We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cocoon Stachus
Nearby Hotels
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$114
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$109
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arthotel Munich(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$303
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$213
US$206
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$91
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (636)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveller rating
222
293
89
27
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
293
89
27
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfunky hoteldodgy locationsliding doordidn't feel unsafetrain stationwalking distance to everythingstrip clubrooms are smallcentral locationbed was comfortablemain shoppingshower roommin walklocation is greatstayed here for nightsshort staynice stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 636 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Loved the design and feel to this hotel and its laid back nature. It's definitely quirky & good for people who want something a bit different than a boring business-type hotel. Booked a three bed room and had a lovely spacious top floor room with a balcony. Only downside was the third bed was a fold up "Z" bed.
Staff were very helpful - printing off tickets for us, giving information about local places to eat and drink etc.
The breakfast was excellent, great value and choice.
Some people may find the location tricky if they're not comfortable with big city life. We had no problem coming from London and being used to walking around areas near train stations at night.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beabea98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A fantastic hotel with a great vibe and decor (particularly liked the bird songs playing in the lobby bathrooms!). We sprung for the "deluxe" room which was definitely worth it, it was really gorgeous with a large bath and interesting layout. A very unique place to stay, glad we ended our trip in this hotel :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menzir .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Looks good but pictures on booking don't match with our room. Clean room and bathroom. Chairs stinks because guest smoke there. Very noise, had not good sleep. Double bed is in fact a twin with two small separate covers. If look for cheap and design it is good.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nikolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Reservation Department at Cocoon Stachus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Nikolas D.,
thank you very much for your kind feedback. All our hotel photos show exactly the rooms we sell at the hotel.
Based on a guest survey, all our double / twin rooms are furnished with 2 single blankets rather than with 1 big one.
Our Hotel is a non smoking property so the chair should not smell at all. Of course it can be possible that some of our guests ignore our policy and start to smoke in the room.
We hope you had a pleasant stay in Munich and are looking forward to welcoem you again in the near future.
Your, Cocoon Stachus Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel is general was really cooly decorated, and we liked the room. A few cons:

- the open shower to the room was fine, but the wall that is shared between the shower and the washroom is transparent...which kind of sucks for the person in the washroom!

-the room was very hot and we had to go down twice to get it set cooler - I see another reviewer has mentioned this. It is centrally controlled by the staff as I am aware.

-the room was very trendy but obviously cheap - you couldnt really open the windows because the curtains would fall off, and it was overcrowded with hanging chairs and stuff

some pros though:

-front desk staff were friendly, helpful, and polite

-free wifi and free access to tablet in front lobby!

-quiet side street, mere minutes from the old city and same from the train station


Summary: if you get a good deal and good rates, it is a great choice because it is clean and although it is not in a popular location, if you are backpacking it is so close to the train station and the same distance to the Aldstadt.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 122Courtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel has got it all and is definitely good value for money. It has a very fresh modern feel with designer decor both in the hotel lobby, dinning room and the rooms themselves. Staff are very friendly and helpful and gave us some great tips for our stay in Munich. The rooms are very clean and have a feel of a modern studio apartment rather than a hotel room. The breakfast is a large buffet and is definitely value for money with a wide selection of both hot and cold dishes. The hotel is situated about 10mins walk from the main train station and about 20mins from the main town square (Marienplatz). We planned to explore by foot but the staff recommended that we go by bike instead. That turned out to be a great tip. We hired our bikes from the hotel directly for €10 which was cheaper than most of the local bike hire places. Overall I rate this hotel highly and would definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brucey_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews