We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and friendly!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming and friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Upon checking in we found the front desk to be very friendly and informative. Without asking, she spent a lot of time going over and giving us maps of the area and pointing out the closest restaurants. She also explained the streetcar system, enabling us to travel all over Munich for a very reasonable amount of money. The breakfast room was beautifully decorated for Christmas and the food was very good and fresh. Our room was clean and comfortable. We stayed here for 5 days and have no complaints.

Room Tip: There is not an elevator but the owner helped carry our luggage up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyV1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,582
    387
    84
    19
    3
See reviews for
517
1,050
96
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed for a few days in this wonderful hotel. The service was excellent and everyone was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the fresh breakfast each day before heading off the explore Munich. The location is good for those who enjoy walking, only a short distance from the Nymphenburg palace, and not too far from the S-Bahn.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I regret to say that I fell behind in my tripadvisor reviewing and stayed at the charming Hotel Laimer Hof way back in August 2012. I won't comment now on the facility itself, as I think many things could change (even for the better!) in over a year. What I do want to share is that my husband and I enjoyed several nice nights here. The real draw here is the service, and much gratitude is owed to Sebastian, the owner. He will bend over backwards to ensure you enjoy Munich and it's surrounding areas. He speaks English wonderfully and will share all sorts of stories, tips and local information with you. I wanted to linger over a glass of wine in the charming living room/dining room/lobby, but never had the time. Sebastian pointed us to the best beer gardens and a delicious local restaurant that was opened late the night of our arrival. The neighborhood felt extremely safe and I had no qualms with sleeping with the window open in my first floor room. Book with Sebastian at the beautiful hotel Laimer Hof and love your stay in Munich!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank anothermrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Figtree, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

A beautiful building from 1880's I think. Just soak up the ambience of the breakfast room. From Munich Hauptbahnhof take a 16 or 17 tram and alight at Romanplatz. The hotel is about 5 mins walk. Impression of a family run business in a beautiful Munich neighbourhood near Schloss Nymphenburg (must visit the park) . Friendly reception staff who speak good English, two floors but no lift. Our room had been recently stylishly renovated and average size by European standards (ie smallish) as was the bathroom but perfectly adequate. Breakfast was good although those wishing fully cooked English might be disappointed. Buy a 1-3 day Munich travel pass and it is easy to see the sites. Trams are frequent. But perhaps the best feature is the Sclosspark Nymphenburg. Just take a walk early morning or afternoon and relax. A few good restaurant options. Our pick was the French Le Brasserie but also Il Golfo Italian and a German A la carte option. Cafe in the park and nearby.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank demonmartre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munroe Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband & I stayed here for the last leg of our European Honeymoon. We loved it!

The staff is helpful & friendly. They recommended some great restaurants & sites; looked up directions for us; they even called a dog breeder we were interested in meeting to set up an appointment for us.

The rooms & lobby areas are clean. The breakfasts were good. The prices were fair.

They are within walking distance of the largest biergarten in the world, as well as other attractions & public transportation.

If we go back to Munich, I have no doubt that we would stay here again; we loved it. Thank you, Sebastian, Alexandra, & Jan!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel in Western Munich is a lovely looking building very near to the Nymphenburg Palace It is also a 5-minute walk to the Romanplatz tram stop to take you into the city to see the sights. It is so convenient.

We stayed on a 4 night room only basis. I found our room - number 14 to be cosy, quite basic but freshly renovated and very clean quiet and comfortable and good value for money.

The staff were always very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and booked us on a trip to the royal palaces of Linderhof Palace and Neuschwanstein Castle a private refuge for Ludwig II of Bavaria.There certainly is a fairytale charm of Neuschwanstein Castle and from the grounds you can see some of the best views of the snow-capped mountains of the Bavarian Alps.

A fantastic trip!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack10111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuulos, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Our family, two adults and two kids, stayed in Hotel Laimer Hof for three nights. We had a triple room with an additional baby cot right under the southwest tower. The room as well as all the hotel was very nice, cozy and well maintained and the staff was very friendly and helpful both regarding the hotel services and touristic recommendations regarding places to see and eat in Munich and the rest of Bavaria.

The breakfast was good and the breakfast room had nice Christmas decorations all over the place. There was also good baby seats in the breakfast room for the youngest guests.

The hotel is situated in a beautiful neighbourhood and it is easily accessible both by car and tram. It took about 10 minutes to drive to the old town and also the connection to the Autobahn network is straightforward. The parking was very handy in the hotel's own parking area just by the back door.

Next time when we come to Munich, we will defenitely stay again in Hotel Laimer Hof. We are pleased to recommend this awesome hotel to everybody visiting in Munich - with or without kids!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#9 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
3.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
#14 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing