We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience”
Review of THE TENT Munich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
THE TENT Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

When backpacking with my friend I decided to book in without telling my friend what to expect - needless to say he was surprised when we turned up and found a giant 100 person tent! The campsite is really chilled, with cool places to sit and they sell beer. The bathrooms were clean and there were lockers for valuables. The Tent is a tram ride out of the city centre but definitely worth it for the novel experience. In August the tent wasn't cold and they provide blankets so no sleeping bag needed. The only thing is that if you are a light sleeper the sound of 100 people snoring might keep you awake!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 009traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for THE TENT Munich
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

This place is the hippest in Munich - pretty lights, campfire, fantastic people (and staff!). You sleep in a huge tent with the other travellers on a floormat or a bed or in your own tent. (Consequently, here's an important tip: if you're a bad sleeper - like me-, BRING YOUR EARPLUGS!)
Despite the awful weather (rain for 3 days), our trip was soo cool, mostly because of The Tent. Thanks so much! We'll come back :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bíborka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The Tent hostel was a great stay. We were only there one night but it was really close to the tram into downtown, the staff were friendly, the Vibe was really chill and the food was good. It was really cold in the big tent at night though. I needed six blankets and wore my jacket and socks to bed as well. It was also hard to sleep because a LOT of people sleep in the same tent and they may not necessarily be quiet when they come in at night. The WiFi won't work but it goes with the feel of the place. A cool experience for one night but I wouldn't stay more than that.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Shaylene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Great deal at 10 euros a night for a bed. The staff was friendly and helpful. They served beer, but didn't see a place to buy water?

The wifi was sketchy, but when you have that many people trying to get on what do you expect. Breakfast was cheap and so was the washer/dryer. Bathrooms were clean.

However, I disagree w those who say you get a good sleep w a 1am quiet time. People are up at 530 loudly, without thinking of others, stomping through the room and rolling their suitcases out. Bc I am sure carrying your suitcase would be too difficult.

Though I enjoyed the hostel experience, go here if a solid night sleep is not a necessity.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Dmama1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The Tent Munich is the best place to stay for backpackers.It is clean cheap and safe and the best!!!the reception people are friendly and multilingual.we were camped in 100 bed tent but it doesn't matter as it is safe and everybody is in their own beds.the beds are not what u expect as it is a tent.the toilets are clean and the staff clean it properly every morning.no problem for ladies.the cafeteria is the best place to be in the night as they have BBQ and they showed World Cup matches.everybody is chilling out and having a beer and enjoying.a great party atmosphere.the reception has great access to information about Munich sightseeing.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Kunal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We camped here for 3 nights and loved it! Friendly staff, reasonable prices, lots of room for activities, communal feel, backpackers retreat, good location, easy to find, good cheap food,
Clean facilities, hot showers, kitchen and fridges for own use.
Would highly recommend after staying at numerous other camp sites all over Europe.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemRadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Great place. At first we weren't impressed but that was after a long, hot train journey. The check in girl was horrible to us and the couple behind us. Once we sat down and had a beer and looked around it completely changed our minds. Camp fire each night, bbq and showed the world cup games which created a great atmosphere. Got very cold at night in the tent because it's massive and people never kept tge doors closed. Plenty of spare blankets on offer. Showers and toilets were very clean. They say there is no curfew but we were asked to either go to sleep or leave the premises after 1am so that means there is a curfew. There is a kitchen for cooking and fridges to keep food. The kitchen was dirty because a lot of guests don't bother to clean after they cook. One thing that really annoyed everyone trying to relax wasone mmother brought her child with special needs there every day for a baby sitting service pretty much. She would let her child wander off and beg people to play with her while the mother sat down and drank beer and flirted with every lad she saw. The staff didn't do anything about it and it really got on everyone's nerves because that mother didn't care as long as her child was in the company of strangers.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
10.2 mi away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
3.4 mi away
Euro Youth Hotel
Euro Youth Hotel
#1 of 78 in Munich
1,001 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wombat's Munich
Wombat's Munich
#2 of 78 in Munich
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The 4YOU Hostel & Hotel Munich
2.8 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
1.7 mi away
A&O Munich Laim
A&O Munich Laim
#39 of 78 in Munich
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE TENT Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE TENT Munich

Address: In den Kirschen 30 | 80992 München, 80992 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Price Range: £12 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your THE TENT Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tent Munich Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing