We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're travelling to Munich stay here!”
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you're travelling to Munich stay here!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our family of 5 had two rooms here for 4 nights. Extremely comfortable and relaxing hotel. Wonderful breakfast each morning. Superb location. But what makes this hotel really special is the helpful nature of everybody who works here. Fantastic advice and nothing was too much trouble. This has really been the highlight of our European holiday and when we come back we would not think of staying anywhere else.
Keizer family, Australia

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,627
    389
    85
    19
    3
See reviews for
531
1,076
96
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Nothing was too much trouble for Sebastian & the team. They were all friendly & helpful suggesting places to visit & restaurants in the area.

The rooms were very clean & well equipped- the only thing missing was the ability to make tea/coffee in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

From check in to check out this hotel was perfect. Munich is very easily traveled via their public transportation system, so getting to this gem was easy. A little off the main tourist areas, it is very quiet and beautiful in the surrounding residential neighborhood. The night staff person (Jan?) was super helpful in giving recommendations, directions, transportation information, etc. He showed us to the room, suggested good beers to try and was really great to talk to. Perfect location, immaculately clean room, and great wifi! Would recommend to anyone and will definitely return!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be quiet because of hotel's location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coastalsummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
250 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

It was our first trip to Germany and we chose Munich as our jump off point to view Ludwig II's castles. We booked the hotel online and communicated with the staff for directions. I commend Jan for all his assistance, from carrying our luggage to the 3rd floor to suggesting restaurants for dinner and assisting us in our tours. The hotel is highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr_Bingcarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The directions from the Hauptbahnhof were clear and easy to follow. Public transportation in Germany is the absolute way to go!

Check in went smoothly and we were offered another chance to add breakfast. The desk clerk was willing and able to help us up the stairs even though we had very heavy luggage.

The first night's dinner recommendation was a local beer garden that looked fun and festive. It would be a great place to visit again in warmer weather or during Octoberfest. Food and beer were good although the waiter spoke only limited English. While there, we witnessed our first, under the restaurant table dog fight! It makes for a good story.

The next day we left early for Neu Shwanstein (sp?) via the tram, train to Fussen, and, city bus from there. At the HBF, we enjoyed getting our Starbucks fix and chowing down on German pastries. The castle was a wonderful, must see place in a simply beautiful area of the world. After a long day of travel were very happy to just buy fruit at a market and have a quiet night.

We began our checkout day by taking our luggage to the HBF and storing it in convenient lockers for the day. From there, it was on to Dachau for an interesting and emotionally draining day. On return, we made the quick walk to the city center to see the clock tower and beautiful old buildings. Very few stores and shops were open because of it being Sunday (this is true in most of Bavaria).

Back at the HBF we took a very efficient train to the Flughafen for our 9 PM flight home.

Laimer Hof is a great hotel in a convenient location with enough activities available right in the neighborhood. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was about right for European standards.

We would love to go back to Munich and will return to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Won't repeat the glowing detailed testimonies so well expressed by virtually all the guests who have stayed at the Laimer Hof. In essence this little hotel has special character stamped throughout every aspect of its operation and the entire staff should take a bow for showing how customers should be treated and valued.

If you want to go home with very fond and positive memories of the place and the people who work there do yourself a favour and make the Laimer Hof your accommodation choice in Munich. You won't go wrong!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hotel had the best service among all the hotels (5) we stayed in during our vacation. The staff speak English fluently and will answer all your questions efficiently. They give suggestions on how to get around the city and provide detailed directions on the map. The have tickets to the subway and tram which you can purchase at the front desk.
The room we stayed in was the turret room. Big, spacious with an old world charm. Fantastic comfortable beds. Bathroom is small but modern. It is in a residential area so it is quiet and very safe.
The location is far from the center but only a 5 minute walk to the Nymphenburg Palace which is a place one must visit when in Munich. Access to public transportation via tram is approximately a 10 min brisk walk. The subway is about 20-30 min walk with your luggage. Breakfast was okay, not a big spread like the other hotels.

Room Tip: For a family of 4 the turret room is great. However, it is on the 3rd floor so if you have difficul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msb444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
3.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#7 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, very safe and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing