We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

It is certainly worth the extra minutes travel out of Munich city centre to stay at the Laimer Hof. We stayed here prior to a Danube river cruise and were not disappointed. Located in a quiet street adjacent to Nymphemburg Palace the hotel oozes period charm. We were especially delighted to be offered a room in the "turret" overlooking the the surrounding streets which were quiet at night. A short stroll to the Palace and it's gardens, the hotel offered a warm welcome, comfortable and spotlessly clean room, excellent food for breakfast and good service. A benefit of this hotels' location is the Brasserie restaurant just down the road. Superb food. Laimer Hof provide free bicycle use which we used to cycle to Olympic Park and onward to English Gardens using Munich's extensive cycle network much of which is seperated from the traffic on the paths we followed. Tram 16/17 from nearby Roman Platz take you straight into the city centre with no bother and there are connections by S Bahn to the airport with about a 700m walk or take the 15 bus 2 stops to the station. Best of all teas are served in the evening from reception.

Room Tip: Turret room seems a good bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bluebird15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,702
    399
    87
    20
    3
See reviews for
559
1,121
102
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Without doubt the best value hotel in a major city. Well located, near the palace, easy access to bahnhof, S bahn for airport and tram. Room was clean, the staff were immensely helpful, Guests from many nations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Initially, I was a little concerned about the location of the hotel but it was no problem not only is the Munich transport system so good but there is a lot to see and numerous restaurants to visit around hotel. The staff are friendly, will help and support you and advise you based on your needs, they also can offer assistance with tickets to access the trams and transport system. All I would say is just ask!! The hotel is in a good location, quiet and worth a visit. The owner, Sebastian will give you great detail of information and help too.
The rooms were comfortable and clean although I do think they could do with a little bit of a make over. Overall we were more than happy with our stay, thank you and visit the local beer garden where I'm sure you will enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Hotel Laimer Hof is a good hotel. Very quiet location, it is well connected with the city center via Tram 16-17 and surrounded by several restaurants. Probably the furniture of the Hotel is not that fresh (carpets and floors) but being a period building this is acceptable. The staff is nice especially the girls at morning breakfast, always welcoming people with a smile and constantly available for any request.
There is no lift in the building but help was offered by the staff so no prob here. If you are looking for a place away from noise of the city and honest business , do not look further as this is a good solution.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuCa1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week. I thought the location was perfect. A beautiful, leafy green suburb, with both a beer garten and a palace within a 10 minute walk. The public transport into the city was quick and easy. The staff were fabulous, they couldn't do enough for us. The room was a little small and the bed was a true double - rather small for 2 Australians, so I'd recommend looking at a larger room or 2 single beds. However, it was such a nice place and such lovely people, it was easy to over look this. There's also a great French restaurant nearby.

Room Tip: Make sure the bed will be big enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LennyBuckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

During our three week, urban vacation throughout several major European cities, this hotel stands out as a peaceful respite from the constant noise and movement found almost everywhere else. Taking the metro to the hotel from the airport, we were concerned that the location would be distant from the city center, but thanks to Munich's efficient public transportation system, we didn't find this to be a problem at all. In fact, we enjoyed being on the outskirts of the city because we had more of a residential experience while still being close to enticing attractions. More notably, however, was the service. Upon arrival, the staff greeted us with an abundance of enthusiasm delivered with a sense of authenticity. We were given practical recommendations, and throughout our stay, the staff continued to go out of their way to be helpful and friendly. They are a breath of fresh air. In fact, we found Munich to be this way in general.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jrabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the exciting city of Munich. A five minute walk and you are in the beautiful park of the Nymphenburg palace. A little bit further to the tram stop and an easy 15 minute ride to the city centre.
We had two single rooms which were bright, cheerful, clean and very comfortable. Wifi was free, easy and reasonably fast. The breakfasts were excellent with a range of fruit, yoghurt, cheese, meat and bread. Service from the friendly, English speaking staff was efficient and faultless: Anything from a city map or a ticket to the airport train to a cup of coffee or some advice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
1,539 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,628 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#11 of 382 in Munich
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 382 in Munich
560 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#7 of 382 in Munich
986 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#7 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, very safe and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing