We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel - very classy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Ranked #29 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - very classy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We, two 32 yr olds, stayed for 3 nights in May in a suite.

We decided to book a suite as a treat and it was well worth it. The room was exceptional! There was a separate living room area, a huge bath, shower and separate toilet. The room was immaculately clean had all of the amenities you would require. The Nespresso maker was a nice touch and the room was stocked daily with free refills. I also enjoyed the Hermes soap and shower gel provided - nice choice!!

The location is excellent as this is next to the train station and a short walk to the bars and shops of Munich. A direct train takes you to the airport and is cheap.

The spa was AMAZING!! This is honestly the nicest spa I have been in. The swimming pool is located in a cave like manner and although not huge, is very much geared towards relaxation. There is a sauna, steam room and various other rooms in which to relax. There are L'Octaine products provided everywhere throughout as well as towels, water, slippers etc. This was the perfect place to visit to start the day and I miss it still!

If I visit Munich again, I will be staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: We booked a suite - well worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,087
    961
    292
    140
    70
See reviews for
566
1,416
275
893
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

A nice hotel well worth the 5* very clean and smartly renovated. It's location was the most important to me as I wanted to be near the train station and it's not getting any closer than that. It's also only 15 min walk from the center of Munich.
If you're not a couple just have in mind that the bathroom walls are made of glass (not see through) but not the best privace in there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Located right next door to the train station. There is valet parking. If you park at the hotel, its expensive (25 Euro a day). There are parking options around the hotel for less. The exterior and interior are nice, clean, and modern/trendy. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room, which was purchased through priceline for about $140 a night, faced the train station. It had a king bed and was big enough to fit a pack and play in. We had a tub and separate shower. All very clean and nice. My wife used the spa, and enjoyed the massage there. The pool is set up like a grotto, and is...interesting.

The tourist areas are all walking distance from the hotel. I would not have a problem staying here again if I was awarded this hotel on priceline.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on a floor that has a view of something.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reprobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Extremely comfortable and swanky, as you would expect a Sofitel to be. Our room felt crowded, but elegantly designed in a modern style. The bathrooms have nice features, like a sliding mirror that opens to the bedroom. This creates an open feel to the room but would probably only be used for a single person using the room. The pool is unlike any other pool I've seen. The entrance almost feels like an underground cave, and leads to a narrow waterway opening out to a chamber. It's fun, and quite good for paddling around and relaxing in the water. This is not a lap pool, and there are no deck chairs for sitting around by the pool, which is indoors anyway. Overall I liked the pool experience once I understood that it is really an extension of the spa. Kids are not allowed after 5pm. The train station location is convenient of course, but walking around at night in that neighborhood would get dodgy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ker G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We went for a weekend with family. The suite with the bedroom above the living room is great for family stay. The breakfast choice is refined, varied and the service was good as well. The Spa is just so nice, really worth to try. Location is excellent. The city was full of events, first time in Munich on leisure, it was altogether such a nice experience!!

Room Tip: The junior suite, try it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExcellenceBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

In the last few months, I've stayed at the fantastic Sofitel Vienna, as well as the serviced-polished Sofitel in Amsterdam. So figured the Munich property would be a good bet. In the end, it was a disappointment. The public spaces were too cavernous, and everywhere (lobby, public spaces, corridors, hallways, rooms), ill-conceived design affectations were prevalent through-out (colours, textures, lighting, silly design elements that bordered on interior-design-school amateur hour). Rooms were a little small. Bathrooms had horrible lighting at the vanity and in the shower, plus there was no place to put my shaving etc stuff other than a tiny shelf (too much focus on wannabee modern aesthetic, and too little thought to functionality). Bed was comfortable.

Breakfast was quite good and varied, but as my rate did not include breakfast, it came at 31 euros. Hate to break it to management, but you are not Four Seasons.

No newspaper offered or delivered for the morning.

Staff left much to be desired. Being Sofitel, everyone addresses you with the affectation of "bonjour". Please folks, I'm in Germany, not France. Sooooo cheesy. Calling down the first night for a wake up call, the gentleman who answered the phone was quite curt and seemed almost bothered that I had called. I simply could not make the internet work in the room on my two browsers - same macbook that I always travel with, and which has worked in hundreds of hotel rooms around the globe. When I asked so-called "Guest Relations" to look into it in the morning, they said they would. When I returned to my room at 230pm between meetings, no message as to whether it had been looked at (and furthermore, the room hadn't even been made up yet!). When I went back to "Guest Relations" on my way out, she basically said that they looked at it, and that the internet was fine (so why no note or voicemail to that effect?), and that no one else had reported that problem (my translation: I was the problem), and that a technician should go up with me. I told her I had to go to my next meetings and left. Very poorly handled (next day, pulled up my browser at the Lufthansa Senator lounge in Munich airport and it worked fine).

Later that evening, my room key card de-magnitized (why are modern hotels still using archaic decades-old technology?). When I went all the way down to fix it, the line for the reception desk was many people deep - annoying. I gave up and went to grab a bite at the Bistro. Good food and very professional and pleasant waiter.

Hotel seemed to have a large tour group. Nothing is more off-putting to the global business traveler (and more destructive to a hotel brand) than a hotel that houses large tour groups.

On check-out, after reviewing the bill, i pointed out to them that, from the evening prior, the tip from the meal was included, but the meal itself was somehow missing. The person at reception was rather indifferent in her lack of friendliness, and didn't even bother to thank me for the honesty.

Don't know if there are better places to stay in Munich, but next time I will do some research and find out.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrekker63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Ideal for the train station and central to all attractions. Very clean and stylish, with excellent staff and service. We ordered room service one evening and this was beautifully presented on a dining table with full dressing.
Only downside was that spa was shut temporarily. (However, it looked lovely!)

Room Tip: Junior suite spacious and immaculate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeeMcRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#22 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#96 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Property: Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Address: Bayerstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Munich
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#17 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing