We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Hotel good for a short stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Bad Ischl, Austria
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Small Hotel good for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Excellent quiet location if you are intending to visit Schloss Nymphenburg or the Hirschgarten. Easy access to the airport via the S Bahn. Close to a major S Bahn Station and Bus/Tram stops. Small family run Hotel. Staff excellent and very helpful with information on how to get around Munich. Very nice breakfast. Wifi and free use of PC in reception. Would stay here again especially if exploring the west side of Munich.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Austria_Staff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,580
    386
    83
    19
    3
See reviews for
516
1,048
96
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Excellent service from all the staff at the Laimer Hof. Their English language is superb. Their French sounded good too. They go to so much trouble to help. Fantastic.

Transport tickets can be bought at reception which is really helpful, and maps and leaflets are all available.

There is free use of the computer in reception area. There is also a tv in reception as well as in the bedroom.

Breakfast is good, with a wide range of food. Coffee or tea is plentiful, with staff constantly bringing more along at no extra charge.

The room was small, but adequate to use as a base. I particularly liked the German style furniture and the bedstead was very pretty. In contrast the bathroom was modern, with clean towels provided every day. Everything was clean and tidy. Personally, I found the pillow uncomfortable and wouldn't want to have stayed for too many more nights due to this. I'd bring my own next time.

Laim is a lovely district. Very green and quiet and yet within close distance to public transport. The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from a gorgeous (vast) garden and the Nymphenburg Palace. This is a bonus if you want to spend a day in the area. There are various restaurants nearby - French, Italian and a German beergarden. There is also a bakery/small café round the corner for snacks.

I would definitely recommend this for any short stay holiday in Munich if you enjoy peace and quiet and don't want to spend late nights out and about.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinetimes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Booked this hotel based on T.A. reviews and it was a winner. Excellent service began even before arrival when they booked reservations for us. Boutique hotel so front desk closes later in the evening. We notified them of our late train arrival and the night clerk stayed on duty until we arrived, then offered us drinks to relax...no rushing us so he could leave. Sebastian, family member and manager, is a true delight. This guy will work hard to meet any request you might have and does so with a smile. Our room was small, bath was actually very small, but others in our party had rooms that had more space (room #15 is sort of tight). Small room or not, I would definitely stay here again for the service and great location...Nymphemburg castle and HIrschgarten are both short walks through a really lovely neighborhood - as is the tram. Great hotel, great proprietor - in a great city.

Room Tip: As noted above, room 15 has a very small bath; saw 13 and 17 and both would be better choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2rtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel from 18-22 May 2014 with my partner after reading so many good report on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed.

The location of the hotel is excellent, (junction of Hippmannstrasse/Laimerstrasse) down a side road in a neighbourhood which is quiet and in a very nice area, but close to good transport links (tram stop 10 minutes walk where you can get the 16 & 17 into Munich city centre, or a 51 bus on Watonstrasse or if you want a 10 minute walk down to the train station at Laim)

As you can see from many other previous contributors, the manager Sebastian and his staff were excellent, truly excellent and I totally agree with this 100%, nothing and I do mean nothing was too much trouble, he (and his staff )really did go the extra mile !!

The room we had (remember there were only two of us) was on the small side, but more than adequate and spotlessly clean, again same with the bathroom, loads of clean towels, but the shower was very small (I lost count how many times I inadvertently knocked the shower controls onto hot/cold/off/on by simply turning around in the shower) but this was a minor point! Our room itself looked out onto a side road (between the hotel & an adjoining house) where there were some ‘wheelie bins’, and where children would play (I have to say this did not bother us, but some people it might).

The room was cleaned every day, and towels changed daily. There isn’t a ‘safe’ in the room, but you can leave any valuable with the reception staff and they will put it in the hotel safe (we didn’t encounter any problem with this). One last point about the hotel the doors are closed at 23.00 (guest get a night key to the side door, next to the car park – only used it once with no problem) but the down side to this is there is no one on reception after this time.

Had breakfast everyday at the hotel, and they were very nice (€8 I think was good value), choice of meats, eggs, cheeses, cereals, jams & marmalade, all sort of bread roles, tea coffee, (like a I said previously nothing too much trouble, if they haven’t got it just ask it’ll arrive soon afterwards)

I think the main point to make about this hotel is its atmosphere, friendly, clean, very family oriented there is a feeling of tranquillity, you feel very safe here. (it’s defiantly not one of big corporate hotel chains)

As I said previously the location is good, it’s easy to get into Munich, one day we walked to the Nymphenburg Palace, which is literally a 20-30 minute walk, and its lovely, then walked up to the Olympic Park, which is a bit more of a 'trek' (walking that is!), but it’s so easy to get round Munch on public transport with a day or a week ticket depending on how long you are staying. The ticket enables you to use the tram, bus, U-bahn or the S-bahn. (Remember if you travel from the Airport on your arrival to the centre of Munich on the S1 or S8 this allows you transport for the rest of that day on the Munich public transport system).

There are a number of restaurants in the immediate area ‘La Brasserie’ (didn’t try it, but looked nice, and another guest said it was nice, also ‘Osteria II Golfo’ (had a beer in here only, friendly service and the food looked good) and ‘Mozzamo’ on the corner Wanton Strasse and Gassener Strasse (it’s a Pasta and Pizza place, it’s OK but nothing to write home about). Personally I would get the 12 tram from Roman Platz and go over to the Schwabing district (get off Kurfursten Platz) and walk through to Leopold Strasse, there are lot’s and I do mean lots of restaurants there and its near the ‘English Garden’ which worth a visit (this was a suggestion from Sebastian -very nice !)

Lastly if you go into Munich city centre I would stay well clear of the Hauptbahnhof (Main Railway Station) firstly it’s a horrible 1960 building, with grotesque bike shelter ‘thing’ outside which the pigeons just use as a toilet (get the idea!), and the immediate area outside (where the trams stop) is very scruffy, there seems to be a disproportionate amount of people either begging, sleeping rough, drinking in the street (or all three) not nice. I am amazed the Munich authorities don’t address this problem, as first impressions on arrival at the train station are not good and the next stop on the tram is ‘Karlspaltz’ which is lovely.

I would strongly recommend this hotel, and would have no hesitation about staying here again on a subsequent visit to Munich. Sebastian stated he gets a lot of people from the UK who come over for the Christmas Markets I can see why; it’s perfect for a long weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterUKAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
114 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed there twice in 1 month. Lovely place. Everything you need for a short tour in Munich from amenities perspective. Location next to the Nymphenburg park is definitely a huge plus, as well as HUGE beer garden right down the road from the hotel. You might think the hotel location is a bit far from all the city-center-like sites, but it's 15 min only via direct tram line (of course if you manage to leave the beer garden)

Room Tip: The only room to avoid is the closest to reception - it's next to stairs and you can hear hungry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renatmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Spent two nights here a few weeks ago when picking up our new BMW at the Welt. This was the only non B&B during our trip but looking back, the Laimer Hoff very much felt like a B&B due to the friendly manner in which Sebastian, Alexandra and Jan interacted with us and the other guests. They really do go the extra mile. We leaned on them pretty hard throughout the stay and never came close to testing their patience. Made for a very nice experience overall and when you add to the other factors e.g. location, price, proximity to public transportation, you have yourself a 5 star location that deserves it high ranking.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kappyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We just returned from our trip to Germany and Austria. We had the most spectacular trip and the stay at la Laimer hof was among our favorite. We travelled as a family of 3 including a four yo boy who was treated with such care from Sebastian and Alexandra. We all felt very comfortable here and wished we could have stayed a bit longer than the 2 nights we were there. We will return. The room was perfect located on first floor. No complaints at all. We have stayed all over and have been at super high end hotels. La Laimer hof just had it right. Very real. Location was fabulous. Botanical gardens were so gorgeous and beer garden so delicious.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janineandbryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#9 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
3.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
#15 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing