We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Laimer Hof
Nearby Hotels
Platzl Hotel(Munich)
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
KING's HOTEL Center(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marc Munchen(Munich)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vi Vadi Hotel(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$514
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,386)
Filter reviews
2,386 results
Traveller rating
1,855
414
91
23
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,855
414
91
23
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnymphenburg palacelargest beer gardenlaim stationtram ticketsquiet neighborhoodminute walkwonderful hostspublic transportationno elevatorfamily run hotelcity centrewithin walking distancecharming hotelthe entire staffhome away from homesmall hotelhighly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,068 - 1,073 of 2,386 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed in a family room for 4 people. The room was nicely decorated and equipped.
The hotel is in a lovely quiet residential street. The hotel itself is very quaint and charming.
Nearby is the wonderful Hirschgarten beer garden, which is only a 10mins. walk. The hotel staff are outstanding, and treat their guests like family. Wonderful atmosphere. The nightly rates are very reasonable. The only thing the hotel lacks is a lift, and airconditioning (but they do provide fans). The hotel is only 10min. by tram or car to the City. We loved our stay here.
This was the most enjoyable hotel we stayed in on our trip of Europe.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fawkolgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This was a fantastic hotel, the best one of our trip to 5 different locations in Europe. We had 3 rooms at this hotel booked, and they were very nice, though the bathrooms in one was small, but that's not a big deal. It's only about a 3 minute walk to the tram that will take you to downtown Munich in about 15 minutes. It is only a 5 minute walk to the palace, which is absolutely beautiful, and only a 10 minute walk to the largest beer-garden in the world! Breakfast was typical German breakfast and was never crowded. Rooms were comfortable and quiet, and our 18 month old slept great every night. But the best part of this hotel were Jan and Sebastian, they were the most helpful and friendly people we encountered on the trip. Jan spent a lot of time with us explaining how to get to places, and he was just a great guy. Sebastian was also very helpful, and helped us figure out where to park before we even checked in. Both were always available and eager to help. We also really liked the cleaning lady, who was difficult to understand, but was very friendly and funny and figured out how to communicate with us.

After checking out, all three couples who stayed here agreed that we would stay here again next time we're in Munich

Room Tip: Check out the palace, even if you just look at it for a few minutes. It's beautiful, and highly under-rated.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HokieVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hotel is historic and charming. The staff is engaging and extremely helpful. This is much more than just a place to sleep. It's a German experience that enhanced our entire trip! The hotel is an oasis in an otherwise large and bustling city and a great starting point for a european vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkMc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Imagine your best friend had an extra guest room in Munich. Your friend would be available by email before your trip to answer questions you had about their neighborhood, accommodations, and things to do. When you arrive they would greet you with the warmest welcome. Your friend would tell you everything you need to know to make yourself at home and have a comfortable stay. They would show you how to access their wifi, work the windows, watch English channels on the TV, control the heat, use the computer, get a beer, and work the shower. If your friend lived in Munich, they would make sure everything about your trip, not just the stay in their house, was perfect. They would draw you a map to the tram station, get your tickets, make sure you hit all the best sites, help you plan day trips, recommend restaurants, provide you with a schedule of entertainment and events, and give you tips on what the locals are doing. Your friend would even let you play with their dog. Book a stay at the Hotel Laimer Hof and you found your friends in Munich.

Details:
- Best service we received at any of our hotels in Germany.
- The accommodations are simple, like staying in a country inn. The decor and carpeting are a bit dated; if you are looking for modern or chic, The Hotel Laimer Hof is not for you.
- Like most European hotels, the showers are small, however, the bathroom itself provided a nice amount of room.
- Downtown Munich is easily and quickly accessed by Tram (Romanplatz station) or the S-Bahn (München-Laim station)
- Don't be afraid to stay off the beaten path; not only is it easy to get downtown, but there is plenty to do in the neighborhood around the hotel. Charming shops, delicious restaurants, coffee bars, and the largest Beer Garden in the world (Hirschgarten) are all within steps of the hotel.
- Pack your running shoes; the neighborhood is very safe and the hotel is only a few strides away from the stunning paths through the Nymphenburg Palace grounds.
- WiFi is free; upon check in you get a login and password for each of your devices. Due to security, it is necessary to reenter password at least one to two times a day. WiFi strength is good, although service can be slower at peak times.
- Breakfast is an additional 10 euro per person. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel, and opted to get a small coffee and pastry in the neighborhood instead (great option for those who don't eat big breakfasts)
- Sebastian isn't a one-man service show; he was on vacation for most of our 6 night trip and we received superb service from Jan and Inga.
- The family room doesn't give a lot of privacy, but does provide a ample room.
- Unless you are okay with body wash that doubles as shampoo, pack your own bathroom amenities.
- The hairdryer is adequate, pack your own if you need heavy duty drying action.
- Don't be afraid to ask for what you need. During the say we needed an iron and ironing board which we got at the desk. We also got a "bucket" of ice for our water.
- The great service didn't end with checkout; we accidentally left a jacket at the hotel and it was mailed and waiting for us when we arrived at a hotel in another German city.
- The room keys are large and heavy, but you can leave them at the desk when you are out and about. Be careful; the desk closes at 11pm so if you are going to be back after that, take your key so you can get back into the hotel (we came very close to making that mistake!).
- Spend time in the public areas; we enjoyed sharing a beer and stories in the lobby and the courtyard with the other guests from around the globe. Prost!

Room Tip: The Family Room has a king bed and two couches that convert to twin beds. They provide plenty of room, but not a lot of privacy. Good value for 3 or more guests.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vagablondechelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

For me, the ten-hours-plus flights from Canada to Europe are murder. When I get off the plane, what I don't need is to plunge into a frenzy of activity. I need to recover from jet lag. I need some place where I can relax a while before doing the tour thing.

On a recent trip to Munich, I found the solution at Laimer Hof.

THE BUILDING

A smile began to form on my face as I approached an aristocratic, elderly building in a residential neighborhood.

I was standing in front of a heritage building in the Nymphenburg District, a villa, I later learned, was built in 1886.

Words like “noble” and “elegant” sprang to mind. A welcoming aristocratic home.

It definitely had an old world charm about it.

THE NEIGHBORHOOD

The Nymphenburg Castle, with its park and beautiful gardens and wonderful displays of art and furniture,was nearby. So was Hirschgarten, Europe's biggest beer garden. Ready to be filled up since Octoberfest was mere days away when my stepdaughter and I arrived.

That evening, we took an easy ride to La Brasserie to what became our favorite eating place during our stay in Munich.

By the way, La Brasserie has a killer dessert, a chocolate mousse, a lightly crusted cake filled with a to-die-for chocolate filling, with French vanilla ice cream on the side. you must try this dessert if you go there.

THE ROOM

The room was tempered with warm earth tones. Muted creams and chocolates.

Accessories included an antique writing desk, a wooden armoire, a Queen Anne side chair...and a wrought iron, coma-inducing bed, the most relaxing feature of the room. Lying on the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. Also a great place to while away a few hours.

The wooden ceiling exuded a sense of warmth.

THE BATHROOM

You can tell how much a staff cares when you walk into the bathroom. Does the word “sparkling” conjure up any images?

THE EXTRAS

Included were a mini bar, a direct-line phone, a television with free English movie and news channels, an I-Pod docking station, and free WiFi access.

And a full breakfast of German delicacies.

I often mention that there is French food, then the rest of the world's food. But I have to admit that German pastries are right up there.

IN A NUTSHELL

My stepdaughter considered Laimer Hof her favorite place to stay on our recent trip.

My assessment? A calming alternative to the usual hotel hysteria.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews