We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hi”
Review of Cocoon Stachus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cocoon Stachus
Ranked #47 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Good hotel, location is very good
Staff is wonderful ,if any one go there just ask for Micky in reception he is wonderful man and he will help any one to get good information really he add value to the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chujaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Manager at Cocoon Stachus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Chujaa,
thank you for your nice feedback.
Our Cocoon Staff is very attentive and will make your stay as special as we can. We are delighted that Micky did make your stay so enjoyable. We hope to see you again very soon. Your Cocoon Stachus Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

Just returned from our second stay and are delighted to confirm that our experience was even better this time around. We loved our first stay...perfectly adequate and cozy room, great staff and a fabulous breakfast...but our second stay eclipsed even that. Upgraded to a deluxe room, which was an added bonus, we were again enchanted with the ambiance, with the facilities, and with the overall value for money offered. Wonderful hotel...firmly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirk f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We were very disappointed with this hotel. All the pictures on the website must have been from the other Hotel Cocoon in town. This one is still be remodeled, but the carpet in the hallways was gross. The rooms were old and small. The bathroom we had, had a shower with a half door and was so small we could barely wash without getting bruises on arms. The other room was quiet, but out of date. The said they had car park on their website - when we checked in they said they only had 4 spots total so we had to pay a daily fee down the street at the car ramp. Very inconvenient. Staff was not helpful in answering questions about activities.

Room Tip: One of the rooms we had was big enough for a bed only, no room for luggage - same with that bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwedishPrincess14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This hotel still seems to be a work in progress. Our room, while very small, had been renovated, but some of the corridors were unreformed and just plain dirty. I booked the hotel partly because it is supposed to have free WiFi but we could not logon from our room, only the communal areas. Each time we reported the staff member sounded sympathetic but nothing was done to fix it. The only redeeming feature was the breakfast which was really good and well worth €9.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dublin_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear dublin_boy,

We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations.
We have opened our Lifestyle Design Budget Hotel in April 2012.
The main staircase has not been refurbished yet we are expecting this to be done as soon as possible. Our reception team should have offered you a room move due to the bad Wifi Signal in your room, I do apologise that this did not happen.
I am delighted to hear though that you did enjoy our breakfast buffet.
The Cocoon Stachus Team appreciates your feedback and we do learn from every guest comment. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We, my wife and I, recently stayed in Cocoon Strachus hotel, Munich, for one week (June 24-29). This hotel is now almost completed in its restauration work. That is, this is a NEW hotel, straight in the middle of Munich.The rooms are fantastically equipped and lovely designed. The breakfast was well balanced, no "overdoing" or "extravagance". But still, as usual, to much to eat! But it all "smeckt gut"!
The service at the main desk in the entrance hall is PERFECT! Lovely people, and multi- languished too, should your "deutsch" be adequate. You will get all the help there are at the desk, whatever you requests they will help you.
We had this hotel as a base for a week and for our various excursions in Bavaria, by bus, by train etc,This hotel is perfectly located in the Munich center. Five (5) minutes walk to U-, S-ban and Trams. And to the Hauptbahnhof if you need longer trips.Ten (10) minutes walk to the Old town. What more could you want,wish and expect from a hotel in such a large city? Therefore I am pleased to recommend this hotel to everyone.
I know what I´m recommending here. After 40 years of travelling around the Tellus in my former various working positions, now retired , I know that this hotel will be a STAR!
Lars Rudström
Gothenburg
Sweden

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear Mr Rudström,

thank you for your fantastic feedback. We are delighted to hear, that you had an enjoyable stay.
We hope to welcome you and your wife back in the near future. All the Best, Your Cocoon Stachus Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Efficient and friendly check in got us to our rooms with no fuss. One room was a standard one, that was spacious, comfy and clean. The other was a signature room, with half a Birch tree trunk forming the mount for the TV/DVD and IPOD Docking station. the opposite wall had a floor to ceiling print of a Birch forest. A bench sofa with sliding table and a chair hanging from the ceiling gave the room a further "Wow" factor.

All in all, just a great space to be in.

In this room the shower had a glass wall into the vestibule, so you have to be close to your roomie!

There is secure parking underneath, at a good rate (Euro 13 per night)...it would be wise to book in advance as there are only 3 spaces and alternative parking is more like Euro 17).

We didn't breakfast here as we wanted to try the coffee shops.....although the best was actually the supermarket in the underpass towards town at the end of the street: without doubt the best cup of "english" tea we got in Germany!

The internet worked fine, bar service was quick and easy, staff helped whenever we asked.

Location is great: a short walk to the town centre and 10 mins walk from the beerfest field, or you can jog round to the stunning "English" Gardens and watch the surfers (I kid you not!) on the river.

All in all, we loved it and would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a signature room...we had 259!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f-hogan_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We had trouble finding this hotel as my iPhone map pulled up the other location and when we showed up we were informed we had a reservation at the other one. Not their fault, but just an FYI that there are two! The front desk attendants were extremely helpful and friendly and I was impressed with the service for it being an inexpensive, boutique hotel. Our room was very clean, and I loved the bright colors of the wall graphics, however, it was VERY small. This wasn't a huge issue for us since we were only staying one night, but had we stayed more than one night, I would have been feeling very claustrophobic. The breakfast buffet was absolutely fantastic and totally worth the price!!!! I believe it was 9 euros. They had hot and cold items, a variety of fresh juices and a nice espresso machine.

The location was good, centrally located to the subway and about a 15 minute walk to Marienplatz. I wasn't blown away by the location, but it was good considering the price of our room and the fact that it was in a quiet area was a bonus.

The highlight of our stay here was when we were leaving. It was raining very, very hard and we were on a tight time schedule to get to the underground train. One of the desk attendants by the name of Mickey offered to walk us to the train (since we had no clue where to go and it was pouring) WITH umbrellas! He had one umbrella over my head/suit case and another over my mother with her suitcase. He got completely soaked and had such a great attitude the whole time! We tried to give Mickey a tip and he wouldn't take it. SUCH a nice gesture and because of this I would definitely give Hotel Cocoon another try - I would just book a larger room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear Amkriss,

thank you for your feedback.
We always try to make our guests stay as memorable as possible, this is what Hotel Cocoon is all about. And Micky has done a great job. It would be great to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, your Hotel Cocoon Stachus Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Cocoon Hauptbahnhof
Cocoon Hauptbahnhof
#57 of 390 in Munich
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 390 in Munich
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#49 of 390 in Munich
444 reviews
0 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#15 of 390 in Munich
620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#42 of 390 in Munich
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoon Stachus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoon Stachus

Address: Adolf-Kolping-Str. 11, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £65 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocoon Stachus 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the lobby at the bar, from the room to the Alps, from the house door to the Oktoberfest, new ideas from your neighbours of the whole world: 69 rooms for contrarian thinkers and late risers, swift-travellers and dawn-breakers, evergreens and striplings, business people and holiday-freaks. City-located, fresh and last but not least… keep-smiling priced. Cocoon: designed with mind open for new impressions to touch your soul. Offering you nights to remember in the pumping heart of Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cocoon Stachus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing