We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smart Stay Hostel Munich City
Ranked #46 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Basic.”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Nice dorm room, with all bedding and sheets required. Not enough powerpoints! Top bunks very uncomfortable as the roof was at a strange angle causing you to bump your head alot... Great atmosphere though, with a nice bar and facilities :) Had to pay for wifi which was originally advertised as free... Only stayed for one night and would probably stay again. A bit overpriced though.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    135
    131
    56
    86
See reviews for
30
50
103
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Nice and simple hostel with a good lounge/games room/bar. Dorms are simple but roomy, and the bathrooms are clean and again spacious. Just needs the right crowd of people to make it great. The staff all were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OC12289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volgograd, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The price and the services they provided is reasonable. And there is burger shop beside this hostel. Their homemade burger is awesome with reasonable price. Only things that I dislike is no free wifi....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eelin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Hosts: staff very helpful and all spoke English- gave me good directions for my planned destinations in Munich

Room: Clean, spacious room for a hostel, with comfy beds. Bathroom was adequate and always clean, what more can you ask for.

Location: plenty of shops, and cafes within walking distance, also the underground was literally a stones throw away. Did notice however that the hostel had a few people staying as guest who seemed like they were down on their luck or refugees, made me feel a little cautious as they were clearly not tourists. Probably good and bad people like everyone one else, but a tourist hostel is not the place for "social" accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lappeenranta, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The location is good,not in the center but it is really near from the metro.And the room is big and clean.And the service is quite good.There is a kitchen, but in fact I think it's too small.And there is a bar.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huangyw888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

As any other mortal would when looking for a decent hostel, I have some standards: cleanliness, security and location are the top three. These guys failed miserably in almost three of them, although their pictures had promised me otherwise.
As I everything else within my budget was booked, I had to settle for this dumpster, but do yourself a favour and stay away, unless u are a fan of dirty rooms, bathrooms that haven't been washed in ages, (same for the kitchen), & bunk beds built in the XVIth century that might just collapse with a slight touch.
Common areas are disgusting, wifi has to be paid for (seriously, I have stayed in much cheaper hostels with free wifi, how cheap can u guys get?) and some of the staff I encountered gave me attitude when I was asked if a valuable item could be stored somewhere with a lock (they obviously had nowhere to put it, so they told me they would have it right beside the front desk, and would watch it... But what if the front desk guy went out? There was obviously no one to replace him. Real nice security there guys! And real nice service by the way)
If I could've given you guys a quarter of a point in this review, I would've, but before you can pat yourselves on the shoulder, let me tell you it would have been just for your tube station within walking distance.

Room Tip: I can bet there are no good rooms in here. Seriously, pick another hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PCFindel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Right where do I begin? The greetings were fine and the hostel is relatively cheap compared to other places; however, on the second day we found that we were roomed with a complete psycho. The room was full of girls and one old man who walked around the room naked most of the time. He definitely made us feel uncomfortable and when we told the staff, they seemed concerned but didn't really do much about it. Oh and my friend got a concussion and they did absolutely NOTHING. DONT GO THERE!

Room Tip: Don't get the room with bunk beds. That is how my friend got a concussion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hanadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
#358 of 382 in Munich
237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jaeger's Hostel
Jaeger's Hostel
#14 of 74 in Munich
540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Euro Youth Hotel
Euro Youth Hotel
#1 of 74 in Munich
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The 4You Hostel & Hotel Munchen
0.6 mi away
Gspusi Bar Hostel
Gspusi Bar Hostel
#23 of 74 in Munich
28 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wombat's Munich
Wombat's Munich
#2 of 74 in Munich
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Stay Hostel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Stay Hostel Munich City

Property: Smart Stay Hostel Munich City
Address: Mozartstr. 4, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Smart Stay Hostel Munich City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smart Stay Hostel Munich City is the perfect accommodation for city travellers, backpackers and travel groups in Munich. The hostel is situated in the heart of the Bavarian capital, a two-minute walk from the Theresienwiese, the location of the famous Oktoberfest. The city center and the Marienplatz are 2 subway stops away (10 minutes on foot). The hostel offers five floors of modern 2, 4, 6 and 8-bed rooms with quality finishings, and with separate shower/WC, lock-up storage facilities, dressing rooms and fresh bed linen and FREE WIFI, providing a high degree of convenience and functionality. In addition, the hostel has a well-equipped kitchen for self-prepared meals, and a washing machine and tumble dryer that are available for use at a small charge. For groups, an option exists for lunch packs and dinner. The large lounge area is equipped with a bar for relaxation and chatting over a delicious drink. The reception is manned round the clock. Private parking places are available for use at a small charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smart Stay Hostel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Easy Palace City Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing