We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel”
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great small hotel”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I spent three nights in Hotel Laimer Hof in mid October. We have not stayed in many hotels in Europe and were unsure of what to expect. We need not have worried. From the time we walked through the door to the time we left we were treated well. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at this hotel. The room was small but we did not spend much time there anyway. Breakfast was good and there was always space for us in the dining room.

There is a lot to see around the hotel including the Nympenburg Palace. We walked around the grounds of the palace on a beautiful sunny (but cold) afternoon. There is also no shortage of restaurants in the area and these include the well known Hirschgarten which is about a ten minute walk away. there is also an Italian and French restaurant as well as a steak house.

Access to the Marianplatz is so easy as well. Transport tickets can be bought at reception and the tram takes you right into downtown Munich. Another nice thing to see is the BMW museum which is a bus and tram ride across town. Very interesting even for non car lovers - and entry is free.

Thanks to Sebastian and all the staff for a really enjoyable time at The Hotel Laimer Hof

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,680
    396
    87
    20
    3
See reviews for
550
1,109
100
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Laimer Hof on September 25 to 28, 2013. We had an enjoyable stay and loved the staff. We stayed in 21 different hotels over 27 days so I can honestly tell you this was one of our favorite hotels. The room we stayed in was decent and clean. It is a very charming hotel and the staff are always willing to help or go the extra mile for you. It is very close to Nymphenburg Palace so we had several visits to the palace and enjoyed walking through the grounds on a daily basis. We would definitely stay here again and do recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yandina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were travelling by car and this hotel was ideally located in a leafy suburb a block away from the Nymphenburg Castle. There was free off street parking for 4 cars on a first come basis and street parking was available. (Some streets are one way). Public transport into the city was within walking distance and it was easy to drive to the airport from the hotel on our departure.
The hotel staff were very helpful. There is a lounge in the lobby with a computer and printer available and WiFi is free in the rooms. Rooms are clean, our en-suite looked like it had been recently renovated. There is no lift but this was not a problem. The staff were keen to help you with your bags if required.
Breakfast cost 10 Euros but had a wide variety of cold foods (meats, cheese, fruits, cereals, breads and pastries) and boiled eggs. There are cafes and restaurants within walking distance including the largest beer garden.
All up a great little family run hotel in a convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We were greeted by a very nice gentleman and also so very informative everything about what there is too see and do and where there were other places to eat a grocery store close by also.
The only draw back for us our mode of transportation was walk and it was quite a walk from the rail station but a bus was available after you familiarize yourself of your surroundings. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 135PamB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Unfortunately, we stayed only one night at Hotel Laimer Hof, but is was amazing. Everything that we read about Sebastian & his staff is true. Actually, Jan was as big a help when Sebastian was not there. They mapped out everything we wanted to do & offered other great suggestions. We arrived around noon, our room wasn't ready but we left our luggage & took the 5 to 10 min. walk to the Hirschgarten, the largest beer garden in world. Later in the day, we walked 5 min to the Nymphenburg Palace. We had dinner at the corner at an Italian restaurant (Golf?) which was delicious. The staff was very friendly. Before we left the next day, Jan had our train tixs ready & we went into Central Munich for a bit before taking the train to the airport. Being in a foreign country is a bit daunting but the staff here speaks fluent English & allowed us to get around with out any problems or worry.Wonderful stay & wished we could have stayed longer. The rooms have a double door to the hall, so we heard no noise. There is no separate shampoos, etc but liquid soap at the sink & in shower. Have free wifi but had to keep putting a new id & password in. A computer & printer is available in lobby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were welcomed by Sebastian who is a very friendly and talkative fellow. The rest of the staff are very friendly as well. The hotel is nice and clean as are most in Germany from our experience. The room we had was quite small, in fact the smallest of any during our 5 week trip and unfortunately the weather was terrible so we ended up spending more time in the room than we normally would. The bathroom was good sized. There a several good restaurants a 5 to 10 minute walk away and the bus to downtown Munich was less than a 10 minute walk away. We only had breakfast once at the hotel. Decent breakfast but it is an extra 10 euros per person. Overall it is a good place to stay in a city where accomodations are expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harry_deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

What a wonderful hotel! Location and accommodations were even better than anticipated. The Hotel staff made our stay enjoyable and fun. Breakfast was lovely. I highly recommend and would make a point to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
1,521 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 382 in Munich
1,592 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#11 of 382 in Munich
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 382 in Munich
558 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, very safe and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing