We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good as the last time!!”
Review of Hotel St. Paul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel St. Paul
Ranked #131 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I really like this hotel and this is the fourth time I have stayed here in the past couple of years. Very friendly and welcoming staff at reception. The rooms are quite simply furnished but very clean and comfortable. The breakfast room is pleasant and the breakfast is good. A quiet area with not much traffic - it is possible to sleep with the windows open. There are a couple of good restaurants within 5 minutes walk. The U-Bahn station is just outside the hotel so it is very easy to get around the city quickly. Recommended!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teleworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were in Bavaria for Starkbierfest and stayed at the Hotel St Paul at the beginning and the end of our tour. The location was great; steps to the subway and all of Munich's good public transportation, very close to the fairgrounds, walking distance to Augustiner Brewery! Both of our rooms were clean & comfortable, the second stay the room was actually large. The church bells were charming, helped keep us aware of the passing time, and only during the day when you shouldn't be sleeping away your time in Munich anyway! The breakfast was good and included eggs cooked to order.
All of the staff (front desk, dining room, housekeeping) were friendly and the front desk was particularly helpful and accommodating. We didn't choose Hotel St Paul, it was part of our tour (Bayern Trips, really great) but we would definitely choose it next time in Munich.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsManagement1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in early March 2014. Small, but nice hotel. Elevator was a little sketchy, but the courtyard was nice. Loved the huge windows with the ledges in the rooms with a beautiful view of St. Paul's Cathedral. Wifi only worked in the hallways but that was manageable.

Room Tip: 3rd floor- best view of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwhit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here, during March of 2013. The place was very clean, and the breakfast was nice too. The hotel is steps away from the subway, and there is a nice park nearby too (Oktoberfest grounds, I believe).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonzopookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My son and I spent three nights here while we were staying in Munich. We arrived quite early and the hotel kindly allowed us to drop our suitcases up to the room which we found had been cleaned and was ready. The bedroom area was a little like a cabin on a ferry. The mattresses were encased in a wooden box which meant that when you sat down you cut off the circulation to your legs. However, the beds were incredibly comfortable and I slept like a baby every night.

The room and the ensuite could do with an overhaul as everything is incredibly worn and dated. The covering on the ceiling in the bathroom is peeling, the bath could do with some sort of shower screen and the door to the bathroom could do with a new coat of paint. The mirrors on the wall in the bedroom were also incredibly mottled.

The breakfast was exactly what you expect on the continent. Fresh rolls and croissants were available each morning with a variety of cold cuts of meat and cheeses. The croissants were lovely and made a change from the over processed croissants in plastic wrappings that you sometimes get. You could also get fresh scrambled or boiled eggs to order. There was also fresh coffee ready on the table. They seemed to start brewing this from about 6 am because the smell pervaded the whole hotel.

The hotel is reached easily you can pick up the U4 or U5 from Hauptbanhof to Theresienwiese and the hotel is literally steps from the entrance of the station. Make sure when you get off the train at the station that you head in the direction of the sign that says St Paul not Theresienwiese.

There is the most beautiful church directly outside the hotel and like other reviewers have stated the bells ring every quarter hour but these stop in the evening and will not disturb you. We had a room at the back of the hotel so only really heard them if one of the windows were open. Do visit the church is it is truly lovely. I can also recommend the restaurants at each end of the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you think the noise of the church bells will disturb you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonIrishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My daughter recently spent 2 nights at the hotel and had a great time in Munich. Wevarrived early and they let us leave our bags at the hotel, we then spent the day in Munich, we also left the bags at the hotel on our day of departure as our flight was not until 9 pm. The hotel was great,it was in a fantastic location, nice and quiet at night, outside the underground and the staff were brilliant. we bought a 3 day partner Munich city card and used it for the airport, Dachau, and all around the city for the trains, buses and trams. we saw the Glockenspeil at Marionplatz, Went up St. peters church, also in the church, it is beautiful, we went to the Italian restaurant opposite which was good, there is a market opposite with lovely food stalls. We also went to the English garden to see the surfers, walk round and go to the beer garden, it's a lovely park with lots to see. the next day we went to Dachau and booked the English tour at 11 am, it only cost 3 euros each and the guide was very informative. We then got the train back to Munich, had a late lunch then went to the Olympic tower, it was dark by then and saw the whole city lit up. Next we got the tube to the football stadium to take photos of it lit up for my son. The last day we went to BMW welt, it's like a huge car showroom with people sitting in expensive BMW's and taking photos of each other, there was a motorbike display, a biker using a BMW bike Togo up the stairs, along the bridge and down the other side, there were things for kids to do and motorbikes upstairs for people to sit on. all for free, we only spent 5 euros on 2 drinks! We went to Nymphenburgh Palace in the afternoon and went in, we got money off because we had the Munich card, also at the Olympic tower. The Palace and gardens were beautiful and worth the trip on the tram. we then went back into the centre and had another late lunch, walked around Marionplatz until it was time To go to the airport. We made the most of our time in Munich, the weather on the 1st day was brilliant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Did anyone mention the BELLS? The hotel is right across from St. Paul’s Church, whose tower rings every 15 minutes – but only from 7AM to 9PM, Gott sei dank! This is an unassuming, clean and comfortable hotel, located just on the good side of the border between the train-station inexpensive shops (high predominance of Turkish donerkebab, cheap luggage, etc), and a quiet middle-class residential neighborhood. 15 min walk from the Hauptbahnhof, or directly at the U-4/5 Theresienweise stop. Desk staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast is more than ample (usual cold cuts and cereal plus eggs cooked to order) with excellent coffee. Rooms are adequate size, and beds squeeky clean. Free wi-fi in the dining area or ground floor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yuho45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Brack
Hotel Brack
#53 of 389 in Munich
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#30 of 389 in Munich
907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Senator Hotel
Senator Hotel
#145 of 389 in Munich
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
0.2 mi away
Best Western Atrium Hotel
Best Western Atrium Hotel
#142 of 389 in Munich
655 reviews
1 mi away
Hahn Hotel
Hahn Hotel
#205 of 389 in Munich
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Paul

Address: St.-Paul-Str. 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#88 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £73 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Paul 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St. Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Paul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing