We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Laimer Hof
Ranked #1 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

This is a great place. Totally understand why it is rated #1.

Arrived in Munich on a hot day and the 700 m walk from the train station ended up being a little tough with a couple of suitcases. Take a cab or the bus.

Upon arrival, Sebastian greeted us by name. Room 25 (on the 3rd floor and one of the turret rooms) wasn't quite ready yet but our big suitcase disappeared with him. We only realized later that there was no elevator and Sebastian had carried the big thing all the way up! Sebastian is truly an ambassador...friendly, great recommendations and he just took the time to talk to us. We were made to feel truly welcome in his "home". Thank you so much. Room 25 was huge...quiet, clean and more than enough for the 2 of us. WiFi worked great (must get daily password) too.

Rest of the staff were wonderful too. Front desk very helpful always, and the lovely lady who ran breakfast every morning. We had to leave early on Saturday (before official breakfast) to catch a tour and she was already set up and let us eat first before we left. Thank you. This complimentary breakfast was a great start to every day.

Location is great. Out in the suburbs so very quiet, but downtown a just a quick walk/bus/train ride away. Schloss Nymphenberg just around the corner, and Hirschgarten is about 15 min away by foot. Could not have asked for anything more.

Thanks again Sebastian!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raylee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,605
    387
    84
    19
    3
See reviews for
525
1,059
96
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
497 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

Hotel Laimer Hof felt like "home". It is located in a quiet residential neighborhood near Nymphenberg Palace, the Hirschgarten (be sure to experience this German tradition!) and a great French restaurant. Once we arrived, we parked our car and walked or took public transportation for our time in Munich.

Our room was spacious and comfortable for the four of us. Bathroom was updated and clean. Sebastian and staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, assisting us with transportation and touring ideas. Good breakfast buffet.

A charming gem in a big city!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acedaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

Stayed in and around Munich a few times before but decided on a different area and as this hotel was rated #1 through Trip Advisor I thought why not. Much better location than staying near the main train station for me. Getting up in the morning in a quieter suburb with the Nymphenburg gardens just a hop, skip, jump away was fantastic. The gardens / walks through are exquisite! Also - having the biggest beer garden in Munich in the near vicinity also nice feature. The hotel itself was quaint, well kept and very friendly. Only (small) downside was that traveling solo the single room was a little small and situated under the staircase. Room was still very nice but this is the price I pay sometimes for traveling solo and staying in a single room! Very much worth a visit - quintessential German and nice to be within touching distance of the city (good transport links) but not right on top of it!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

We just returned from a four week vacation in Europe and booked a total of seven hotels based mostly on the reviews in trip advisor. All of the hotels met or exceeded our expectations except for Hotel Laimer Hof. I did not think it was possible to get a room smaller than the one we booked in Paris, though we were expecting it in Paris I did not expect it in Munich, especially after reading the glowing reviews on trip advisor. Apparently there is a wide range of rooms available at Hotel Laimer Hof, so beware and don’t set your expectation too high based on its number 1 rating. The room was small and the bathroom was smaller though it was clean and the building is quaint and charming. I can’t comment on the breakfast as this was our last night in Europe and had to leave early to catch a plane. The area is wonderful a residential area within walking distance to Nymphemburg Place and Hirschgarten the largest beer garden in Munich.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAWest01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

We stayed at Hotel Laimer Hof for two nights during our way back to USA from the Greek Islands in May. It was the height of Spring and this is such a wonderful time to visit Munich. We chose Hotel Laimer Hof because of all of the great reviews on Trip Advisor and the place did not disappoint and exceeded our expectations. Sebastian and his staff were so helpful and friendly. We arrived into Munich with no tour book and really only had two days to enjoy the city. Sebastian took as much time as we needed to sit us down and explain all the details of the city and give recommendations on what to do with our limited time. His recommendations were excellent and we had a great time. The only regret we had is that we weren't able to stay there longer! If we ever go back to Munich we are definitely going back to stay with Sebastian. He made us feel welcome and like part of the family. Perfect place for a couple or a family. Away from the touristy area. Again - can't say enough about the staff and the service. We stayed in the top floor room which was really nice and very spacious. The only improvement they could make is on updating some of the furniture in the room. The hotel and rooms were very clean and the complimentary breakfast and coffee were a perfect way to start the day. A quick recommendation, if you are doing Neuschwanstein castle, I recommend taking the public transportaitn using the Bayern Ticket (A group of up to five persons can travel through the whole of Bavaria for 28 euros) as it is much cheaper than taking a bus tour and you can go at your own pace.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rzknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Dimas, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

I booked the hotel Laimer Hof strictly based on reviews in trip advisor. Since I overpacked for my 3 week vacation with my 21 year old daughter, we took a cab from the train station to the hotel. I was glad we did. It is not that far to get to the transportation but with luggage it was. Upon arrival we were helped by the young man at the reception desk. We were on the 3rd floor and since there is no lift, he carried my BIG suitcase up. I had read so much about Sebastian but he was on holiday...however, Simone and staff were fantastic!! I was constantly asking questions and Simone guided me perfectly!
The beds were little and not the most comfortable, my daughters squeeked, but it was not a problem. I really liked being away from the city center and feeling like we had a quiet place to return to at the end of our long days. It was an easy walk to the bus, tram or to get to the S bahn. We enjoyed the nearby beer garden and French restaurant on the corner. Simone arranged for a driver to pick us up at 4:45 a.m for our early flight home. She had croissants set out waiting for us. As I said, it was a perfect ending to our trip. I would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommyhern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

There is a reason this hotel is #1 rated. Location is near Hirschgarten and train to historic Munich (10 min ride). Staff very friendly and helpful. Very quiet. I wouldnt stay anywhere else in Munich. Easy to get in and out of this area with a car. Has Wi-fi in rooms. Great and typical European breakfast.
When there, eat at Kurgarten, good restaurant nearby. Recommend Mikes Bike Tours in Munich.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btnusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#7 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
3.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Property: Hotel Laimer Hof
Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#8 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, very safe and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing