We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you want from a city break hotel”
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Everything you want from a city break hotel”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Lovely location in a quiet suburb but handy for transport links and some of the key attractions, staff go out of their way to help and their handy little local area map was a real winner with us. Passed on the breakfast option but it looked a good solid offer, room spacious and well-equipped. Having to log back into the free wi-fi each day for some reason was a minor irritation, towels could be a little more substantial, but would recommend to anyone considering Munich as a much more personal alternative to identikit big city centre hotels.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,648
    393
    86
    20
    3
See reviews for
539
1,092
96
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at the Laimer Hof for three nights in early August. We found the staff to be exceptionally friendly and helpful. Sebastian was delightful, and the entire staff was always anxious to assist us, whether it was with purchasing tickets for the local tram, giving advice on nearby restaurants, or loaning us an umbrella because they knew the forecast was for rain later that day.

The location is a short walk to the municipal tram, which is an easy system to use, and also near the Hirschgarten which is one of the largest outdoor beer gardens in all of Germany.

Room Tip: There is no A/C during summer months, so try for a room on a lower floor (Hot air rises). However, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redbourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel is very comfortable with lots of parking nearby. It is a short walk from some of the top 10 Munich sites to visit including the Hirschgarten beer garden which has Very good food and beer, great atmosphere and good value. The summer palace is only a short walk away as is the number 16 tram that takes you to most places in the centre.

Room Tip: The double and single rooms we had were both very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedbournSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarks Summit, Pa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel was great but it's location is the best Munich has to offer...a 15 minute commute to Munich Center...a 10 minute walk to Palace and Gardens but the best and I mean best is the 10 minute walk to Hirschgarten...this is the real Bavaria....and you get that from the minute you arrive at Laimet Hof...staff,rooms,food were all good, and my family swears the "Augustiner" beer was the best in Munich...a must for those that want the real thing!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hbr211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Thanks Sebastian & co for being so friendly and welcoming. From this hotel we visited Salzburg & Neucshweinstein castle along with Nymphenburg palace and the nearby beer garden. We wish we had longer to look around. The staff were very accommodating when we realized we made a booking error and had to leave a day earlier; also they were very helpful with booking taxi's and changing tour plans. Quaint and charming hotel located out of the heart of Munich but in a lovely quiet spot walking distance to transport and a short cab ride to the city. Staff will certainly help you any way they can.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brodie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Great location; although this hotel is not right in the city centre, it is really easy and quick to get there using the tram or underground and, being in a residential area next to the beautiful schloss Nymphenburg, makes it a quiet place to stay. It's also only a short walk to the best beer garden in Munich!
The rooms are slightly small but perfectly adequate with comfy beds and spotlessly clean.if breakfast is not included in your room rate, it is ten euros per person which we thought was a fair price.
The best thing about the hotel is the staff. They are all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northants09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The location is ideal. Remember, it's Europe - not the USA. Let's talk about location - 15-20min walk to the S-bahn (very safe - flat road walk)), 10 minute walk to the Nymphenburg Castle, 10 min walk to many outdoor beer gardens especially the Hirschgarten which is the largest outdoor beer garden in all of Germany. So what you are getting is affordable/reasonable price and easy access to food, Munich, and attractions. The rooms are modest - again, this is not the USA. That being said, the hotel is in a nice quiet neighborhood, non-smoking with modern conveniences (free wifi, hairdryers, private bathrooms with showers, and a nice small restaurant). The rooms were very clean. With 7 of us - we booked 4 rooms which worked out great and never an issue. Although we did not book the rooms to include breakfast - we ended up having breakfast everyday. It was a very traditional German breakfast buffet (some USA hints) with an assortment of breads, rolls, meats, eggs, cereals, juices, teas, and coffees. Pretty much everything you needed to recharge the batteries for your day of sight-seeing. So if you are travelling with "kids", please think about including the breakfast as you will end up there anyway. A nice added touch was a small outdoor table and chairs where we could kick back at the end of the day and have a beer or two. Then again, once we found the Hirschgarten there was no escaping our nightly visits. * Look for that review **. The staff at the Hotel Laimer Hof were great including the adorable woman who cleans the rooms. Very accommodating. The hotel had MVV tickets which covers S-Bahn, U-Bahn, and bus travel in and around Munich. They cost the same whether you buy at the airport, city-center, or Hotel Laimer. Hotel staff was always informative and we never felt like we couldn't figure out how the mass-transportation works (Dachau, Olympic Stadium, BMW, Munich center, etc). Oh yeah, had a rental car and parking was no problem. GPS (the one in the car and my own personal) had no problems locating the hotel. We booked this Hotel Laimer for the beginning of our trip and also at the end of our trip. This may have been the first time but it won't be the last. They made our family trip to Munich extremely enjoyable and I highly recommend booking early. They get excellent ratings and I know the reason why. Book it and don't think twice.

Room Tip: The hotel has 3 floors - so think about the size of your suitcase the number of floors you need to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eabelcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,496 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,528 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 383 in Munich
538 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 383 in Munich
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#9 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, very safe and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing