We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smart Stay Hostel Munich City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Smart Stay Hostel Munich City
Ranked #46 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Lappeenranta, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The location is good,not in the center but it is really near from the metro.And the room is big and clean.And the service is quite good.There is a kitchen, but in fact I think it's too small.And there is a bar.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huangyw888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    134
    125
    56
    86
See reviews for
30
49
101
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

As any other mortal would when looking for a decent hostel, I have some standards: cleanliness, security and location are the top three. These guys failed miserably in almost three of them, although their pictures had promised me otherwise.
As I everything else within my budget was booked, I had to settle for this dumpster, but do yourself a favour and stay away, unless u are a fan of dirty rooms, bathrooms that haven't been washed in ages, (same for the kitchen), & bunk beds built in the XVIth century that might just collapse with a slight touch.
Common areas are disgusting, wifi has to be paid for (seriously, I have stayed in much cheaper hostels with free wifi, how cheap can u guys get?) and some of the staff I encountered gave me attitude when I was asked if a valuable item could be stored somewhere with a lock (they obviously had nowhere to put it, so they told me they would have it right beside the front desk, and would watch it... But what if the front desk guy went out? There was obviously no one to replace him. Real nice security there guys! And real nice service by the way)
If I could've given you guys a quarter of a point in this review, I would've, but before you can pat yourselves on the shoulder, let me tell you it would have been just for your tube station within walking distance.

Room Tip: I can bet there are no good rooms in here. Seriously, pick another hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PCFindel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Right where do I begin? The greetings were fine and the hostel is relatively cheap compared to other places; however, on the second day we found that we were roomed with a complete psycho. The room was full of girls and one old man who walked around the room naked most of the time. He definitely made us feel uncomfortable and when we told the staff, they seemed concerned but didn't really do much about it. Oh and my friend got a concussion and they did absolutely NOTHING. DONT GO THERE!

Room Tip: Don't get the room with bunk beds. That is how my friend got a concussion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hanadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

The rooms are not very nice. The have just what one needs for a night in Munich if you plan to stay longer look for another option. Although the rooms are not very nice, the common area is, you have nice bar and you can get to know some more backpacker to share a drink with.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuIs F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I had to pay for the internet!:(wi-fi must be Free!the rooms are not so cozy like I would like to see for such price!but beer was tasty in local bar-room))The location is very good,not far from Marienplatz!wish u all the best!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dimas26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
460 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

This has got to be one of the most impersonal hostels I'd ever stayed at. There was completely no effort on the part of the staff to make guests feel at home. That aside, it's a pretty standard hostel, with a good location and clean enough rooms.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ming H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Very very over priced. on top of that you have to pay for Wi-Fi, which is actually advertised as free in their description but was charged per hour or per 24 hours and not that cheap. there was a kitchen which was good and the beds were comfortable. not a bad location, easy to find and close to the metro.

Room Tip: we changed rooms once and I think they are all similar. comfy beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loo-88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
#354 of 381 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jaeger's Hostel
Jaeger's Hostel
#14 of 74 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.9 mi away
The 4You Hostel & Hotel Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Euro Youth Hotel
Euro Youth Hotel
#1 of 74 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gspusi Bar Hostel
Gspusi Bar Hostel
#24 of 74 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wombat's Munich
Wombat's Munich
#2 of 74 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Stay Hostel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Stay Hostel Munich City

Property: Smart Stay Hostel Munich City
Address: Mozartstr. 4, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Smart Stay Hostel Munich City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smart Stay Hostel Munich City is the perfect accommodation for city travellers, backpackers and travel groups in Munich. The hostel is situated in the heart of the Bavarian capital, a two-minute walk from the Theresienwiese, the location of the famous Oktoberfest. The city center and the Marienplatz are 2 subway stops away (10 minutes on foot). The hostel offers five floors of modern 2, 4, 6 and 8-bed rooms with quality finishings, and with separate shower/WC, lock-up storage facilities, dressing rooms and fresh bed linen and FREE WIFI, providing a high degree of convenience and functionality. In addition, the hostel has a well-equipped kitchen for self-prepared meals, and a washing machine and tumble dryer that are available for use at a small charge. For groups, an option exists for lunch packs and dinner. The large lounge area is equipped with a bar for relaxation and chatting over a delicious drink. The reception is manned round the clock. Private parking places are available for use at a small charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Smart Stay Hostel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Easy Palace City Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing