We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location - All it has going for it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Ranked #25 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We stopped in a Junior suite for a few nights to see the markets.

Room - We were disappointed in the room as it was a very dark room, the windows were small and high up, you had to stand on tip toes to see the rooftops of Munich view we were promised. The BED was horrendous, as a couple we want a double bed, this was two single beds pushed together with two single duvets, as a result we ended up separately otherwise one of us fell down the gap in the middle - not happy! We had requested a cot for our baby and was told it was in our room but it wasn't so we had to request it. The room was cold and the air conditioning did seem to go up high enough to warm it, duvets were thin. The hotel is right by the railway station and it was so noisy, it would wake us through the night and early in the morning. On our last morning we were rudely awoken at 8am by someone entering our room whilst in bed, I shouted and they retreated so I didn't get a chance to complain.

LOCATION - brilliant as the railway station is a short walk and you can jump on the subway to anywhere in the city. The walk to the centre of Munich is also not a long one. We didn't feel unsafe at night unlike others who have previously reviewed.

SERVICE - The staff on the desk were very polite and there were plenty of them to check you in or out. The staff that brought our cot to the room were a bit miserable and made it feel like it was an effort.

SPA - Looks fantastic and the layout of the swimming pool is really funky but it was cold. We were disappointed there wasn't a hot tub/jacuzzi which I thought most spas had, there was a whirlpool in the swimming pool but that was it.

Nice touches were the fact that my baby was given a little duck and a teddy. We were able to check in early. They held our bags in the hotel after we had checked out for us. The decor is beautiful. It smelt lovely and clean. To access the lifts you had to use your room card so it felt safe. They restocked the room with drinks and toiletries regularly.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Ginauk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us this detailed feedback on your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. Every day we strive to make each guest’s stay a special one. Unfortunately, it seems that we didn’t succeed during your time of stay. Please let me address the points you mention.

I am sorry to hear that the room you were given didn’t meet your expectations. Should this occur, we are always glad to offer a change of room within the same category depending on the booking situation. Don’t hesitate to contact us.

Regarding the bed, it is quite common in Germany to have double beds that consist of two single mattresses. Upon notice we are happy to arrange the bed as a regular King bed. Please feel free to contact us before arrival or during your stay. We will arrange everything accordingly.

I am sorry to hear that the cot for your baby was not already in the room even though we said so and you informed us beforehand. This should really not have happened and I can only apologize for the inconvenience caused. Please let me apologize as well for entering your room so early in the morning. Rest assured that I have informed the responsible department head of this incident and that we will take the appropriate measures to prevent something like this from happening again.

Nevertheless I am glad to hear that, apart from the above mentioned you spent a nice time in Munich and our service did, in general, convince you.

I hope that we may welcome you again soon to prove that we are well able to meet all your expectations. In the meantime, please don’t hesitate to contact us through h5413@sofitel.com for any further questions.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 3,799 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

Cant fault anything…even the gold leaf on the Curry Wurst! Modern. Fantastic luxury Hotel in Munich. Expensive but you can get a great rate by using BA.com or Late Rooms. I would stay here again for both business and leisure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

It was my First time on this hotel and I loved it! I was for business in October in Munich and I really loved it! Very nice rooms , beautiful spa , clean and most important the staff was very helpful!!!! I will be back when I will return in Munich for business!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for telling us about the great time you spent at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. I am already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
1  Thank DHH46
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Everything was wonderfull, except the king size bed had two matres's and make the bed to be actually two single beds. Not good for couples! Staff was great and helpfull. I would recomend this hotel to my pears.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Daniela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for telling us about your experience at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost and for recommending us.

Two matresses for a double bed are very typical for Germay. However, we are glad to arrange the bed like a single mattress upon notice.

Thank you again for your comment.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very conveniently located right by Munich Central Station so getting anywhere, including the airport, is a breeze. The hotel is very clean, modern and quiet. Rooms are on the small side and they only provide one bottle of water a day. There is free wifi but the service is spotty and slow. The TV also went blank spontaneously from time to time.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pestman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It was a pleasure having you here and it is great to hear that all in all you had a pleasent stay.

However, please let me aplogize for the technical issues that occured during your time of stay. we are currently implementing a solution to improve the wifi connectivity throughout the entire hotel. What you describe regarding the TV was a temporary problem in our TV-System that was solved immediatley. To prevent something like this from happening again we are working together with our TV provider to ensure a high quality TV experience at all times.

Thank you again for your comment which we will use to improve our performance.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

a perfect combination of a beautiful historic building (Bayerpost) with a sofisticated and modern designed interior with a very completed fitness and beautifully designed spa area with most friendly and capable staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Roberto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. I gladly shared your feedback with the whole team and we are already looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 387 in Munich
1,595 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#19 of 387 in Munich
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#98 of 387 in Munich
2,654 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#56 of 387 in Munich
2,044 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#3 of 387 in Munich
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Address: Bayerstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Munich
#10 Business Hotel in Munich
#18 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £167 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing