We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for young groups of friends, not good for couples”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of THE TENT Munich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
THE TENT Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for young groups of friends, not good for couples”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

My boyfriend and I brought our tent here for a couple of nights while we were interrailing. The facilities were good; clean toilets, showers and wifi areas. Unfortunately the noise on the campsite meant that after one sleepless night we decided to leave. Perfect for people who want to meet new people, stay up all night drinking beer and listening to music, but not so good for people who just want a place to pitch their tent and have a good sleep! It should also be noted that the tram to get to The Tent was very expensive, and was another reason we decided to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 199Amber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    94
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
2
41
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We booked this purely on it being only 9 euro a night. It's about a 20 minute tram ride out of Munich which was only downside but it's actually better for getting to botanic gardens, Olympic park and the palace. The breakfast here is amazing and so cheap. Every night there is a bonfire and draught beer and a BBQ (most nights, if not then home cooked chili or pasta). Sleeping with 100 other people was daunting and other than a few annoying alarms at 6am, it was fine. One of the most fun hostels I've ever stayed in. Oh and showers are actually fine and really clean, even though they're in a separate block, they're very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I will never forget the Tent, it had an amazing atmosphere, in which it seemed everyone could just relax, which made it extremely easy to make friends. There is a campfire every night, and meals made every day, which were delicious. And if you fancy avoiding pitching your own tent and wish to pay a little extra, you can sleep in one of the two main tents, one with sleeping bags on the floor and one with bunk beds, which I would advise, as the only draw back of my visit to the tent, was that I stayed during Oktoberfest, when the nights were very very cold!

There are nice clean showers, which are hot and private as well.

It is by far the best accommodation I have every stayed at.

Room Tip: Go with the two main tents during winter months
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at The Tent on two occasions during our stay in Munich, for a total of 7 nights. I cannot recommend this place enough. We had our own tent, and there was plenty of space to set up (we would recommend the space behind the reception, overlooking the adjoining park for a beautiful view when you open your tent flap in the morning). The staff are friendly and helpful, and just as ready to guide you around the site as they are to chat about your trip or just generally pass the time of day. Don't worry if your German is rusty, as all the staff speak perfect English (as well as a few other languages, I'm sure!).

The cafe sells lovely, healthy home-made food at a low cost. Breakfast coffee comes in real mug and will set you back only 80 cents. If you want to cook for yourself, the kitchen facilities are good too, and often busy with other guests willing to share tips and recipes, or even portions of their own food and meals. The laundry facilities are reasonably priced, and work well, though there is often a little bit of a queue. The showers are hot and clean, and the toilets always liberally stocked with toilet paper and squeaky-clean.

In the evenings there's always a roaring campfire to sit around and share stories and conversation with the cosmopolitan crowd. Most nights there are sing-a-longs too! Quiet time starts at 1am, so that those with early morning sight-seeing to do don't have to listen to impromptu music gigs when they want to sleep. We didn't have kids with us, but there are often a few running around, playing basketball or table-tennis, swinging in the hammocks, and just generally having a good time.

The Tent is an easy tram ride (though there is a replacement bus for part of the route currently, due to maintenance) from the main station, and the staff are always at the ready to help you find the best route to your tourist attraction of choice.

The only downside: the wifi can be terribly slow, especially during the busy periods in the evenings. But ... you can hardly complain when, like pretty much all the other facilities, it's free! We even managed to pick it up in our tent!

If this is the cheapest place to stay in central Munich, then it is certainly also the most welcoming and most fun.

Room Tip: If you have your own tent, head behind the reception, up the slope towards the boundary with the nei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This place is by far the best place I stopped at during travelling. Great for backpackers. The campsite itself is rather small, part of a big park, but feels secluded from the outside world. There is a great community vibe here. Very reasonably priced camping and I heard that its also cheap to stay in the huge tents on bunk beds or floor spaces. The cafeteria offers super cheap tea at 30 cents, and everything else on offer looked reasonable too. This place isn't out to rip you off like some. Good shower facilities, they close them for a couple of hours in the day for cleaning which can be annoying but at least theyre clean! Sinks to do your hand washing. Small kitchen facility which is adequate enough to make your own meals, and you can store your own food and use the fridge. A big band played during our stay which was lovely, although I can't guarantee that happening all the time! Just a really great chilled place to stay on your travels, and not too difficult to get to from central munich. Really recommend and I definitely want to go again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Celia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This place is easy to reach from the Munich train station by tram. You can find it easily because the locals know it as well, so you can just ask them if you don't know where to go. Because I speak German it was like I was at home in the Netherlands,because the public transport is so easy to get around. Although this place is 1 big tent: I stayed in a (bunk) bed and it's a mixed dorm. The beds are very small and there are no pillows(you have to bring one yourself or make a pillow from clothing/towel). There are lockers as in the metal lockers from school, and no padlocks provided, you have to buy a padlock for 4 euro at the reception desk. It's true that you meet people very easily, actually it is impossible not to, and there are no spaces that are quiet. There are always people around you. The big tent btw has a wooden floor and it makes a looot of noise. If you like party hostels this is the place to be, because you won't be able to sleep hear, not even with earplugs. There is so much noise, because in the evening there is a campfire and playing/singing music on the guitar. People are staying up until 2 am, and getting up at 6/7 am, because they are leaving to the next destination. When I left here Icwas exhausted. The campsite has a small building with showers and toilets. The shower floors were covered in long hairs and I found it disgusting. Also there were hairs on the walls, when someone had shaved in the previous mornings, idk. The toilets smelled really badly. The sinks were always covered in hairs and other dirty stuff because the girls all were doing their hair above the sinks (Disgusting to wash my hands there). When it rains the campsite is gross because all is grass, so bring closed shoes and long trousers with you. There are almost no places to sit down when it rains, so I was forced to sit down on the benches in the small eating area, where everyone was drinking beer ALL the time. The food in the evening was served for about 5 euro for a dish. It is all German food. If you don't like German food or beer you can make your own food in the kitchen. In the kitchen are 4 stoves, and it is extremely full in the kitchen all the time during dinner time. Prepare to wait 15-30 mins to cook food. There is also a fridge which was nice. You can buy drinks in the bar for 1-2 euro per drink, such as lemonade or coke. The breakfast is for fruit 50 eurocents, bread rolls 1 euro, drinks/coffee 1-2 euros (it is cheapier to buy your own bread/food because the Lidl supermarket is only 1 stop with the tram away!). The campsite is used for families to have a night out so there are many children running around in the morning/afternoon. In the evening the families join the meals/drinking and the families are also at the campfire (even until 1-2 am, the kids were almost falling asleep but the parents were not leaving and were drinking beer..really weird to me.) I would definitely NOT recommond, only party people love this, not me..

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We found this place on a last minute search for somewhere cheap to stay in Munich - it was great! My favourite place (& out cheapest place by far) we stayed on our interrailing trip! Lots of other travellers and families here, the staff are really helpful and friendly and the camp is cheap (canteen & washing machines really cheap too!) and laid back atmosphere. There is a kitchen, table tennis, badminton, lockers, a bonfire every night and there was a brass band one night we were here. We stayed in a bunks dorm in a tent. You get blankets here (as many as you want cos it's pretty cold at night) so it's perfect if you aren't prepared for camping on travels. Easy to get into the city centre. We rented bikes from the camp (only €9 for 24 hrs) one day to cycle into town. Would definitely come back here and have recommended it to friends already!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SK G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
3.0 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#7 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
3.8 mi away
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
2.3 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE TENT Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE TENT Munich

Property: THE TENT Munich
Address: In den Kirschen 30, 80992 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your THE TENT Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tent Munich Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing