We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Smart Stay Hostel Munich City
Ranked #49 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The price and the services they provided is reasonable. And there is burger shop beside this hostel. Their homemade burger is awesome with reasonable price. Only things that I dislike is no free wifi....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eelin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
There are newer reviews for Smart Stay Hostel Munich City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Hosts: staff very helpful and all spoke English- gave me good directions for my planned destinations in Munich

Room: Clean, spacious room for a hostel, with comfy beds. Bathroom was adequate and always clean, what more can you ask for.

Location: plenty of shops, and cafes within walking distance, also the underground was literally a stones throw away. Did notice however that the hostel had a few people staying as guest who seemed like they were down on their luck or refugees, made me feel a little cautious as they were clearly not tourists. Probably good and bad people like everyone one else, but a tourist hostel is not the place for "social" accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The location is good,not in the center but it is really near from the metro.And the room is big and clean.And the service is quite good.There is a kitchen, but in fact I think it's too small.And there is a bar.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huangyw888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

As any other mortal would when looking for a decent hostel, I have some standards: cleanliness, security and location are the top three. These guys failed miserably in almost three of them, although their pictures had promised me otherwise.
As I everything else within my budget was booked, I had to settle for this dumpster, but do yourself a favour and stay away, unless u are a fan of dirty rooms, bathrooms that haven't been washed in ages, (same for the kitchen), & bunk beds built in the XVIth century that might just collapse with a slight touch.
Common areas are disgusting, wifi has to be paid for (seriously, I have stayed in much cheaper hostels with free wifi, how cheap can u guys get?) and some of the staff I encountered gave me attitude when I was asked if a valuable item could be stored somewhere with a lock (they obviously had nowhere to put it, so they told me they would have it right beside the front desk, and would watch it... But what if the front desk guy went out? There was obviously no one to replace him. Real nice security there guys! And real nice service by the way)
If I could've given you guys a quarter of a point in this review, I would've, but before you can pat yourselves on the shoulder, let me tell you it would have been just for your tube station within walking distance.

Room Tip: I can bet there are no good rooms in here. Seriously, pick another hostel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PCFindel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Right where do I begin? The greetings were fine and the hostel is relatively cheap compared to other places; however, on the second day we found that we were roomed with a complete psycho. The room was full of girls and one old man who walked around the room naked most of the time. He definitely made us feel uncomfortable and when we told the staff, they seemed concerned but didn't really do much about it. Oh and my friend got a concussion and they did absolutely NOTHING. DONT GO THERE!

Room Tip: Don't get the room with bunk beds. That is how my friend got a concussion.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hanadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The rooms are not very nice. The have just what one needs for a night in Munich if you plan to stay longer look for another option. Although the rooms are not very nice, the common area is, you have nice bar and you can get to know some more backpacker to share a drink with.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuIs F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I had to pay for the internet!:(wi-fi must be Free!the rooms are not so cozy like I would like to see for such price!but beer was tasty in local bar-room))The location is very good,not far from Marienplatz!wish u all the best!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dimas26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herzog
Hotel Herzog
#149 of 385 in Munich
390 reviews
0.6 mi away
Euro Youth Hotel
Euro Youth Hotel
#1 of 78 in Munich
1,001 reviews
0.9 mi away
The 4YOU Hostel & Hotel Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jaeger's Hostel
Jaeger's Hostel
#15 of 78 in Munich
565 reviews
3.0 mi away
A&O Munich Laim
A&O Munich Laim
#39 of 78 in Munich
236 reviews
0.9 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Stay Hostel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Stay Hostel Munich City

Address: Mozartstr. 4, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Price Range: £20 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Smart Stay Hostel Munich City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smart Stay Hostel Munich City is the perfect accommodation for city travellers, backpackers and travel groups in Munich. The hostel is situated in the heart of the Bavarian capital, a two-minute walk from the Theresienwiese, the location of the famous Oktoberfest. The city center and the Marienplatz are 2 subway stops away (10 minutes on foot). The hostel offers five floors of modern 2, 4, 6 and 8-bed rooms with quality finishings, and with separate shower/WC, lock-up storage facilities, dressing rooms and fresh bed linen and FREE WIFI, providing a high degree of convenience and functionality. In addition, the hostel has a well-equipped kitchen for self-prepared meals, and a washing machine and tumble dryer that are available for use at a small charge. For groups, an option exists for lunch packs and dinner. The large lounge area is equipped with a bar for relaxation and chatting over a delicious drink. The reception is manned round the clock. Private parking places are available for use at a small charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Smart Stay Hostel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Easy Palace City Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing