We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Nostos - CLOSED

Nostos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We went here as the reviews have been so good on Tripadvisor. The food was fine, nothing special. I would say the menu was very limited- from a person that goes to Greek restaurants regularly I was disappointed. Service was ok, but our waiter thought he knew better than my request for no dressing on my salad. To be fair he apologized and gave us a 'free' dessert but this turned out to be something that everyone received. We had a lovely evening, but it is a reasonable distance from the centre. I'm sure they are better places to eat in Munich.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vickiandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    40
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati
Level Contributor
326 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“The service fantastic; the food as good as it gets. Bravo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Are my wife and I glad we choses Nostos for our first dinner in Munich. It was very welcoming. The waiter/owner advised us very well (try Greek water instead of sprite). The sea bream from Cephalonia done in the Ionian style was most tasty. The Santorini style fava beans appetizer was devine. Everything else was wonderful as well. Delightful retzina and some ouzo complemented the Greek water. Friendly, casual, Greek, and even very reasonable cost.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CintiKidCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Greek restaurant really worth visiting in Munich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Studied many TA restaurant reviews and luckily chose this one.

We had a reservation and were seated at a table outside. Sceneries are not very exciting - only cyclists or cars on a street under renovation.

Nostos menu is very impressive, including not only "classic" Greek restaurant dishes but also numerous other alternatives. Also, they offered an extra starter and a glass of ouzo as a digestive and a special dessert.

Quality and taste of the food was excellent. Both lamb fillets and fish were very tasty and a Greek salad was more than enough for two persons.

Last, but not least, was the the owner: he took the orders, brought most of the dishes to tables but had also time for a chat with customers.

Only thing we were missing was a bouzouki music in the background....

Last pleasant surprise was the bill: two persons enjoying a three-course dinner with retsina plus Greek coffee with Metaxa was just 70 euros, Really good value for your money!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kariheikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant - glad we made the effort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

As always, we used TA to check out potential restaurants when in Munich. I am so glad that we made the effort to visit Nostos.

We visited on a Tuesday evening, having visited the nearby Lowenbrau beer garden first. We were surprised to find the restaurant as easily as we did, having read other reviews that say it's hard to find! As long as you have a map, you'll be fine. It's also very near an underground station. The restaurant was also very quiet on the night we visited - perhaps because it was a weekday. We didn't make a booking and just turned up.

The waiter was fantastic, making a real effort to look after us. His English was brilliant (again, something that other reviews had made us a bit wary of) and we had an English menu. The decor of the restaurant is lovely and modern and almost straight away, I was glad we made the effort.

We were given complimentary dips and bread which were amazing. Our starter was a mezze plate - again, fantastic food. Our mains were fabulous - clean plates all round. We weren't going to order a dessert as we were so full but our waiter brought us a free pannacotta square with fruit syrup drizzled over - it really was gorgeous. Then, the complimentary shot of ouzo to finish! I love Greek food - this was the best Greek food I've tried outside of Greece.

Bearing in mind that we had several complimentary elements, we both drank alcohol, the service was wonderful and the food was just fantastic, we were amazed at how cheap the bill was. I can't remember exactly but I believe that it was about $65 euros in total. It really was fantastic value, particularly when taking the quality and the whole experience into account.

We left very happy that we had searched for somewhere a little out of our way. I would recommend this to anyone who likes Greek food. It was a lovely experience and one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank belljar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
177 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“The Best Greek Food outside Greece”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was the best Greek food we had outside Greece. Which made us go to it twice during our 5 day stay in Munich. On both visits we tried different starter items and all were excellent (Aubergine Salad, Zaziki, Greek Salad, Greek Meatballs ...etc). For the main you should opt for The Lamb Shank, Lamb Chops, and the grilled seafood platter. The staff were very welcoming and very helpful which made the whole experience even better. We extend a very special appreciation to the restaurant staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dxb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nostos also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing