We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful hotel!!!”
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Definitely choose this hotel when staying in Munich!!! The hotel is beautiful in a beautiful neighborhood right next to the Nymphenburg palace and the world's largest biergarten. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and very clean. The staff was superb!!! Jans was so nice and helpful; what a nice welcome after an overnight train ride. He immediately provided us with recommendations on where to eat, where to go and what to do. We took his recommendations on the biergarten and the palace and were not disappointed. The biergarten is a must as it is a beautiful park with delicious food, beer and entertainment for all ages. The hotel is within walking distance to the tram which will get you wherever you need to go; the tram will take you right to Marienplatz to see the historical center of Munich and the open market.

We loved this hotel and will definitely stay again if we return to Munich. I highly recommend for any traveler no matter what the need as the location, service and quality of the hotel is superb while at a great price.

**there is no lift in the hotel so we were not able to keep the stroller in the room and had to leave it in the hotel lobby. There were no issues with leaving it and the staff locked the lobby at night, so we really didn't worry about theft, not that anyone would want to try to steal a stroller and lug it downstairs :).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trmiller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,233)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Laimer Hof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 2,233 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

While our room was very small, the staff were super helpful and the location was beautiful--a charming neighborhood away from the bustle of downtown but very near Schloss Nymphenburg and some lovely restaurants. The owners were also very responsive to emails and the breakfast was lovely!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DC_Traveler_6_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were 3 adults stayed at this hotel for a night. It is a reasonable priced hotel at a silent neighbourhood in Munich. it is a walking distance from the 2 major tourist attractions of Munich which is The Nymphenburg Palace and Hierstgarten Beer Garden. The owner of the Hotel was a young chap and very helpful and jolly who helped us with all tapes regarding travel and visiting to various places in Munich. The hotel is very clean, offers parking facility, has a small garden space making situation romantic. We regret that our stay was only for a night. A definite recommandation for all types of people.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jatinicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Pleasant people, small rooms, long halls give this a youth hostel feel. If you are a luxury traveller then this will be below your standard. No real problems, just not particularly nice. Rooms too small to open luggage easily. No elevator, so heavy bags mean sore backs!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laimer_Hof_Munich, Manager at Hotel Laimer Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guests, dear readers,

I am very sad to learn, that these guests did not like their room.

One of our policies is to permit room changes as long as this is possible.

If there was any problem with the room size or its decoration we could have given to them another room without any hesitation. Each of our 23 rooms is different. Our hotel is a "historical building" and we are not allowed to change the room sizes, exterior aspect and so on.

For us guests who do not say to us that they would like to have another room are very difficult to handle. On leaving the hotel it is too late to change and we only may apologize.

So dear reader and guests, please come to the reception, come to us and inform us. Give us the chance to make your stay as pleasant for you as possible. We will do our very best!

No client has to carry his luggage if he does not want to or if he is not able to carry his luggage.
We do ask every single client at his arrival as well as at his departure if he needs any help with the luggage. Please just let us know and we will certainly help you! We also have 7 double rooms on the ground / first floor without any stairs to walk.

We are a 3 star family run hotel and not a 5 star luxurious hotel. Due to the good reviews many guests think that automatically the Laimer Hof must be a 5 star luxurious hotel at least, but this is a mistake. Our rates are also those of a 3 star hotel and not those of a 5 star hotel. A short glance on our home page shows the reality. Please use the modern information means! It avoids deceptions. We try to have guests who are correctly informed.

Best greetings from Munich and Nymphenburg Palace

Yours sincerely

Sebastian and Alexandra Rösch (Manager) and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A lovely hotel in a quiet area of Munich just by the Nymphenburg Palace. 5 minute stroll to tramstop which took you right into the heart of Munich Centre. We spent the days in the hustle and bustle of munich city centre then the evenings in the locale of our hotel as there were some lovely restaurants within walking distance (and the area is pleasant to walk round).
The hotel was clean, well maintained and very comfortable. Breakfasts were buffet style and were plentiful and varied.
The hotel staff were exceptional - very welcoming, friendly, informative and helpful and they greatly contributed to success and enjoyment of our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definately stay there again if I travelled to Munich.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFLwolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This really is one of the best hotels where I have stayed. The hotel staff is always friendly and knowledgeable. Most of the staff speaks very good English as well as some French. If you want suggestions of where to visit and where to eat, they will give you detailed instructions on how to get there and can also make informed suggestions based on what you are looking for. Check in and check out is very easy, but be sure to make reservations, because they are usually booked out for weeks in advance.
The rooms are always very clean and by Munich standards, very spacious as well. They have good wireless Internet access as well as a computer with Internet access up front for the guests to use. There is someone on duty up front until 11 PM in case you need anything, whether it is something to drink or advice on where to eat. For groups, the hotel is very accommodating and has several areas including a small seating area outside to enjoy those fantastic Munich evenings.

Room Tip: Call ahead to see about one of the larger rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed for one night based on TA reviews. We have found some great hotels via TA in our travels, but on this occasion it didn't work for us.

All the comments about the location and friendliness of staff are true, but the room was very basic, just white walls with a bulb holder and no other decoration, the TV was 14 inch and you couldn't see it from the bed because of the bed's brass frame. But worst of all the room was really cold and annoyingly the radiator seemed to be locked at 3 on a scale of 1 to 5. And in the morning the corridor was noisy.

So while I agree with all the positive reviews on an absolute basis, for us it didn't feel good value to pay 100 EUR for something essentially like a hostel, considering that if we had stayed at one of the hotels in the centre we would have saved on breakfast and travel costs.

Room Tip: Avoid those on the ground floor near the lobby as they are noisy in the mornings. Ours was no 36.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timusathem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laimer_Hof_Munich, Manager at Hotel Laimer Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guests, dear readers,

I am very sad to learn, that these guests did not like their room.

One of our policies is to permit room changes as long as this is possible.

If there was any problem with the radiator or the room size and its decoration we could have given to them another room without any hesitation. Each of our 23 rooms is different. Our hotel is a "historical building" and we are not allowed to change the room sizes, exterior aspect and so on.

The radiator is not blocked, but its use should be explained. May be it is different in Germany. Why did you not ask us how the radiator works?

For us guests who do not say to us that they would like to have another room are very difficult to handle. On leaving the hotel it is too late to change and we only may apologize.

So dear reader and guests, please come to the reception, come to us and inform us. Give us the chance to make your stay as pleasant for you as possible. We will do our very best!

We are a 3 star family run hotel and not a 5 star luxurious hotel. Due to the good reviews many guests think that automatically the Laimer Hof must be a 5 star hotel at least, but this is a mistake. Our rates are also those of a 3 star hotel and not those of a 5 star hotel. A short glance on our home page shows the reality. Please use the modern information means.
It avoids deceptions. We try to have guests who are correctly informed.

Best greetings from Munich and Nymphenburg Palace

Yours sincerely

Sebastian and Alexandra Rösch (Manager) and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,558 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#6 of 385 in Munich
1,039 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#3 of 385 in Munich
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 385 in Munich
876 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,662 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 385 in Munich
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#4 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £68 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, very safe and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing