We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Good, Some Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Ranked #25 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This is a modern, well designed hotel. The lobby area is impressive, as is the Spa (if open). The rooms are quite small, but well equipped and tastefully furnished, however, the walls are made of paper and the hotel is quite noisy. The service at the front desk leaves a bit to be desired...it is very slow and this was my 3rd visit and it has not improved. The design doesn't help with pillars blocking view of free staff. The location is good if you have a train to catch, otherwise it is in a sleazy part of town near the train station.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodJunkie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,742)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,428 - 1,434 of 3,742 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

Sofitel Munich has a very traditional down town Munich exterior with a tasteful, modern interior. Service was impeccable, location was ideal: right next to the Hauptbahnhoff, a fifteen minute walk to the center of Karl Platz and the Altes Rathaus. The rooms were modern, well-appointed and comfortable. This is not an inexpensive hotel, but I enjoyed the opportunity to spoil my wife (and myself).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HueRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Great hotel, exclusive design - and you pay for it.
Spa and sauna were out of order, this was written on some paper but we were not informed before booking. We were later referred to a very small sauna in the hotel across the street.
They ask for a lot of identification: they make copies of the identity cards of both of us (after we had already filled out the form with name, address etc AND given a credit card).
We paid 270 euros for a night in an exclusive but small room without a bathtub.
Free internet pc / business center. Nice bathrobes. Professional staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Sofitel Munich
The location for this hotel is a big selling point. It is less than a block from the Bahnhof, railroad station. The front of the hotel is a beautifully restored old building. The additions and inside are modern and well done. It is often used for meetings. If you arrive by air, the bus as well as well as the train, come here from the airport. I recommend the bus as being more convenient and as it goes every 20 minutes right out the door from where you collect you baggage .You thus avoid a lot of lugging and tugging up and down platforms. Breakfast in the hotel was expensive and very attractive, but the railroad station has a large variety of restaurants and the food we had there was really great and inexpensive. The fresh baked goods and grilled bratwurst were excellent.
I reserved a Jr. suite on line directly from the hotel which was non refundable and therefore was reduced in price. The dark brown room was pretty dark. We swiveled spotlights on the ceiling and increased the light. Light from outside was also reduced because one of the windows faced another building. The other window had a view of the railroad tracks. We were told they have other junior suites with better views, but they quite a bit more expensive.
The hallways were well lit and pretty. The front desk was helpful and the doorman was helpful in getting the luggage to the train station for our next train.

Room Tip: If you do not want a view of the train tracks tel them......
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank celebrationtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Very nice classic with design hotel. Very good SPA. Professional service with a smile.
The only minor point was the time to serve entree after starter at the cafe. it took too long and there were not so many people to serve.

Room Tip: ask for higher floors to avoid street noise
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjfm1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Great location, next to main train station. 15 min walk to the Marionplatz. Train statin is vibrant and a neat place to get some faster food. This is important because the breakfast is $30 euros....

The hotel is an architectural marvel. The rooms are bit small. The styling is quirky. The bathroom door does not lock and a panel in the bathroom wall also can slide open. The lighting is dark. The concierge is excellent. He recommended Salt which is a great restaurant and Kekos, a local turkish restaurant. The pool is small and darkish.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teufel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We had a Christmas break here,it was lovely,exactly whats needed after wandering around in the cold,rooms were spacious and warm with all the usual things that sofitel provide an excellent choice .We liked the location, bar was ok but food could have been more German, A good choice of hotel in a vibrant busy city excellent Christmas value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,555 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#99 of 385 in Munich
2,614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#17 of 385 in Munich
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,661 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 385 in Munich
694 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Address: Bayerstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Munich
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#15 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £171 - £631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing