We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Small Hotel in the Heart of Munich”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Munchner Kindl
Ranked #292 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Hotel Munchner Kindl and had a very enjoyable time. We all felt that it was an exceptional value given the unbeatable location just a block or two from the main pedestrian area. From this hotel it's a short walk to all of the downtown Munich attractions.

The rooms were well maintained, spotlessly clean and comfortably furnished. The bathrooms appeared to be modular inserts which were modern and adequate.

The lavish breakfast was included in the room price. In addition to the usual European breakfast assortment you can have eggs to order and toast.

The staff/proprietors are very helpful and very friendly. Gunter and Renate greeted us upon our arrival and were always happy to answer questions and make suggestions. The hotel has an excellent website and it was quite easy to make our reservations via email. Other travellers (and the hotel website) mention that there is no elevator/lift. This is due to the age and historic status of the building and is a small inconvenience in exchange for a superb location and wonderful hosts. Website: http://www.hotel-muenchner-kindl.de/

The hotel pub is an added bonus and is a nice place to relax after a day of sightseeing.

We would be more than happy to stay at the Hotel Munchner Kindl again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captain2ID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Good choice for a small hotel on a quiet street just a few block from the main pedestrian thoroughfare where all the action is in Munich. Only downside for us was the four flights of stairs with luggage and no lift. That aside, We passed on the breakfast so we can't say, but the stay was pleasant, the location convenient, the room large enough for four-in-a-family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefdoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We spent two nights at the Kindl with another family. Rooms were nice and clean, but hot in the evenings. The location was ideal and close to tourist sites and great restaurants. Everyone was nice and helpful, and the price was very reasonable for central Munich. We'd stay there again!

Room Tip: Lots of room for a family on the top floor. Noise not an issue. That said, the top floor didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very clean, conveniently located, friendly staff, basic breakfast in the small bar, eggs to order. This little bar closes early, around 9pm so its good for an early night cap. No elevator. Staff not in service after 9:00pm or so, so if you want to call for a taxi, make sure you get a phone number to call one.
Would stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2SeeThings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Close to Marianplatz, owner helpful with sites. Quiet and safe. No lift. Restaurant very Bavarian and neat. Good breakfasts with eggs to order. Close to UBahn (metro) stations. We arrived early and were able to leave our baggage until our rooms were ready.

Room Tip: No lift, Remember in Europe first floor is 0, 2nd floor is 1 etc. No porter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

It was a busy time in Munich, and we were lucky to have found enough rooms at this little hotel for our few rainy days. The weather was dreadful, but the hotel was just perfect for us. I'm glad to have stayed with them and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmynatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had a wonderful stay here in May 2013. Just a short walk from the Karlsplatz station on the S Bahn. Great location from which to visit the Marienplatz, local restaurants and beer gardens. Very reasonable room rate, expecially considering the great breakfast provided by Renate and the staff, who were also very helpful with directions and recommendations. If you are looking for a more traditional lodging choice in central Munich, this is definitely one to consider. We would absolutely put it on our return visit list.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlanta
Hotel Atlanta
#281 of 389 in Munich
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 389 in Munich
857 reviews
0.5 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 389 in Munich
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Holiday Inn Munich-South
#208 of 389 in Munich
729 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
18.2 mi away
Hilton Munich Airport
Hilton Munich Airport
#24 of 389 in Munich
2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Munchner Kindl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Munchner Kindl

Address: Damenstiftstr. 16, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W-Lan Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Munchner Kindl Hotel
Munchner Kindl Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing