We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enchanting Accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enchanting Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

* Describe the service you experienced
A warm, friendly, comfortable hotel. The service is first-class, an appetizing breakfast in the dining-room each morning with choice of coffees and teas, and drinks available in the lounge area. The staff are friendly and spoke excellent english. The host, Sebastien, is very knowledegable on local geography and events and he is happy to advise on day-trips, transport, and sightseeing. The room was large extremely comfortable. We had a "turret-room" - very romantic. There was ample heating in the room - the outside temps were 47 - 31 Faranheit. The hotel is close to the Schloss Nymphenburg - 5 mins, Tram stop Roman Platz - 5 mins, Hirsch Beer Garden - 10 mins, and several Bavarian and International restaurants. The district is a very quiet residential neighborhood. It is a 20 min tram-ride to the Old City and almost an hour from the Airport. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fckuvov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,581
    386
    83
    19
    3
See reviews for
516
1,048
96
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdowne, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

We have just returned from a four day stay at the Hotel Laimer Hof. The hotel itself is housed in an immaculate old building, beautifully maintained and very clean. The breakfast was plentiful and fresh. The location was wonderful, slightly off the beaten track but with the great transportation system (tram and subway) it was always easy to get into the city centre. The management was incredibly helpful in making us feel welcome and spoke English very well (thank heavens since our German language skills are non-existant!) The neighbourhood is up-scale and it felt very safe to wander around, even after dark. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

Let us add our voices to those who praise this wonderful hotel for its excellent value, service, and location!
We arrived for a short 4 night stay over the Presidents' Day weekend and were warmly greeted by Sebastian and Co. who attended our every need.
We were given a nice, comfortable room (the one shown on their website), just right for a couple, plenty of room.
We brought with us (unfortunately) two severe colds, and Sebastian, hearing our sniffling and coughing, generously offered medicines and tea from his own family's supply, and helped us find a pharmacy to get more.
Sebastian is a wealth of information about how to get around Munich and what to see, as well as how to stretch your euros.
Definitely take his advice about public transportation-the trams and buses are great ways to see the city cheaply.
Although located in a residential area, there are plenty of nice restaurants within walking distance, and the hotel breakfast is a great start to your day.
Be sure and take some time to walk the surrounding neighborhood and then onto the Nymphenburg grounds-it was especially romantic in the snow. Sebastian can show you how to get around.
In summary, a stay at the Laimer Hof is a wonderful experience
for those who value an intimate, personalized travel destination with exceptional, friendly service!

  • Liked — Sebastian, Alexandra, and the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank quiet-storm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2009

I was impressed by the consistently high tripadvisor ratings for this hotel and now, having stayed there I would agree they were justified. Gracious personal attention from Sebastian and indeed everyone working there. Help - in very good English - was at hand for travel, sightseeing and restaurant recommendations. Nice, clean rooms and bathrooms - we stayed in two different spacious family rooms.
Great location, reasonable rates.. No negative points.
Would recommend this place to anyone visitng Munich.

  • Liked — Friendly helpful atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LughaidhG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

My wife and I visted Munich recently for a week and found the Laimer Hof a fantastic little family run hotel. The location is good (5 stops into Marienplatz), the rooms are a good size, very clean with new bathrooms (the little maid is absolute gem), the breakfast was also very good with a wide selection of cold meats, cheeses and breads.

Like a lot of the comments on this hotel, I have to echo the outstanding service provided by each and every member of staff. I have never been in such an accomodating hotel, with everyone more than happy to help.

Additionally, there are a couple of fantastic little restaurants close by when you don't want to make the short trip into the city centre.

I am looking forward to going back and would recommend to all!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Internet in the room but free lobby service made up for this
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eamonngaffney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2009

My wife and I had a super weekend in Munich and attended a great concert at the Olympiahalle (Andre Rieu). The hotel was extremely homely and welcoming and as earlier reviews, Sebastian could not have been more friendly or helpful.
I would definitely recommend it to anyone and would love to return.

  • Liked — Friendly and extremely helpful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DavidSurrey_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2009

I have nothing but praise for Hotel Laimer Hof and its manager, Sebastian. The location is great--within a stones throw of Schloss Nymphenburg and in a very quiet, quaint little neighborhood. The hotel is only a five minute walk to the mass transit lines. I can't say enough about the friendliness of the entire staff. Sebastian goes above and beyond!

Stay there and you will be thankful you did!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hj232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#9 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
3.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
#14 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing