We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful small hotel”
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful small hotel”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very surprised by the wealth of negative comments by another recent reviewer. Sebastian was a fantastic host, the hotel a very classic small European hotel. He attended to all our needs was very forthcoming with information and personable, the booking was well-handled, the room was very charming, and there was a great breakfast. The location is not central, but has very good connections. Most of the sights we wanted to see, the Pinakothek, Allianz Arena, Therme Erding are spread out and require a bit of a commute wherever you stay. The large beergarden is only a 10 minute walk and Nymphenburg only 5 minutes. The neighbourhood is very nice and quiet, as was the room at night. Great experience and my children 11, and 13 loved it and felt very at-home here. We were even able to get our laundry done in-house at very short notice before we left. Could not have been better. And all at an excellent price, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The tower room we had had nice character, and was quiet though it was 3 floors up by stairs. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biggsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,675
    395
    87
    20
    3
See reviews for
549
1,107
99
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It is worth noting than many reviews spend an inordinate amount of time on transportation into the city. This hotel requires transportation to see downtown or historical Munich (either public or a car). Also no elevators and lots of stairs. There was no air conditioning so when you are on the top floor you must open the windows which was pleasant in May because the neighborhood is tree lined and quiet. It might be a consideration at other times of the year. Double doors off the hall into the room BUT NEITHER LOCKED!!

Staff is very personable and helpful. Our room was furnished in shabby used furniture from another era, not antique, just used and not very functional. Bathroom was remodeled and well appointed. Maid service was spotty--only one set of over washed napless towels. Personality and fluent English was not enough to counter the disappointment in physical facilities. We had stayed in about 30 different hotels on this trip all booked based on Trip Advisor or Booking.com. This was our only mismatch between description and reality.

Room Tip: Many stairs and no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laimer_Hof_Munich, Manager at Hotel Laimer Hof, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guests, dear readers,

I am very sad to learn, that these guests did not like their room. I am running the hotel Laimer Hof together with my wife and approximately 12 employees since 2003. We have many regular guests and try to do all we can to make their stay happy. As our hotel is not too big (23 rooms), we nearly always are successful. Otherwise we would not have been able to "survive" for 11 years...There are over 1000 reviews of happy guests.

Our hotel is just beside the “Nymphenburg Palace”, one of the main attractions of Munich. Unfortunately we cannot be next to all the historical attractions of Munich. The public transportation system of Munich is one of the best of the world. Most of our guests are astonished and admire it. In about 12 minutes our guests are in the heart of the city. And: It is safe at any time and very clean!!

One of our policies is to permit room changes as long as this is possible.

If there was any problem with the the room, its furniture and its decoration we could have given to them another room without any hesitation. Each of our 23 rooms is different. Our hotel is a "historical building" and we are not allowed to change the room sizes, exterior aspect and so on. Nor are we allowed to add an elevator. There are 7 double rooms on the ground floor. If you had told us you could certainly have had one of them. So you would not have had to use the staircase.

No client has to carry his luggage if he does not want to or if he is not able to carry his luggage.
We do ask every single client at his arrival as well as at his departure if he needs any help with the luggage. Please just let us know and we will certainly help you!

Our double doors are automaticaly locked when the client closes the door behind him and nobody can never enter the room. The second interior door is for extra noise reduction. Withhin nearly 12 years of business never nothing got stolen or never anything happened. It will be hard and difficult to find a place and neighborhood more safe than ours in Europe.

As many hotels in Munich we do not have air condition. In Munich we do not really need it. The mountain climate only provides us (unfortunately) with very few hot days each year. But we need a very good and expensive heating system instead.

For us guests who do not inform us that they would like to have another room or that they do not understand how things work or how they are organised are very difficult to handle. On leaving the hotel it is too late to change or to explain and we only may apologize.

So dear reader and guests, please come to the reception, come to us and inform us. Ask questions, please. You are in a different country. Many things have become common in the western world, but there still are differences. We are here to help you and to try to make yourself as comfortable as possible. Give us the chance to make your stay as pleasant for you as possible. We will do our very best!

We are a 3 star family run hotel and not a 5 star luxurious hotel. Due to the good reviews many guests think that automatically the Laimer Hof must be a 5 star hotel at least, but this is a mistake. Our rates are also those of a 3 star hotel and not those of a 5 star hotel. A short glance on our home page shows the reality. Please use the modern information means! It avoids deceptions. We try to have guests who are correctly informed and happy with us and our hotel.

Best greetings from sunny Munich and Nymphenburg Palace

Yours sincerely

Sebastian and Alexandra Rösch (Manager) and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was our second visit as we were there in 2013 and now in 2014. The staff go out of their way to help in anyway possible. While this is a small hotel it has a big heart and sets a great example of how guests should be treated. It is clean and is situated very close to bus stops and the S-Bahn. It is a place where we would visit time and again.

Room Tip: We found the rooms on the top front floor to be very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Ischl, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Excellent quiet location if you are intending to visit Schloss Nymphenburg or the Hirschgarten. Easy access to the airport via the S Bahn. Close to a major S Bahn Station and Bus/Tram stops. Small family run Hotel. Staff excellent and very helpful with information on how to get around Munich. Very nice breakfast. Wifi and free use of PC in reception. Would stay here again especially if exploring the west side of Munich.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Austria_Staff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Excellent service from all the staff at the Laimer Hof. Their English language is superb. Their French sounded good too. They go to so much trouble to help. Fantastic.

Transport tickets can be bought at reception which is really helpful, and maps and leaflets are all available.

There is free use of the computer in reception area. There is also a tv in reception as well as in the bedroom.

Breakfast is good, with a wide range of food. Coffee or tea is plentiful, with staff constantly bringing more along at no extra charge.

The room was small, but adequate to use as a base. I particularly liked the German style furniture and the bedstead was very pretty. In contrast the bathroom was modern, with clean towels provided every day. Everything was clean and tidy. Personally, I found the pillow uncomfortable and wouldn't want to have stayed for too many more nights due to this. I'd bring my own next time.

Laim is a lovely district. Very green and quiet and yet within close distance to public transport. The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from a gorgeous (vast) garden and the Nymphenburg Palace. This is a bonus if you want to spend a day in the area. There are various restaurants nearby - French, Italian and a German beergarden. There is also a bakery/small café round the corner for snacks.

I would definitely recommend this for any short stay holiday in Munich if you enjoy peace and quiet and don't want to spend late nights out and about.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinetimes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Booked this hotel based on T.A. reviews and it was a winner. Excellent service began even before arrival when they booked reservations for us. Boutique hotel so front desk closes later in the evening. We notified them of our late train arrival and the night clerk stayed on duty until we arrived, then offered us drinks to relax...no rushing us so he could leave. Sebastian, family member and manager, is a true delight. This guy will work hard to meet any request you might have and does so with a smile. Our room was small, bath was actually very small, but others in our party had rooms that had more space (room #15 is sort of tight). Small room or not, I would definitely stay here again for the service and great location...Nymphemburg castle and HIrschgarten are both short walks through a really lovely neighborhood - as is the tram. Great hotel, great proprietor - in a great city.

Room Tip: As noted above, room 15 has a very small bath; saw 13 and 17 and both would be better choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2rtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel from 18-22 May 2014 with my partner after reading so many good report on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed.

The location of the hotel is excellent, (junction of Hippmannstrasse/Laimerstrasse) down a side road in a neighbourhood which is quiet and in a very nice area, but close to good transport links (tram stop 10 minutes walk where you can get the 16 & 17 into Munich city centre, or a 51 bus on Watonstrasse or if you want a 10 minute walk down to the train station at Laim)

As you can see from many other previous contributors, the manager Sebastian and his staff were excellent, truly excellent and I totally agree with this 100%, nothing and I do mean nothing was too much trouble, he (and his staff )really did go the extra mile !!

The room we had (remember there were only two of us) was on the small side, but more than adequate and spotlessly clean, again same with the bathroom, loads of clean towels, but the shower was very small (I lost count how many times I inadvertently knocked the shower controls onto hot/cold/off/on by simply turning around in the shower) but this was a minor point! Our room itself looked out onto a side road (between the hotel & an adjoining house) where there were some ‘wheelie bins’, and where children would play (I have to say this did not bother us, but some people it might).

The room was cleaned every day, and towels changed daily. There isn’t a ‘safe’ in the room, but you can leave any valuable with the reception staff and they will put it in the hotel safe (we didn’t encounter any problem with this). One last point about the hotel the doors are closed at 23.00 (guest get a night key to the side door, next to the car park – only used it once with no problem) but the down side to this is there is no one on reception after this time.

Had breakfast everyday at the hotel, and they were very nice (€8 I think was good value), choice of meats, eggs, cheeses, cereals, jams & marmalade, all sort of bread roles, tea coffee, (like a I said previously nothing too much trouble, if they haven’t got it just ask it’ll arrive soon afterwards)

I think the main point to make about this hotel is its atmosphere, friendly, clean, very family oriented there is a feeling of tranquillity, you feel very safe here. (it’s defiantly not one of big corporate hotel chains)

As I said previously the location is good, it’s easy to get into Munich, one day we walked to the Nymphenburg Palace, which is literally a 20-30 minute walk, and its lovely, then walked up to the Olympic Park, which is a bit more of a 'trek' (walking that is!), but it’s so easy to get round Munch on public transport with a day or a week ticket depending on how long you are staying. The ticket enables you to use the tram, bus, U-bahn or the S-bahn. (Remember if you travel from the Airport on your arrival to the centre of Munich on the S1 or S8 this allows you transport for the rest of that day on the Munich public transport system).

There are a number of restaurants in the immediate area ‘La Brasserie’ (didn’t try it, but looked nice, and another guest said it was nice, also ‘Osteria II Golfo’ (had a beer in here only, friendly service and the food looked good) and ‘Mozzamo’ on the corner Wanton Strasse and Gassener Strasse (it’s a Pasta and Pizza place, it’s OK but nothing to write home about). Personally I would get the 12 tram from Roman Platz and go over to the Schwabing district (get off Kurfursten Platz) and walk through to Leopold Strasse, there are lot’s and I do mean lots of restaurants there and its near the ‘English Garden’ which worth a visit (this was a suggestion from Sebastian -very nice !)

Lastly if you go into Munich city centre I would stay well clear of the Hauptbahnhof (Main Railway Station) firstly it’s a horrible 1960 building, with grotesque bike shelter ‘thing’ outside which the pigeons just use as a toilet (get the idea!), and the immediate area outside (where the trams stop) is very scruffy, there seems to be a disproportionate amount of people either begging, sleeping rough, drinking in the street (or all three) not nice. I am amazed the Munich authorities don’t address this problem, as first impressions on arrival at the train station are not good and the next stop on the tram is ‘Karlspaltz’ which is lovely.

I would strongly recommend this hotel, and would have no hesitation about staying here again on a subsequent visit to Munich. Sebastian stated he gets a lot of people from the UK who come over for the Christmas Markets I can see why; it’s perfect for a long weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterUKAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
1,519 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#11 of 382 in Munich
843 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 382 in Munich
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 382 in Munich
557 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, very safe and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing