We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but very basic”
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good but very basic”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed for one night based on TA reviews. We have found some great hotels via TA in our travels, but on this occasion it didn't work for us.

All the comments about the location and friendliness of staff are true, but the room was very basic, just white walls with a bulb holder and no other decoration, the TV was 14 inch and you couldn't see it from the bed because of the bed's brass frame. But worst of all the room was really cold and annoyingly the radiator seemed to be locked at 3 on a scale of 1 to 5. And in the morning the corridor was noisy.

So while I agree with all the positive reviews on an absolute basis, for us it didn't feel good value to pay 100 EUR for something essentially like a hostel, considering that if we had stayed at one of the hotels in the centre we would have saved on breakfast and travel costs.

Room Tip: Avoid those on the ground floor near the lobby as they are noisy in the mornings. Ours was no 36.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timusathem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laimer_Hof_Munich, Manager at Hotel Laimer Hof, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guests, dear readers,

I am very sad to learn, that these guests did not like their room.

One of our policies is to permit room changes as long as this is possible.

If there was any problem with the radiator or the room size and its decoration we could have given to them another room without any hesitation. Each of our 23 rooms is different. Our hotel is a "historical building" and we are not allowed to change the room sizes, exterior aspect and so on.

The radiator is not blocked, but its use should be explained. May be it is different in Germany. Why did you not ask us how the radiator works?

For us guests who do not say to us that they would like to have another room are very difficult to handle. On leaving the hotel it is too late to change and we only may apologize.

So dear reader and guests, please come to the reception, come to us and inform us. Give us the chance to make your stay as pleasant for you as possible. We will do our very best!

We are a 3 star family run hotel and not a 5 star luxurious hotel. Due to the good reviews many guests think that automatically the Laimer Hof must be a 5 star hotel at least, but this is a mistake. Our rates are also those of a 3 star hotel and not those of a 5 star hotel. A short glance on our home page shows the reality. Please use the modern information means.
It avoids deceptions. We try to have guests who are correctly informed.

Best greetings from Munich and Nymphenburg Palace

Yours sincerely

Sebastian and Alexandra Rösch (Manager) and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,654
    393
    86
    20
    3
See reviews for
541
1,096
96
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I cannot recommend this Hotel highly enough. We visited in April 2014, for four fantastic nights.
This is a great area of Munich, with beautifully furnished rooms, and the most amazing staff. As a family of four, we were so well looked after by everybody.
The fantastic advice and willingness to ensure our stay was enjoyable, was far beyond anything we had experienced in Europe. From finding the best trains, to offering better ideas than I had, so the simple coffee in the garden after a long day, this place was perfect.
I would recommend 4-5 days as the perfect Munich stopover. The local beer garden is so enjoyable, especially on a Sunday, and the transport to attractions runs with typical German efficiency. A perfect place to stay. Thanks you Sebastian and you wonderful staff.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Troy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights, and wished it could have been longer. I can't imagine there is a better place to stay in Munich and we will certainly stay there next time. Sebastian and his family were very welcoming and were always eager to talk and share insights into places to go. They really made this a first class experience. We stayed in room 14 (I think) and it was quite nice, my only suggestion for other visitors would be to see if there is a room down the hall a bit more, as our room was right next to a small staircase and could be a little loud with people walking up and down every now and again. But it was a minor issue as there appeared to be plenty of other rooms.
Breakfast each morning was excellent and a great way to start the day.
You can buy train tickets at the front desk, which made it very easy. The hotel is right down the street from Hirschgarten, the largest (I believe) beer garden in Munich. The restaurant inside was great and outside there are plenty of tables to sit and have a beer. It is near a dog park so there is lots of entertainment to look at as well.
Can't wait to return and it was the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andyt1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our family of 5 had two rooms here for 4 nights. Extremely comfortable and relaxing hotel. Wonderful breakfast each morning. Superb location. But what makes this hotel really special is the helpful nature of everybody who works here. Fantastic advice and nothing was too much trouble. This has really been the highlight of our European holiday and when we come back we would not think of staying anywhere else.
Keizer family, Australia

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Nothing was too much trouble for Sebastian & the team. They were all friendly & helpful suggesting places to visit & restaurants in the area.

The rooms were very clean & well equipped- the only thing missing was the ability to make tea/coffee in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

From check in to check out this hotel was perfect. Munich is very easily traveled via their public transportation system, so getting to this gem was easy. A little off the main tourist areas, it is very quiet and beautiful in the surrounding residential neighborhood. The night staff person (Jan?) was super helpful in giving recommendations, directions, transportation information, etc. He showed us to the room, suggested good beers to try and was really great to talk to. Perfect location, immaculately clean room, and great wifi! Would recommend to anyone and will definitely return!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be quiet because of hotel's location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coastalsummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
251 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

It was our first trip to Germany and we chose Munich as our jump off point to view Ludwig II's castles. We booked the hotel online and communicated with the staff for directions. I commend Jan for all his assistance, from carrying our luggage to the 3rd floor to suggesting restaurants for dinner and assisting us in our tours. The hotel is highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr_Bingcarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,499 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,538 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 383 in Munich
541 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 383 in Munich
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, very safe and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing