meaning that many games start later on. We try to limit the noise by requesting that guests do not chant and sing, but if a goal is scored unfortunately we can’t expect them not to cheer.
Hopefully you will make it back here some time when the World Cup is finished to take in more of what Munich has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
10.4 mi away
Hotel Dependance Erb
Hotel Dependance Erb
#340 of 389 in Munich
18 reviews
7.1 mi away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
0.3 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#127 of 389 in Munich
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Holiday Inn Munich-South
#206 of 389 in Munich
730 reviews
0 mi away
Wombat's Munich
Wombat's Munich
#2 of 79 in Munich
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Youth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Youth Hotel

Address: Senefelderstr. 5, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Price Range: £20 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Euro Youth Hostel in Munich enjoys a great location just 100m from the main station and a few minutes from the pedestrainized city center. The hostel is housed in a beautiful old building but has modern amenities (eg free wifi in all areas). Some of the biggest attaractions of the hostel are the fantastic international atmosphere at the lively hostel bar, the friendly, helpful and multilingual staff and the bright, clean and spacious rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Euro Youth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing