We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff; great location”
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Thanks Sebastian & co for being so friendly and welcoming. From this hotel we visited Salzburg & Neucshweinstein castle along with Nymphenburg palace and the nearby beer garden. We wish we had longer to look around. The staff were very accommodating when we realized we made a booking error and had to leave a day earlier; also they were very helpful with booking taxi's and changing tour plans. Quaint and charming hotel located out of the heart of Munich but in a lovely quiet spot walking distance to transport and a short cab ride to the city. Staff will certainly help you any way they can.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brodie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

846 - 852 of 2,333 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Great location; although this hotel is not right in the city centre, it is really easy and quick to get there using the tram or underground and, being in a residential area next to the beautiful schloss Nymphenburg, makes it a quiet place to stay. It's also only a short walk to the best beer garden in Munich!
The rooms are slightly small but perfectly adequate with comfy beds and spotlessly clean.if breakfast is not included in your room rate, it is ten euros per person which we thought was a fair price.
The best thing about the hotel is the staff. They are all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank northants09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The location is ideal. Remember, it's Europe - not the USA. Let's talk about location - 15-20min walk to the S-bahn (very safe - flat road walk)), 10 minute walk to the Nymphenburg Castle, 10 min walk to many outdoor beer gardens especially the Hirschgarten which is the largest outdoor beer garden in all of Germany. So what you are getting is affordable/reasonable price and easy access to food, Munich, and attractions. The rooms are modest - again, this is not the USA. That being said, the hotel is in a nice quiet neighborhood, non-smoking with modern conveniences (free wifi, hairdryers, private bathrooms with showers, and a nice small restaurant). The rooms were very clean. With 7 of us - we booked 4 rooms which worked out great and never an issue. Although we did not book the rooms to include breakfast - we ended up having breakfast everyday. It was a very traditional German breakfast buffet (some USA hints) with an assortment of breads, rolls, meats, eggs, cereals, juices, teas, and coffees. Pretty much everything you needed to recharge the batteries for your day of sight-seeing. So if you are travelling with "kids", please think about including the breakfast as you will end up there anyway. A nice added touch was a small outdoor table and chairs where we could kick back at the end of the day and have a beer or two. Then again, once we found the Hirschgarten there was no escaping our nightly visits. * Look for that review **. The staff at the Hotel Laimer Hof were great including the adorable woman who cleans the rooms. Very accommodating. The hotel had MVV tickets which covers S-Bahn, U-Bahn, and bus travel in and around Munich. They cost the same whether you buy at the airport, city-center, or Hotel Laimer. Hotel staff was always informative and we never felt like we couldn't figure out how the mass-transportation works (Dachau, Olympic Stadium, BMW, Munich center, etc). Oh yeah, had a rental car and parking was no problem. GPS (the one in the car and my own personal) had no problems locating the hotel. We booked this Hotel Laimer for the beginning of our trip and also at the end of our trip. This may have been the first time but it won't be the last. They made our family trip to Munich extremely enjoyable and I highly recommend booking early. They get excellent ratings and I know the reason why. Book it and don't think twice.

Room Tip: The hotel has 3 floors - so think about the size of your suitcase the number of floors you need to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank eabelcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

It is certainly worth the extra minutes travel out of Munich city centre to stay at the Laimer Hof. We stayed here prior to a Danube river cruise and were not disappointed. Located in a quiet street adjacent to Nymphemburg Palace the hotel oozes period charm. We were especially delighted to be offered a room in the "turret" overlooking the the surrounding streets which were quiet at night. A short stroll to the Palace and it's gardens, the hotel offered a warm welcome, comfortable and spotlessly clean room, excellent food for breakfast and good service. A benefit of this hotels' location is the Brasserie restaurant just down the road. Superb food. Laimer Hof provide free bicycle use which we used to cycle to Olympic Park and onward to English Gardens using Munich's extensive cycle network much of which is seperated from the traffic on the paths we followed. Tram 16/17 from nearby Roman Platz take you straight into the city centre with no bother and there are connections by S Bahn to the airport with about a 700m walk or take the 15 bus 2 stops to the station. Best of all teas are served in the evening from reception.

Room Tip: Turret room seems a good bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bluebird15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Without doubt the best value hotel in a major city. Well located, near the palace, easy access to bahnhof, S bahn for airport and tram. Room was clean, the staff were immensely helpful, Guests from many nations.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Initially, I was a little concerned about the location of the hotel but it was no problem not only is the Munich transport system so good but there is a lot to see and numerous restaurants to visit around hotel. The staff are friendly, will help and support you and advise you based on your needs, they also can offer assistance with tickets to access the trams and transport system. All I would say is just ask!! The hotel is in a good location, quiet and worth a visit. The owner, Sebastian will give you great detail of information and help too.
The rooms were comfortable and clean although I do think they could do with a little bit of a make over. Overall we were more than happy with our stay, thank you and visit the local beer garden where I'm sure you will enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Hotel Laimer Hof is a good hotel. Very quiet location, it is well connected with the city center via Tram 16-17 and surrounded by several restaurants. Probably the furniture of the Hotel is not that fresh (carpets and floors) but being a period building this is acceptable. The staff is nice especially the girls at morning breakfast, always welcoming people with a smile and constantly available for any request.
There is no lift in the building but help was offered by the staff so no prob here. If you are looking for a place away from noise of the city and honest business , do not look further as this is a good solution.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TuCa1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 391 in Munich
1,242 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 391 in Munich
1,655 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 391 in Munich
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 391 in Munich
739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#3 of 391 in Munich
590 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
#19 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £60 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seventh consecutive win of the Travellers’ Choice Awards since 2012! Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch are managing the hotel as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests and offer genuine Bavarian hospitality and service at the highest level. The neo-Renaissance and historical villa was built 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, very safe and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten, is five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! We hope to welcome you in our authentic and genuisely German hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing