We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service at homely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service at homely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Lovely boutique style hotel out of the centre of Munich but within easy walking distance of transport. Very friendly staff who ensured we were happy and very helpful with advice and suggestions about local attractions, places to eat etc. Our room was certainly comfortable (if not a little compact), bathroom was lovely and clean and internet provided in-room (great when away from family and you want to keep in touch, skype etc). Fridge and tea/coffee making facilities in-room is always very appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinandKaranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,581
    387
    83
    19
    3
See reviews for
517
1,048
96
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuevo, CA
Level Contributor
251 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights after finding Hotel Laimer Hof on Trip Advisor. The price was definitely fair for the accommodations. We were in a family room and had plenty of room, although as others have said the bathroom ( Especially the shower) was small. The room was definitely basic, but Sebastian, Jan, and the rest of the staff were the best of any place I have ever stayed. Helpful, down to earth, and interested in making your stay the best if could be is the only way to describe them. I will take that over a chain hotel any day of the week.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank deamole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheldon, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Hotel Laimer Hof is located within walking distance to Nymphenburg Palace, a couple great Biergartnens, a grocery store, bus stops and a train station. We found the rooms clean, a little on the small side and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was very good and had a good selection. The best part of the hotel was by far the hosts. We were welcomed to Munich, given maps, they recommended great places to dine, and helped us navigate our way around during our first trip abroad. They made us feel at ease, and spoke English fluently. Upon our departure we were asked if we would like a complementary coffee to take with us. I would highly recommend Laimer Hof and hope to return there someday!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Having now stayed here, I can understand the somewhat mixed reviews.

The room was full of natural light but rather small.
The bed was fine and there was adequate cupboard storage. The furniture was a little eclectic – but that was okay with us and we did manage to have both suitcases opened and on the floor.
The bathroom had been modernised and although the shower cubicle was on the small side, there was plenty of hot water.
Wi-fi worked well.

All staff were extremely friendly and helpful and breakfast (an additional 10 euro pppd) was excellent with quite a few choices to cater for both continental and fuller breakfast tastes.

The location, while very quiet and 5 mins from Nymphenburg, is a 20 min tram ride from the city centre with a 5-10 min walk to the tram. Not a great problem in fine weather but could be challenging in the rain. We left on a Saturday with two large suitcases, the tram became very crowded and there wasn't really anywhere on board for luggage.

The hotel has 2 floors accessed by wooden stairs only. Because they are thinly carpeted, there is often noise from people using them and there were a few occasions when guests arriving back late at night were rather noisy and not considering of fellow guests (not the hotel's fault).

While we have no major complaints, we would probably look for something closer to the city centre were we to ever return to Munich.

Tip: if coming by inter-city train and then intending to get the tram, make sure you follow signs to the north side of the station as this is where the Romanplatz trams are.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nonameofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed 2 days in Munich and were very delighted with our stay at Hotel Laimer Hof. Sebastian was extremely helpful when we arrived. He provided us with all the information we needed to facilitate our trip around the beautiful Munich; such as the festivities that was happening in the town, best touristics places to go, how to get there, restaurants recommendation, etc
The other member of staff were also super helpful and the location was beautiful, a very quiet, safe and charming neighborhood.
The room was confortable with free wifi, the breakfast was lovely, we do not have any thing bad to say about the Hotel.
We definitely recommend staying in the hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ennyesou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Possibly the smallest bathroom I have ever seen but amazingly it had everything we needed it was so well designed. Small but clean and comfortable bedroom, excellent service from a very friendly staff. Lovely atmosphere with beer and coffee served in the sitting room. Close to Hirschgarten and the Nymphenburg Palace (which MUST be seen) and good public transport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandracpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

It has very nice rooms, excellent managers in Sebastian and Alexandra. The transportation to downtown is simple and quick. The nearby beer garden is wonderful and the Nymphenburg palace is steps away. Add in free parking and you can't beat Laimer Hof.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SedonaAZTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#9 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
3.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
#14 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing