We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel gives the impression of a 1960's economy hotel. Room is small and overcrowded with outdated furniture. Although several stories high, there is no elevator. In contrast to the room, the bathroom is modern, of adequate size, and well lighted. The hotel staff is quite friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Try to confirm a low floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IHRAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

846 - 852 of 2,273 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

I'm not sure if this hotel is expensive or if Munich is expensive, but it was at least $100 more per night than anything on our 2 week trip. But, Munich was also the hardest place to find a hotel. The owners, Alexandra and Sebastian, are always on hand and are the most helpful people we met on the trip! You are with short walking distance of several nice restaurants (both the French and Italian ones they recommended were very good), the trolley stop, and the Palace. Our room was small, but very nicely appointed. The bed was very firm, and the sheets were pilled and needed to be replaced because of the roughness. There was free WiFi throughout. Sebastian was always there to answer questions, help with luggage, offer a welcome drink or a before bed late night drink! I would stay again because of him and the location! The breakfast was extra and looked very limited. There is a very nice coffee shop about 2 blocks walk.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor. I have no idea about other rooms, but I love not having to haul lugga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EscapingHeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Sabastian and the rest of the staff are very welcoming and accommodating. The hotel is in a good location, too. Our room was well-appointed and clean, but small, and the bathroom had the smallest shower I've ever seen. It was fine for the few days we stayed and we would stay there again if we could get a larger room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandieJLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My spouse, sister and I recently spent a week in Bavaria. We reserved two rooms for the entire seven nights of our trip at the Hotel Laimer Hof. We loved the location in a beautiful residential neighborhood near the Nymphenburg Palace. Access from the Munich airport was easy and the "Partner Day Ticket" was inexpensive - though be sure to stamp the ticket with the day's date and time when initially boarding: both lines S1 and S8 take passengers from the airport to Munich's main train station. From there, using the same ticket (which you do not need to stamp again), it is an easy connection to the street Trams numbers 16 or 17 which both stop at the Romanplatz which is only a few, level blocks from the Hotel. Board the trams 16 or 17 opposite the main train station's tourist office and be sure to go in the direction of Romanplatz or Amalienburgstrasse. Unlike more expensive hotels in the City center, the Hotel Laimer Hof enjoys a quiet, peaceful, and very attractive location. The Hotel itself has lots of character - unlike sterile chain hotels - as it is an old, restored mansion. The hotel rooms are not fancy but are completely adequately furnished and many of those on the upper floor - where we stayed - enjoy lovely views over the trees and rooftops of the neighborhood. Another added bonus is that there is a very good, reasonably priced German restaurant within walking distance of the hotel called the "Wirsthaus Kurgarten". We ate breakfast each morning at the Hotel. The breakfast buffet was generous and delicious, and guests can enjoy pretty much any kind of tea or coffee beverage they would like - including a double espresso! Finally, the staff of the Hotel was extremely responsive to our inquiries and requests, and both warm and welcoming. I had the opportunity during the course of our week's stay to observe a couple of interactions between the staff and one or two "fussbudgets" who expected the "Ritz" even when staying at a modestly priced hotel, and I was struck by the patience, professionalism and kindness shown even to these individuals. While I personally would never wish to own and run a hotel, the Hotel Laimer Hof's very personable owner was on the premises almost every day, clearly enjoying his work, making sure everything ran smoothly and attending to his guests. We would be delighted to stay again at the Hotel Laimer Hof.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garrison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very surprised by the wealth of negative comments by another recent reviewer. Sebastian was a fantastic host, the hotel a very classic small European hotel. He attended to all our needs was very forthcoming with information and personable, the booking was well-handled, the room was very charming, and there was a great breakfast. The location is not central, but has very good connections. Most of the sights we wanted to see, the Pinakothek, Allianz Arena, Therme Erding are spread out and require a bit of a commute wherever you stay. The large beergarden is only a 10 minute walk and Nymphenburg only 5 minutes. The neighbourhood is very nice and quiet, as was the room at night. Great experience and my children 11, and 13 loved it and felt very at-home here. We were even able to get our laundry done in-house at very short notice before we left. Could not have been better. And all at an excellent price, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The tower room we had had nice character, and was quiet though it was 3 floors up by stairs. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biggsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It is worth noting than many reviews spend an inordinate amount of time on transportation into the city. This hotel requires transportation to see downtown or historical Munich (either public or a car). Also no elevators and lots of stairs. There was no air conditioning so when you are on the top floor you must open the windows which was pleasant in May because the neighborhood is tree lined and quiet. It might be a consideration at other times of the year. Double doors off the hall into the room BUT NEITHER LOCKED!!

Staff is very personable and helpful. Our room was furnished in shabby used furniture from another era, not antique, just used and not very functional. Bathroom was remodeled and well appointed. Maid service was spotty--only one set of over washed napless towels. Personality and fluent English was not enough to counter the disappointment in physical facilities. We had stayed in about 30 different hotels on this trip all booked based on Trip Advisor or Booking.com. This was our only mismatch between description and reality.

Room Tip: Many stairs and no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laimer_Hof_Munich, Manager at Hotel Laimer Hof, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear guests, dear readers,

I am very sad to learn, that these guests did not like their room. I am running the hotel Laimer Hof together with my wife and approximately 12 employees since 2003. We have many regular guests and try to do all we can to make their stay happy. As our hotel is not too big (23 rooms), we nearly always are successful. Otherwise we would not have been able to "survive" for 11 years...There are over 1000 reviews of happy guests.

Our hotel is just beside the “Nymphenburg Palace”, one of the main attractions of Munich. Unfortunately we cannot be next to all the historical attractions of Munich. The public transportation system of Munich is one of the best of the world. Most of our guests are astonished and admire it. In about 12 minutes our guests are in the heart of the city. And: It is safe at any time and very clean!!

One of our policies is to permit room changes as long as this is possible.

If there was any problem with the the room, its furniture and its decoration we could have given to them another room without any hesitation. Each of our 23 rooms is different. Our hotel is a "historical building" and we are not allowed to change the room sizes, exterior aspect and so on. Nor are we allowed to add an elevator. There are 7 double rooms on the ground floor. If you had told us you could certainly have had one of them. So you would not have had to use the staircase.

No client has to carry his luggage if he does not want to or if he is not able to carry his luggage.
We do ask every single client at his arrival as well as at his departure if he needs any help with the luggage. Please just let us know and we will certainly help you!

Our double doors are automaticaly locked when the client closes the door behind him and nobody can never enter the room. The second interior door is for extra noise reduction. Withhin nearly 12 years of business never nothing got stolen or never anything happened. It will be hard and difficult to find a place and neighborhood more safe than ours in Europe.

As many hotels in Munich we do not have air condition. In Munich we do not really need it. The mountain climate only provides us (unfortunately) with very few hot days each year. But we need a very good and expensive heating system instead.

For us guests who do not inform us that they would like to have another room or that they do not understand how things work or how they are organised are very difficult to handle. On leaving the hotel it is too late to change or to explain and we only may apologize.

So dear reader and guests, please come to the reception, come to us and inform us. Ask questions, please. You are in a different country. Many things have become common in the western world, but there still are differences. We are here to help you and to try to make yourself as comfortable as possible. Give us the chance to make your stay as pleasant for you as possible. We will do our very best!

We are a 3 star family run hotel and not a 5 star luxurious hotel. Due to the good reviews many guests think that automatically the Laimer Hof must be a 5 star hotel at least, but this is a mistake. Our rates are also those of a 3 star hotel and not those of a 5 star hotel. A short glance on our home page shows the reality. Please use the modern information means! It avoids deceptions. We try to have guests who are correctly informed and happy with us and our hotel.

Best greetings from sunny Munich and Nymphenburg Palace

Yours sincerely

Sebastian and Alexandra Rösch (Manager) and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was our second visit as we were there in 2013 and now in 2014. The staff go out of their way to help in anyway possible. While this is a small hotel it has a big heart and sets a great example of how guests should be treated. It is clean and is situated very close to bus stops and the S-Bahn. It is a place where we would visit time and again.

Room Tip: We found the rooms on the top front floor to be very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 387 in Munich
1,597 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#7 of 387 in Munich
1,132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 387 in Munich
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#100 of 387 in Munich
874 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 387 in Munich
1,741 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#8 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £61 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, very safe and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing